We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

AmericInn Ames

Show Prices
#10 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
AmericInn Ames
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for AmericInn Ames
See the most recent reviews
Showing 266: English reviews
Papillion
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Overnighted on a family trip to Minneapolis. Clean, up to date room with comfortable beds. Pool area was roomy, clean and well kept. Had a good sized lobby with up to date seating area. Staff was friendly and check in went quickly. Stayed at Country Inn and Suites last time through Ames and we prefer American Inn and it was...

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tombA9478WH
AmericInnAmes, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We appreciate your feedback, and we are so happy that we could provide you with comfort and cleanliness. We hope to see you again in the near future! Morgan Guest Relations Manager

COLMAN
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Hotel will look nice when they finish the outside painting. Was a bit cheaper then other hotels i looked at and being americinn felt it would be a good place to stay. Room was damp and musty ceiling was not nice looking towels were damp. Breakfast items were not kept up neither was the "mess" a moldy bisket was placed...

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank KENNLEY W
AmericInnAmes, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We want any and all feedback, so we know what to improve upon! Since your stay, we have been closely monitoring the humidity levels in our rooms and lobby. We have also implemented a new training program for our breakfast attendants! All attendants are well educated in...

Ottumwa, Iowa
Reviewed 25 August 2016

This hotel does not meet the quality standards of other Americinn hotels. The front desk was not very friendly or efficient and there were issues with my room. The hotel advertises that it is completely renovated, but it is not. In fact, the renovation appears to be in progress. There are several other hotel properties on the same street where...

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H6866BWbiztraveler
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. I am sorry that our renovations caused a problem during your stay. Hotel renovations take much time and planning. We still have many renovations planned for the future that will help us meet our guests needs. You may...

Salisbury, Missouri
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This was our third stay in Ames Iowa as this location splits our long trip to Maple Lake, MN. Two other places we stayed at before and were ranked very high in the trip advisor we found very wanting, not so at the Americinn. Check in was quick, accurate and very courteous. The room was as good as some more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkBrenda40728
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Mark and Brenda, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about your stay here in Ames, Iowa. We are so glad you chose to stay with us this time! I am glad to hear that everything met your expectations (besides not getting the HBO channel). We do want to let you know that your...

Blaine, Minnesota
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

The price was much lower than other hotels in the area. Very clean and nice room but it had an odor of cleaning products. You would get used to it but if you left the room you would notice the smell again. Breakfast was average. I would probably stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg J
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Greg J., Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the cleaning products were a little overwhelming and that breakfast was only average. If you have any more information about these issues, please contact us directly. We will certainly take this feedback into consideration and work on...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 18 August 2016

When we pulled up to this motel, we were concerned about staying there.. The outside is faded and it looks like they had filled holes, etc. with spackling compound. I believe they were possible getting ready to paint it. But, we were pleasantly surprised when we went inside. It was clean, comfortable and quiet.(No noise heard from other rooms!) They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moving1969
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We are in the process of updating our exterior paint. I apologize if not having an elevator was an issue during your stay. We are not required to have one as we are a motel with only two stories. Since your stay, we...

Bolingbrook, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We stayed here the night before move-in day at Iowa State. This is my 2nd time staying here, and just as the 1st time, the room & bathroom were clean and quiet. It's a comfortable stay. Was a bit disappointed with breakfast the next morning since the serving staff wasn't really on hand monitoring that items were getting low. Overall,...

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn K
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Evelyn K., Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and quiet. I would like you to know that we now have the appropriate help needed to keep our breakfast stocked and fresh. Thank you again for the positive review! We look forward to your next visit to Ames, Iowa. Rachel Assistant...

Reviewed 16 August 2016

Hotel was quiet. We used the hot tub, breakfast was what I pretty much expect these days although they did have individual cups of fresh fruit that I appreciated. Front desk employees at check in were very friendly & courteous. Like having copies of USA Today available. Very good Mexican Restaurant was within walking distance just across the parking lot

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolez512
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for letting others know about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the positive feedback! I am sorry that we were out of the item you look forward to having. I would like you to know that we always will have fresh fruit offered at all times of the day, even when we run out of...

Sauk Centre, Minnesota
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We decided to stay in Ames because Des Moines hotels were booked and Ankeny was twice as much. Headed to the Iowa State Fair and got here later at night. Parking lot is a little small but that is the only thing negative thing I can say...although my daughter was disappointed there was no biscuits and gravy for breakfast, there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Heidi S., Thank you for such a great review! I am so glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations! I am sorry that we were not serving biscuits and gravy the morning of your stay. We only serve this item two days out of the week. We would take your desires into consideration if you...

Minneapolis
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Have stayed here several times while visiting ISU campus. Always clean and in good condition. Rooms are very quiet and comfortable. Easy access to hotel, large parking lot, nice open area in main entry. Breakfast offered eggs, biscuits/gravy, waffles, toast, juice, ham, muffins, etc. Good price compared to most other hotels, especially the ones closer to the college.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank eekfun2007
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for this lovely review! It is great that you think our price is good in comparison to our competitors for what we offer. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to ISU! Thank you Rachel Assistant Manger

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
0.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
323 reviews
0.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to AmericInn Ames, Iowa the ideal place to stay whether traveling for business or pleasure. Our staff would love the opportunity to serve your lodging needs in our comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Ames, home of the Iowa State University Cyclones. We welcome every guest with a warm smile, great service, an inviting, indoor pool, free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and a quiet night’s sleep! Relax in our spacious lobby with cozy brick fireplace. We offer a variety of room types ranging from two-queen beds to a comfortable single king bed. We also have a variety of one or two room suites featuring a whirlpool and fireplace.The AmericInn Ames is conveniently located near all the attractions and excitement in the area and is sure to be the perfect fit for you and your family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AmericInn Ames

Address: 2507 SE 16th St, Ames, IA 50010-6971
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Price Range: €96 - €114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your AmericInn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ames
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ames
#7 Family Hotel in Ames
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AmericInn Ames staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from AmericInn Ames staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Traveling with a group on motorcycles.Hotel met our request for a ground floor room looking out at the parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles carolez512, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Find one without a cricket”
 of 5 bubbles CheewyBrooke, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We occupied 2 rooms on the second floor in the middle of the hallway and could not complain about anything”
 of 5 bubbles R8305ZPlindak, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“For a little more money the one on ground floor, I believe it was 108.”
 of 5 bubbles HappyinIOWA50010, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Less noise from steps in the hallway on the first floor. Room 108 was a very pleasant room.”
 of 5 bubbles HappyinIOWA50010, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay