We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

AmericInn Ames

Show Prices
#9 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
AmericInn Ames
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for AmericInn Ames
See the most recent reviews
Showing 263: English reviews
Salisbury, Missouri
Reviewed 23 August 2016

This was our third stay in Ames Iowa as this location splits our long trip to Maple Lake, MN. Two other places we stayed at before and were ranked very high in the trip advisor we found very wanting, not so at the Americinn. Check in was quick, accurate and very courteous. The room was as good as some more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarkBrenda40728
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Mark and Brenda, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about your stay here in Ames, Iowa. We are so glad you chose to stay with us this time! I am glad to hear that everything met your expectations (besides not getting the HBO channel). We do want to let you know that your...

Blaine, Minnesota
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

The price was much lower than other hotels in the area. Very clean and nice room but it had an odor of cleaning products. You would get used to it but if you left the room you would notice the smell again. Breakfast was average. I would probably stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg J
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Greg J., Thank you for taking the time to let others know about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the cleaning products were a little overwhelming and that breakfast was only average. If you have any more information about these issues, please contact us directly. We will certainly take this feedback into consideration and work on...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 18 August 2016

When we pulled up to this motel, we were concerned about staying there.. The outside is faded and it looks like they had filled holes, etc. with spackling compound. I believe they were possible getting ready to paint it. But, we were pleasantly surprised when we went inside. It was clean, comfortable and quiet.(No noise heard from other rooms!) They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moving1969
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. We are in the process of updating our exterior paint. I apologize if not having an elevator was an issue during your stay. We are not required to have one as we are a motel with only two stories. Since your stay, we...

Bolingbrook, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We stayed here the night before move-in day at Iowa State. This is my 2nd time staying here, and just as the 1st time, the room & bathroom were clean and quiet. It's a comfortable stay. Was a bit disappointed with breakfast the next morning since the serving staff wasn't really on hand monitoring that items were getting low. Overall,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn K
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Evelyn K., Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and quiet. I would like you to know that we now have the appropriate help needed to keep our breakfast stocked and fresh. Thank you again for the positive review! We look forward to your next visit to Ames, Iowa. Rachel Assistant...

Reviewed 16 August 2016

Hotel was quiet. We used the hot tub, breakfast was what I pretty much expect these days although they did have individual cups of fresh fruit that I appreciated. Front desk employees at check in were very friendly & courteous. Like having copies of USA Today available. Very good Mexican Restaurant was within walking distance just across the parking lot

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolez512
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for letting others know about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the positive feedback! I am sorry that we were out of the item you look forward to having. I would like you to know that we always will have fresh fruit offered at all times of the day, even when we run out of...

Sauk Centre, Minnesota
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We decided to stay in Ames because Des Moines hotels were booked and Ankeny was twice as much. Headed to the Iowa State Fair and got here later at night. Parking lot is a little small but that is the only thing negative thing I can say...although my daughter was disappointed there was no biscuits and gravy for breakfast, there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Heidi S., Thank you for such a great review! I am so glad to hear that we were able to meet your expectations! I am sorry that we were not serving biscuits and gravy the morning of your stay. We only serve this item two days out of the week. We would take your desires into consideration if you...

Minneapolis
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Have stayed here several times while visiting ISU campus. Always clean and in good condition. Rooms are very quiet and comfortable. Easy access to hotel, large parking lot, nice open area in main entry. Breakfast offered eggs, biscuits/gravy, waffles, toast, juice, ham, muffins, etc. Good price compared to most other hotels, especially the ones closer to the college.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eekfun2007
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for this lovely review! It is great that you think our price is good in comparison to our competitors for what we offer. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to ISU! Thank you Rachel Assistant Manger

Burlington
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Very clean room, Nice and quiet. The hot tub was nice and clean and warm like it should have been. Refrigerator was in working condition. Hot breakfast was very nice also! The only disappointment was that I thought I had reserved the king suite w/ whirlpool bathtub but that is a first come first serve I guess.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bandit925
AmericInnAmes, Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your five star review! We really appreciate your feedback. I am glad everything was in working order and to your expectations. I apologize if the situation was not ideal to get you in the whirlpool suite that you booked. Please call us directly if you would like to discuss this issue and make...

Waverly, Nebraska
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We stayed at this hotel on July 15 & 16 with family for a relatives wedding. The hotel was nice, staff was very friendly and the rooms great. Beds are a little soft but I've slept in worse. The pool is also perfect for the kids. The only problem we had was getting breakfast. Besides our wedding group there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SSWalker96
AmericInnAmes, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Valued Guest, We appreciate the time you've taken to write us a review! We apologize about any inconvenience during your stay; During the Summer and Fall months we get booked up very quickly. We hope during your next stay it will be a little quieter for you! Thanks again, Morgan Guest Relations Manager

Peosta
Reviewed 2 August 2016

There was a little bit of an issue with our reservations. They had a room for us but the cost was a little higher than what our reservation stated. They quickly corrected the error giving us the lower price and upgraded us to a suite. Staff were more than helpful and courteous. Could not find anything sub standard. I always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 140jeff
AmericInnAmes, Guest Relations Manager at AmericInn Ames, responded to this review

Jeff, We are very pleased to see you had a great stay with us! We always try to provide our guests with the best atmosphere and price when we can! We hope you come back and see us soon, Morgan Guest Relations Manager

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ames hotels
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
2.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.2 km away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#10 of 20 in Ames
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
5.0 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
5.3 km away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to AmericInn Ames, Iowa the ideal place to stay whether traveling for business or pleasure. Our staff would love the opportunity to serve your lodging needs in our comfortable, conveniently located hotel in Ames, home of the Iowa State University Cyclones. We welcome every guest with a warm smile, great service, an inviting, indoor pool, free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and a quiet night’s sleep! Relax in our spacious lobby with cozy brick fireplace. We offer a variety of room types ranging from two-queen beds to a comfortable single king bed. We also have a variety of one or two room suites featuring a whirlpool and fireplace.The AmericInn Ames is conveniently located near all the attractions and excitement in the area and is sure to be the perfect fit for you and your family. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AmericInn Ames

Address: 2507 SE 16th St, Ames, IA 50010-6971
Region: United States > Iowa > Ames
Price Range: €81 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Ames
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ames
#7 Family Hotel in Ames
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AmericInn Ames staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from AmericInn Ames staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Traveling with a group on motorcycles.Hotel met our request for a ground floor room looking out at the parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles carolez512, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Find one without a cricket”
 of 5 bubbles CheewyBrooke, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We occupied 2 rooms on the second floor in the middle of the hallway and could not complain about anything”
 of 5 bubbles R8305ZPlindak, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“For a little more money the one on ground floor, I believe it was 108.”
 of 5 bubbles HappyinIOWA50010, 6 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Less noise from steps in the hallway on the first floor. Room 108 was a very pleasant room.”
 of 5 bubbles HappyinIOWA50010, 18 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay