We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Comfort Inn Altoona

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Comfort Inn Altoona
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Altoona
See the most recent reviews
Showing 97: English reviews
Austin
Reviewed 2 December 2015

Pleased: The room was clean, and very nice. The Continental Breakfast was good. Not Pleased: I reserved the room by calling an online number. I told the man I talked to that I wanted a pet friendly motel and that I would have my cat to stay in the room. He registered me understanding that. Of course, I paid by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeraldFinney
Valerie H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Jerald I thank you so much for telling us about your stay. I do apologize for the misunderstanding of our pet policy. It does state on the website that we are pet friendly, with some restrictions, one of those being dog only. I do aplogize for the misunderstanding and and going to email you a few questions that I have...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Recently stayed on our way to Ohio right away i noticed that there was still a pile of rubble outside of the hotel. upon entering the hotel i was greeted by Corey who was very kind to me and my family we were so exausted from driving he offered to help with our bags. The room was not over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cierra H
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 11 October 2015

This property is located in Altoona Iowa and is near a lot of shopping and restaurants in the area. If offers a free breakfast. The staff was friendly. That is the extent of the positives I can share. The outside entrance to the property sustained some kind of damage so part of the entrance was held up by a piece...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lpic1
Valerie H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

I thank you for giving us your feedback. I do apologize for the issues that you came across. I want to reassure, as per our conversation, that these issues are and have been addressed. I was to the understanding after our conversation, that you were satisifed with what was discussed. I do apologize that you found that not to be...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 17 September 2015

I booked this hotel because I am a Choice Hotels member...however, I will never stay here again because of safety and cleanliness issues. Both side and back door locks were broken, which allowed anyone, guest or not, to come in during the night. After my husband and I had stayed the night and were out the next day, we realized...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gail S
kristi d, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Gail S thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our guest feedback is very important to us. I want to assure you that since your stay we have replaced all of our doors and locks. Also I wanted to apologize for the rudeness of the hotel staff. We have since then got new management and added some...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 14 September 2015

I was in Altoona on Business and the staff was extremely accommodating. They were very friendly and flexible during check in when we had to cancel a room for one night when one of our colleagues flight was cancelled. They also took quick action when we told them the wi fi was down. They called a tech and it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 554kelsieb
Valerie H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

I thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We were so happy to help get your accomodations straightened out, we all know how flights can be. We do hope your presentation went well and it was our pleasure to be able to help get you ready for that presentation. We are very happy that you stayed...

Cross Plains, Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

We were traveling home and needed a one night stay. They put us in room 125. The room smelled like dog and cat pee so strong it was unbearable. Since it was last minute we had prepaid and they would not refund. The room was by a back door outside that didn't have a lock on it. I complained right...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fran2912
Valerie H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Fran2912 i want to thank you for giving us your feedback. I do apologize for your disappointments on your stay. I would like to acknowledge that the pet friendly room that you stayed in, like all pet rooms are totally stripped and deep cleaned after each pet stay. I do apologize if you found that there was an odor to...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 August 2015

I'm a Choice Privileges Diamond Member. I made a reservation on Choice App for the Comfort Inn (IA210) in Altoona, Ia. on 8-9-2015 for 1 night for 1 single queen room. I got to the motel 1/2 hour later around 10:20 pm to check in. I asked if I could get a Upgrade to a King room since that's one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jack H
Valerie H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Jack, I thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. I do apologize for experience with the front desk employee. I will following up with that employee on retraining in areas that need improvement., one of those being, upgrading our loyal guests. We do pride our selves on being able to upgrade our Choice...

Bettendorf, Iowa
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

10 family members here for a weekend at Adventureland. Our King bed room was a roomy suite, the 2 double queen rooms were a little small. The front desk staff were all very helpful and friendly. The breakfast room is small and not the best selection, but was acceptable. Very handy location for Aventureland Park. Our king bed was comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don P
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I called the hotel with a family emergency, I did not know the room number and asked to be transferred. I'm not sure if the front desk person just didn't know what they were doing or what but I've managed more then one choice hotels as a GM and to be told they won't transfer (no information requested) is the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank K D
Valerie H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

I want to start off by apologizing for the experiences you encountered. I am not aware of the situation with the phone call, but I reassure you that I am looking in to that. We do have a policy in place that we can not give out guest information over the phone for privacy for the guest. If you had...

Sumner, Iowa
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Kristi, Greta, and Valerie did an excellent job in meeting the needs of customers during our stay! If you get a chance to go to Adventureland in Altoona, IA, I highly recommend staying at the Comfort Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel R
Valerie H, General Manager at Comfort Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us your feedback. We are very happy we were able to make your stay an enjoyable and hope to see you back soon!!!

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
0.5 km away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#1 of 9 in Altoona
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#5 of 9 in Altoona
259 reviews
24.7 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
257 reviews
6.8 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Hill
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated Hotel. We have 67 non-smoking rooms. Indoor heated pool, free wi-fi. Breakfast which includes scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, yogury, toast , bagels, and more. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Altoona

Address: 2101 Adventureland Drive, Altoona, IA 50009 (Formerly Altoona Settle Inn)
Region: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Price Range: €94 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altoona Settle Hotel Altoona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comfort Inn Altoona staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Iowa City, Iowa
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn Altoona staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our Tip for you is to stay across the Street at Adventureland Inn.”
  • Toilet build-up where water enters the toilet bowl at top of bowl. This is long-term buildup
  • Our Room Shower Shelf area. Distressed and in need of better investment and maintenance upkeep.
 of 5 bubbles rodeabel, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Just call they will accommodate you. Elevator also”
 of 5 bubbles 587peggys, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Wonderful king size rooms. Beds are great.”
 of 5 bubbles 71jazzys, 10 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Leave and stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles lpic1, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
“If you stay here don't stay in the single queen room, it is so small that I had to pick up my suitcase to get between the bed and TV table.”
 of 5 bubbles JackH150, 20 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5