We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Courtyard Athens Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard Athens Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Athens Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 155: English reviews
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

My family stayed here a weekend to attend a UGA game. Hotel is just a block from downtown restaurants and shops. It is about a 10 min walk to the stadium. The staff is very friendly. I dealt with the manager there and he was very professional and helpful. Despite it being packed, it was quiet and very clean. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fletchermel
Stratford
Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

Got a chance to stay here a couple of days back . the hotel is nicely made. Very cozy. The room was very comfortable . the bistro is just fine . quality of food was decent . good only for a quick bite. One thing tht did bother me was the unprofessional behavior of Mr Kevin at the front desk....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nishi S
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. I'm so happy to hear that the room was comfortable and the hotel was cozy. The Bistro is a great place to meet and have breakfast or dinner and enjoy your favorite Starbucks beverage. We do pride ourselves in providing outstanding guest service and I'm sorry one of...

Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

What a great downtown 'boutique' feel Courtyard! Room had been beautifully updated, the Bistro cafe in the lobby had a charming warmth, and the staff was stellar! Made our stay in Athens more pleasant. Highly recommend this Marriott Courtyard!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PattiP313
Ripon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2015

I guess we were disappointed with this hotel. Our room, although very clean and comfy smelled of damp. The bistro was virtually non exhistant and was more like a very basic Starbucks. It is in a good position for exploring Athens and the staff were friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fleur98
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts about our hotel. It's great hearing feedback from our guests about their experiences here in Athens. Our location is ideal for exploring all downtown Athens has to offer and I'm happy to hear that our staff was friendly. We take great pride in delivering exceptional guest service so I'm sorry...

Gainesville, GA
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We checked into our room ahead of time utilizing the Marriott App. We were going to arrive in Athens about 2PM Friday afternoon for the weekend. We received an email at 10AM Friday morning indicating our room was ready. When we arrived check-in was fast and efficient. Our room was EXCELLENT. We had a couple of special housekeeping requests and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BB B
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 1 September 2015

The rooms of this hotel are great and SO many wonderful staff who take care of you. Miranda, in particular, was most kind and helpful. The pool scene was nice and I loved sitting out on the outdoor balcony with a glass of wine. However, on that note, the prices on drinks at the bar are so ridiculously expensive that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank runandwrite
CYAthensGM, General Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thoughts about our hotel. We appreciate hearing feedback from our guests about their experiences here in Athens. I'm happy to hear that our staff took great care of you when you were staying at the hotel. We take great pride in delivering exceptional guest service. Our pool and patio area are...

Peoria, Illinois, United States
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Stayed three nights at the Courtyard Athens Downtown and it was quite nice. Good location about 3 blocks from downtown and a couple of blocks from the UG campus. Very friendly staff at the front and provided an upgraded room for my Marriott Platinum status. Breakfast area with Starbucks coffee just off the lobby. Outdoor pool and small fitness center...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
Savannah, GA
Reviewed 24 August 2015

This hotel is hidden just west of downtown. The entrance is off a one-way street, so you have to go around the back to get to it. It looks more like an apartment complex than a hotel. Price was decent. Rooms are very dated. It is also a kind of motel/hotel. For rooms on the ground floor, there is both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MilitelloVC
CYAthensGM, Manager at Courtyard Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your thought about our hotel. It is always a pleasure to get feedback from our guests. We are an older hotel with some of our ground floor rooms having both interior and exterior entrances and our hotel does not offer a free breakfast. We do offer some Stay for Breakfast Packages that...

Snellville, Georgia
Reviewed 17 August 2015

the room is clean and well appointed. This being a college town, parking space is a premium, Luckily I had my disabled parking permit. One large KING bed and nice flat screen TV. Wi-Fi easily hooked-up in the room. I love the one cup coffee maker, Very nice early in the morning. One thing that may seem strange to some,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theOLDFRED
Smyrna, Georgia
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

We had stayed here in July for a couple of days. This is an okay hotel. I may not go back here, mainly due to the fact that the hotel is a bit far from downtown and UGA main campus. Otherwise, the room is good, the outdoor pool is awesome. The bistro serves Starbucks coffee. The breakfast choices at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travel T

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
1.0 km away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
608 reviews
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
4.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
2.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Courtyard Athens Downtown

Address: 166 North Finley Street, Athens, GA 30601 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Athens Downtown)
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Price Range: €119 - €259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Athens Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Athens Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Athens Downtown Hotel Athens
Athens Courtyard
Athens Marriott
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Athens Downtown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Arnoldsville, Georgia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Athens Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We like the 3rd floor rooms better, but the elevator is oddly situated.”
 of 5 bubbles JasonGoes, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for inside access”
 of 5 bubbles KimT165, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room is a great good. Just depend if you want a ground floor or upper room”
 of 5 bubbles Missrx7, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one bu the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Tomasi1949, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“could not tell if any rooms would be better than others.”
 of 5 bubbles gaylordm, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5