We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown

Show Prices
#3 of 22 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

576 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 572: English reviews
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff was polite and courteous. Location was great, walking distance to shops, campus, bars, restaurants. Parking garage was easy to get in and out of and easily able to accommodate my vehicle. The staff in the lounge was amongst the best hotel bartender i have experienced in my travels. No complaints at all about this experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathankL5331GW
Columbus, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent the night here after a UGA game. Good food in the afternoon, bartender was very attentive and made delicious drinks. Comfortable seating in bar area with a couple of TVs to watch the other games. Room was clean, if a little warm. Cut the A/C down as far as it would go but it never really got cold in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth811
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Guyton, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean hotel, friendly staff, quiet room, and conveniently located for anything on the UGA campus. We stayed here for a Georgia vs Georgia Tech game (Go Jackets!) due to close proximity to the stadium and were glad we did.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank granta571
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you found our location convenient. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for a business appointment near Athens. The hotel is right downtown and many restaurants close by. I was able to check in and had a wide variety of restaurants to choose from. I walked to a pus and enjoyed a local beer and food. The room was comfortable and the hotel was located very well. Parking was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susie_Poker
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Monroe, ga
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Prime location. Needs some major updating in the rooms, especially for the price during football season. Loved the bar tender. Food menu could use more of options for appetizer/bar foods. Great location. Close to all the downtown Athens bars and resturants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 887katelynm
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Your feedback is appreciated. We are planning a refresh of our public space and all of our rooms in 2017. We hope you are able to come back and see us again after our update.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were in town for a georgia home game and decided to stay at the hilton garden inn. We were very pleased with our choice. It was great being down town and being able to walk places for breakfast and dinner. It was also close to the stadium so we didn't have far to walk. We also decided to tailgate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Athens for a home game. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

saint simons island
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had to extend my stay and they were most hospitable in accomplishing that accommidation. I felt welcome there by the entire staff. Room was comfortable and inviting. Bed was one I wanted to take home.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dwhutson
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. It is always a pleasure to accommodate our guests. I hope to meet you in person on your next visit.

Denver, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was very nice and the location was excellent. The breakfast selection was good and the bar stayed open late so we could enjoy the late football games on the television. Valet would be nice to have available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 469kellar
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and enjoyed the breakfast and bar. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Atlanta
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The service was superb prior to arriving, during the duration and the check out out process. The breakfast was excellent and more that enough food shared. One of the workers conversed with me on the profession I was able to share information as well as him. I love the name badges that share the activities

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 716bernitar
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are very happy to hear that we provided excellent service, food, and that you enjoyed our name badges. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Athens.

Flemington, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is a typical Hilton Garden Inn with its best appeal being its location. It is conveniently located in the heart of the city; very close to restaurants, cafes, and bars. It has parking in the back as well. The rooms are big and comfortable with typical American decor. It has a bar and restaurant in the lobby but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmejias
Aaron P, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the location. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Athens.

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.5 km away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
565 reviews
3.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#5 of 22 in Athens
386 reviews
5.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Adjacent to the Classic Center, Athens primary meeting/concert venue. Walking distance to over 75 unique eateries and pubs in a very quaint setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown

Address: 390 E Washington St, Athens, GA 30601-2751
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Price Range: €128 - €237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown Hotel Athens
Hilton Athens
Athens Hilton Garden Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Merchantville, New Jersey
3 months ago
over a year ago
Savannah, Georgia

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors offer good views if that is important to you.”
 of 5 bubbles Z5598SZbens, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“top floor (8th) had spectacular view of city environs and beyond.”
 of 5 bubbles mpontheroad, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quiet rooms”
 of 5 bubbles spookees, 3 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors may have less noise. No guarantees though.”
 of 5 bubbles markbS9903UZ, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Great views from corner rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles georgian08, 18 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay