We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Candlewood Suites Athens-GA

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Athens-GA
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Athens-GA
See the most recent reviews
Showing 64: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 24 November 2015

I stayed here for a week on a work trip and do not have any complaints. The staff were friendly and courteous and the premises was very clean. I forgot my laptop charger in the room and the staff was very helpful in shipping it to my home address when I called them.

Thank Madhav175
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I glad that you had a pleasant stay and a great experience. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Greer, South Carolina
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

First of all, the address given was WRONG! It had my HPS taking my twenty miles out of my was!!! Besides that, the night clerk was very friendly, the room was comfortable, the beds were very very comfortable, the room was clean,but: the daytime front desk clerk, RoShanda, was the rudest front desk person I have had to deal with...

2Thank Becky B
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

I do apologize for that you had this experience. We do not have a Roshanda that works at this hotel. Thank you

Kernersville, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Great amenities in room.Great shower.Excellent appliances.Quiet guests and friendly staff. Very convenient to landmark restaurants,malls,kayaking,and easy major highway access.Visited a great church,Trinity Baptist Church and people in area are generally infused with southern hospitality.

Thank abws395
Hotel_Staff156, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad that you had such a lovely time visiting Athens and staying with us at Candlewood Suites! Yes, we are conveniently located near restaurants, the GA Square Mall, local activities, and highway access. We look forward to seeing you again, when you are back in town.

Reviewed 24 June 2015 via mobile

I don't understand how this place is still in business with this disgusting staff! The woman at the front desk said we (THE CUSTOMERS THAT PAY HER BILLS) are getting on her nerves because we misplaced our room key. Then she said she's going to start charging us to replace it. In ally years of traveling I've never heard of...

Thank Viccy W
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Dear Viccy W, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us especially with customer service. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor...

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Note that the hotel is a little difficult to find - it is off the Atlanta Highway, behind the motorcycle dealer. Easy enough to get to once you know where it is, however, and parking is fine. First the good: The rooms ARE spacious, and the hotel appears fairly new. We stayed for three weeks in one of the king...

1Thank Dan B
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

I hope you had a great time in our Classic City. Thank you for your recent feedback on housekeeping. We are a extended stay property, we do a full clean every seven days for long term guest. I do apologize that you did not get that service. I will be sure to make sure all of our procedures are in...

Lawrence, Michigan
Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

Candlewood Suites in Athens is very clean and well-maintained. The suites are roomy and very well appointed with refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, and a stove-top. There was also a TV and DVD player, with a DVD library in the lobby. The DVD's are available for checking out free of charge.

1Thank Breadman49064
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Again, Thank you

Reviewed 11 April 2015

No real restaurants near by. Sonic is right out front and to the left there is a waffle house. To the right there was a McDonalds and BK. I did see the mall, so there are restaurants available in there. The hotel is set away from the road. The accommodations of the hotel itself are nice. The rooms are spacious...

1Thank Bostias
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback of the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Please stay with us next time you are in the area.

Reviewed 10 April 2015

On April 9, 2015, at 5:31 I called Candlewood Suites Athens and spoke with Shane McDermott (name confirmed on a different call) to ask about open rooms. He stated there were no rooms available April 10th through April 13th. I told him that I was online and it was indicating there were rooms left and asked him why that was....

Thank Corey L
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

I really appreciate you taking the time to let us know of the problem with your reservation and your experience with our staff. I know how frustrating reservation problems can be and do apologize for the inconvenience. I also want to personally apologize for the frustration you experienced when the actions of the staff did not meet your expectations. We...

Baton rouge
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We stayed two nights at the Candlewood Suites in Bogart for a wedding in downtown Athens. Immediately we were disappointed by the distance to downtown and the lack of a covered breezeway or driveway since it rained nonstop during the trip. The staff was friendly, though mildly accommodating. The rooms were clean though the bathrooms were small and unimpressive. There...

1Thank Anna H
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback. I do apologize that you had those issues. We strive to make the hotel feel like home. I do hope you will stay with us next time you are in the area.

Yulee, Florida
Reviewed 7 December 2014

The wife and I arrived Friday before the Saturday game. Hotel is located 1 block off the Alanta Hwy, which becomes Broad St the main street in Athens. This is the same street where the arch and shops bars and eatery are located. Hotel is appox. 20-25 minutes from campus. The staff at the front desk was very eager and...

1Thank Gary_Roberson
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us for the Georgia Vs Georgia Tech Game. Thank you for the feedback. It is always good to here when someone has a good stay. We hope to see you in the near future.

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (4)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (55)
Dining (2)
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Room/Suite (28)
Bathroom (1)
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
4.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#13 of 22 in Athens
78 reviews
10.3 km away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
3.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Athens
9.8 km away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Candlewood Suites Athens, the city's newest premier extended stay hotel, is conveniently located on the west side of the city along US-78, within minutes of UGA, the University of Georgia, Sanford Stadium, the Classic Center, the University of Georgia Performing Arts Center and Georgia Square Mall. Located only a short distance from the hotel are St. Mary's Hospital, Athens Regional Hospital, Golden Pantry, Merial, CertainTeed and Eaton Corporation. At Candlewood Suites Athens, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner, and watch their favorite program, movie, or sporting event on a 32 flat panel TV. Guest can even check out movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk, with 2 separate phone lines, and free high-speed Internet. Candlewood Suites Athens provides our guests the use of an upscale free fitness center, and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Candlewood Suites Athens is within a short distance of many local restaurants, recreational facilities, golf courses, and entertainment venues. For those guests that prefer to Dine In , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks and ice cream. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Athens-GA

Address: 156 Classic Road, Athens, GA 30622
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Price Range: €87 - €153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Athens-GA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Candlewood Suites Athens-GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Athens-Ga Hotel Bogart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Athens-GA staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
3 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Athens-GA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 220 if you like to breathe and/or need darkness to sleep”
 of 5 bubbles chuckh490, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“My second floor room was excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles abws395, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Choose a top floor room unless you want to listen to those above you walking around.”
 of 5 bubbles DanB688, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
“The rooms facing the back wooded lot are pleasant and quiet.”
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles Bostias, 11 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Front room facing parking lot, closer to elavator.”
 of 5 bubbles Gary_Roberson, 7 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5