We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Candlewood Suites Athens-GA

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Athens-GA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 27 October 2016

My wife's classic Harley ate it's charging system, so, we were going to be in town for the night while it was repaired. The local Harley Davidson dealership sits between the hotel and the road, so the location couldn't be any more convenient.. The Harley chop has a special price deal with the hotel; unfortunately, it was homecoming weekend for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank martin g
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and was able to get your bike fixed. We hope that you can come back just to relax. Again, Thank you

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The Good: * Front desk staff are nice. My evening check-in crew were exceptional, friendly and efficient. * Property is tucked away on a side street in a quiet location. * Ample parking * Crazy good water pressure in the room (at least the in 220) * The nearby Waffle House (turn left onto US-78 off of Classic Rd. go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chuck h
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your feedback. I greatly appreciate your comments, so that they can be looked at and evaluated. The only way anyone can get better is with feedback from the customers. Again, thank you for staying and your honest feedback.

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel has a lot going for it. It's pretty clean, staff is generally nice, rooms are large with a great shower, tv is actually hi def and its pet friendly with very nice lighted pet walk area. However the hotel has no ice makers because the rooms have full size fridges with an "ice maker". First day no ice,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bill B
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Dear Bill B, Thank you for choosing us and for sharing your experience. I am very delighted that you found our property clean and the rooms large. However, I understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory due to the ice maker and the level of service you received. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this may have...

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel was just god awful. Me and my family planned a 2 night stay, but we didn't even stay for five minutes. Our hotel room was supposed to be smoke-free. Our hotel number was 420, and coincidental enough, it stunk like a cigar. The room was musty, and the window was open, in which they were trying to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The S
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Dear The S, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for the disappointment you had with the smell of the room you received when you arrived. I am truly sad that we did not meet your expectations because we always strive to please our guests during their stay. Nevertheless,...

Alabama
Reviewed 13 July 2016

My dog and I stayed for the weekend. We were in town for a flyball tournament. It was great to have a kitchen w/full refrigerator. Rooms were clean and bed was comfy. The staff was super friendly. They even had treats for our dogs at check-in and a water bowl in the lobby all weekend. Very convenient location for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MountainsLover192
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see the flyball tournament next year. We always look forward to the dogs and their companions when they come to town. Again, thank you.

Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

I have been here for the past three days. The hotel is very quiet, only thing I hear is doors closing in mornings as guests leave. The room is spacious, I lobe the kitchenette as I cooked breakfast daily and made spahgetti one evening. The bathroom is kinda on the small side. Looking at reviews before arriving , I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veda38
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We cannot wait to see you in the future.

Statham, Georgia
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

My family and myself stayed here starting in February due to a busted pipe flooding our home. We had three rooms and three teenagers sharing two rooms and my husband and myself in the other room. February's stay was great other than the front desk 3-11 young lady who was not friendly and extremely stuck up (even my teenagers made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica J
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Dear Jessica J. I really appreciate your taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay. I want to personally apologize for the frustration you experienced when the actions of the staff did not meet your expectations. We want our guests to be met with a well-trained staff that puts guest comfort and satisfaction before everything else. I...

Greer, South Carolina
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Loved it! The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, the hotel was in a great location and the beds couldn't have been more comfy. One of the best night's sleep I've had on the road in years!!! I'd recommend it to anyone!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback and for staying with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you in the near future.

Macon, Georgia
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with a group of teenagers for an FBLA State Conference. The desk was unhelpful at first and rude by the end of our stay. This place is over 20 min from downtown and has no close decent restaurants around. When we arrived, I found many long dark hairs on my bathroom floor (I have short, blonde hair)....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 34AshleyD1
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Candlewood Suites Athens, GA. I realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and I sincerely appreciate your business. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your disappointment with your stay. We want our guests to have the best stay possible where every area of the hotel is clean, spacious,...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Nice hotel, once we spotted it from the main road. Hotel address and map were correct, but we drove past it because it does sit back from the road (behind other businesses). Room and customer service were good (not outstanding, but still good) and as with other 'suite' hotels the room amenities included a furnished kitchenette and a few more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RS_OHIO396
Sharla M, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Athens-GA, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Candlewood Suites Athens, GA. I realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and I sincerely appreciate your business. I do hope that next time you are in time we will see you. Have a great day

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
5.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
6.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#14 of 22 in Athens
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
570 reviews
6.8 km away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#5 of 22 in Athens
387 reviews
11.4 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Candlewood Suites Athens, the city's newest premier extended stay hotel, is conveniently located on the west side of the city along US-78, within minutes of UGA, the University of Georgia, Sanford Stadium, the Classic Center, the University of Georgia Performing Arts Center and Georgia Square Mall. Located only a short distance from the hotel are St. Mary's Hospital, Athens Regional Hospital, Golden Pantry, Merial, CertainTeed and Eaton Corporation. At Candlewood Suites Athens, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner, and watch their favorite program, movie, or sporting event on a 32 flat panel TV. Guest can even check out movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk, with 2 separate phone lines, and free high-speed Internet. Candlewood Suites Athens provides our guests the use of an upscale free fitness center, and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Candlewood Suites Athens is within a short distance of many local restaurants, recreational facilities, golf courses, and entertainment venues. For those guests that prefer to Dine In , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks and ice cream. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Athens-GA

Address: 156 Classic Road, Athens, GA 30622
Region: United States > Georgia > Athens
Price Range: €76 - €141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Athens-GA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Candlewood Suites Athens-GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Athens-Ga Hotel Bogart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Athens-GA staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
28 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Athens-GA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 220 if you like to breathe and/or need darkness to sleep”
 of 5 bubbles chuckh490, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“My second floor room was excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles abws395, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Choose a top floor room unless you want to listen to those above you walking around.”
 of 5 bubbles DanB688, 16 Jun 2015 | Read review
“The rooms facing the back wooded lot are pleasant and quiet.”
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles Bostias, 11 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Front room facing parking lot, closer to elavator.”
 of 5 bubbles Gary_Roberson, 7 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay