We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tamarindo Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Tamarindo Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 41: English reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We founded there nice and cheap accommodation to stay for a few days. This hostel don't deserve bad comments like this especially if you have on your mind how cheap it is. Room was clean and bathroom very nice with hot water. AC was old but work properly. Owner was very helpful and give us all information we were needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jovan R
tamarindohostel, Director General at Tamarindo Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your opinion. We alays work hard to make you feel satisfied. We hope to see you again and we will continue trying to make you feel like home. Kind regards

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

We arrived at this hostel at night and it had a weird vibe. There was no one there, and the staff weren't very helpful. They have a poster advertising the movie "hostel" which also makes its very creepy. The bathroom was not clean and one of the beds had a very loud air conditioner blowing straight onto it. They also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_sb11
tamarindohostel, General Manager at Tamarindo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi dear I have read the coment Sorry for the bed that received air cond directly . Do you know you can turn the direction of the air con the way you like best. I like the sugestions , if you dont like the poster you should let me know what you feel and ia can get rid of it...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015

We stayed for two nights on arriving in San Pedro Sula for a six-week holiday travelling through central America. It being the first few days of the trip, staying in what the guide book describes as the world's most dangerous city, the Tamarindo was an ok choice - but (especially compared to what else we experienced over the six weeks)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenHammond
tamarindohostel, General Manager at Tamarindo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi dear BenHammond I am sorry that when you came to the hostel there were no more travellers to talk with . There are sometimes people reserve private room and that is why they dont see more people as if they were in a dorm. And there are some days that coincidentially there are no more persons the day you...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 4 July 2015

i stayed here one night. it was weird, no one else was in the entire dormitory room of a dozen beds. i liked the solitude, but the staff were very unfriendly unless you seemed like you might be giving them money. when i checked in the boy at the desk tried to overcharge me. he then just said your room's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ericksaint
tamarindohostel, General Manager at Tamarindo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Erick You came in a day there were no more people. We have a dozen beds because we usually have more people in the room. but it was your loky day, you were alone . We are not as you say smiling only when you seemed like you might be giving money. We love to help and advise our...

michigan
Reviewed 18 March 2015

I stayed here a year ago and was pleased. I came through San Pedro Sula later in the evening this year and stayed again. It's a very nice Hostel and i felt very safe, in what is said to be a not safe city. The woman again was very helpful and pleasant and helped me with my bus ticket to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnap27
tamarindohostel, General Manager at Tamarindo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Donnap27 Thank you very much for your review. it makes me feel very happy . You are one of the mosts guests that know how we are exactly. We always work so hard for making our guests feel comfortable and have a pleasant stay and we like to help guests in all as we can. I hope to see...

Reviewed 5 February 2015 via mobile

I arrived late at night which isn't a good thing in this city. The taxi driver knew exactly where the place was so that went well. A nice hostel with a nice host, I think her name was lorett? Safe location and a comfortable bed. You can purchase TICA bus tickets at the hostel for a small fee and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigfire333
tamarindohostel, General Manager at Tamarindo Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Bigfire333 Thank you very much for your review. We love our guests feel comfortable and safe, and we love to be helpfull. We are always working hard to continue being better . Hope to see you in the future kind regards

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Unfortunately this hostel was a huge disappointment. We stayed here because lonely planet recommended it in their guidebook and it was quite convenient with location to the bus terminal. The room was terrible. The bed looked like it was 20 years old and the overall appearance of the room was quite bleak and poor. The staff, a young man and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hani M
Porto Alegre, RS
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Pretty good hostel with nice dorms and good people. The kitchen was a mess but besides that, no problems. This hostel is the only place in town where you can get bus tickets from TICA bus or other companies after the regular work time, making it somehow special to backpackers only looking for a place to stay for the night....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rolonghi
michigan
Reviewed 14 February 2014

i've always been hesitant to spend the night in San Pedro Sula, being a single woman traveling alone. but a taxi driver from Puerto Cortes took me there, and i was very happy. i stayed in the 'dorm' and it was very nice and clean, but it was more than i thought i would have to pay for a dorm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donnap27
Paris, France
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We arrived late in the night after a very long trip from Costa Rica, with a stressfull interactions in the bus station, but arriving here was like a little piece of paradise. The owner was very kind to us, they gave us a good fresh beer and a very good bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sebreinsh

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Pedro Sula hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Los Jicaros
Hotel Los Jicaros
#29 of 39 in San Pedro Sula
6 reviews
1.5 km away
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
Micro Hotel Rio de Piedras
#12 of 39 in San Pedro Sula
42 reviews
5.7 km away
Metrotel Express
Metrotel Express
#6 of 39 in San Pedro Sula
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hostel La Madrugada
Hostel La Madrugada
#4 of 18 in San Pedro Sula
25 reviews
7.0 km away
Casa Armenta Hostel
Casa Armenta Hostel
#3 of 18 in San Pedro Sula
33 reviews
1.4 km away
La Posada B&B
La Posada B&B
#3 of 46 in San Pedro Sula
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Tamarindo Hostel, the first backpacker's place in San Pedro Sula. We have dorm rooms, private rooms, hammocks, and enough area where you can have a nice rest after an adventure in San Pedro Sula or places near the city. We have a nice garden, terrace, free use of kitchen, reading area, and a lot more. We can inform you of tours and places to go and have fun at very cheap prices. We are close to Souvenir shops, discos, cinemas, shopping mall, restaurants, markets and supermarkets, Hedman Alas Bus station is near, hospitals and drug stores, so come over and find a good and secure area to stay at with a few bucks. We have wifi free but the use of the computers is for a very low price of $1.00 the half hour. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tamarindo Hostel

Address: 10 y 11 avenida, 9 Calle A, N.O. #1015 | 4km from the bus terminal 15km from the airport, San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Cortes Department > San Pedro Sula
Price Range: €10 - €28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Tamarindo Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tamarindo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tamarindo Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dorm # 5 is empty!”
 of 5 bubbles ericksaint, 4 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Everyone are good.”
 of 5 bubbles sebreinsh, 1 Oct 2013 | Read review
“choose the ones upstairs, they seem to be cleaner and less noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles AndreFranca, 21 Jul 2013 | Read review
“The best tip to get a good room is to not stay here at all.”
 of 5 bubbles ChristopherN113, 20 Jan 2013 | Read review
“The room #3 is really comfortable . the early morning taxi at $ am to the bus terminal is $15 but you can share betwen 3 persons”
 of 5 bubbles FranciscoV965, 21 Dec 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay