We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jungle Lodge Tikal Hostal

Save
Share
Parque Nacional Tikal, Tikal National Park 17001 Guatemala
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tikal National Park
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
12 rooms that have 12.40 square meters each, were the rooms of the archeologists of the University of Pennsylvania, responsible for the exploration of Tikal in the 60s. The rooms have a ceiling fan, SHARED BATHROOM FOR WOMEN AND MEN hot and cold water.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Laundry service
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
46Reviews1Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 18
  • 5
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Keviin wrote a review Jan 2021
4 contributions
Super expensive in general, you probably are thinking oh this seems to be like an exotic experience staying inside of the Tikal natural park! Well, it is not lol, the food is terrible the bartender does have any idea on how to prepare a drink, the customer service is meh for not to say bad, better? I'd recommend staying at Flores where you'll have better options in terms of Hotels, restaurants, and bars with good prices and better food.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Jungle Lodge Tikal, General Manager at Jungle Lodge Tikal Hostal
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments KevJav357, Best regards
Read more
MelLatter wrote a review Mar 2020
Victoria, Canada12 contributions2 helpful votes
This was one of the highlights of our trip! What a fantastic place to stay. The room was spotless (no bugs or spiders as some other posts had indicated) and comfortable. We loved the privacy from our room and deck and that we got to wake up to the sound of the jungle every morning. There is not a lot of sound proofing as the windows are a screen so you can hear the restaurant and late arrivals but it is well worth it for the airflow and waking up to the sound of birds and howler monkeys! The restaurant is beautiful, the staff are lovely and the food is okay. We spend 3 days at the lodge and by the end I was a little tired of the menu. That being said it is amazing the menu is so large and food is as good as it is given the location...I mean you are right in the jungle! The pool was lovely and not too busy. I enjoyed taking a dip after exploring the park and then ordering a margarita from the pool bar and basking in the sun...truly heaven! We watched the spider monkeys play in the trees every day...we even saw a mom and baby which was so special! Definitely do the tours! We did the sunrise and sunset tour, both were amazing. We had Cesar for the sunset tour and unfortunately I cannot remember our guides name from the sunrise tour but both were equally knowledgeable and enthusiastic. For the sunrise tour, our guide even hike with coffee for us so we could enjoy it after watching the sunrise! We did get to see the sunset however it was drizzling on the morning on the sunrise tour but it was still well worth it to see the jungle waking up. Amazing staff, place and experience!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jungle Lodge Tikal, General Manager at Jungle Lodge Tikal Hostal
Responded 6 Jan 2021
We are speechless MelLatter, Sorry our response has taken so long, but this review can’t go without one! So detailed and accurate we are honored to have had a guest with such talent for words as yourself! We are glad you were able to take so much of us and Tikal with you from that trip, and we hope this new year brings a new experience for you. We will always welcome you with open arms! Best regards, from your home in the jungle. Jungle Lodge Hostal
Read more
SJHCBW wrote a review Feb 2020
Lucerne, Switzerland79 contributions41 helpful votes
We LOVED our stay at the Jungle Lodge. The surroundings are beautiful, the people are unbelievably friendly, and the room was amazing. We felt incredibly lucky to be staying at such a beautiful location. The bed was great too and the toiletries smelled amazing. Only downside was the poor water pressure in the shower, but one cannot have everything. If you have the chance to stay at this hostal or the hotel - go for it! We had a room with a private bathroom. If you are staying here, book the sunrise tour with Tony as your guide. You will beat the crowd from Flores and will have a quiet moment before the big group from Flores comes in and everyone in that group starts unpacking their backpacks noisily (We personally felt the number or people on the temple should be restricted and everyone should be obliged to leave their backpacks with their guides at the bottom of the stairs. The noise everyone made with their zippers was so loud that we could not hear the howler monkeys anymore (and they are loud!!)). The hotel has a swimming pool, which is kind of great too, because it’s a funny feeling to be staying in the jungle and being able to hop into a swimming pool. We saw tukans, spiders monkeys, parrots, and beautiful butterflies - all while staying at the Jungle Lodge. Dive into their magical jungle world - You won’t regret it!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from JungleLodgeTikal, Guest Relations Manager at Jungle Lodge Tikal Hostal
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Thank you so much for your beautiful comments SJHCBW! We love reading our guests reviews and hope your stay was as amazing as possible! Please come back and stay with us soon. Best regards, Esteban
Read more
Goingplaces98 wrote a review Jan 2020
Chino Hills, California481 contributions306 helpful votes
The obvious pro is that this place is right next to the entrance to Tikal. Rooms are decently appointed. Bathrooms are clean if you’re the first to use it after housekeeping otherwise the other guests are quite dirty. They don’t seem to check emails after 5pm so I had to pay extra to arrange private transport the next day. Then they gave me the worst room right next to the restaurant, when I checked in relatively early. You will not get any peace and quiet until after 11pm. You won’t get soothing jungle noises, all you’ll get are loud Europeans talking at dinner. Again this seems to be a common theme in Guatemala, that Asian travelers like me are discriminated against in terms of room assignment.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from JungleLodgeTikal, Guest Relations Manager at Jungle Lodge Tikal Hostal
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Hello Milty908, we are sorry to hear about this but we don’t chose your room based on your race, we select rooms based on what is available at the time you make your reservation. Hope this didn’t affect your experience in the park however. Best regards!
Read more
Ulf_Stenungsund wrote a review Jan 2020
Stenungsund, Sweden9 contributions
So exiting to wake up in the middle of the night to roars of howler monkeys, First thought it was jaguars before heart rate returned to normal. Really great tours with great guides. Clean and nice establishment, Very friendly and helpful staff. Good drinks and food. Only bad was getting an extra lunch by some other guest on our tab. It was finally solved, but unneccessary. Suggest they start to ask to see room key before registering tabs. Anyway, we strongly recommend staying here, lovely place!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from JungleLodgeTikal, Guest Relations Manager at Jungle Lodge Tikal Hostal
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Thank you for your warm comments Ulf_Stenungsund! We are glad you had an amazing experience with us and we are sorry to hear about that mix up! Thank you for your feedback on this matter! We will make efforts to reinforce this area. We hope you come back and visit us again soon! Best regards and safe travels!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$51 - US$60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GuatemalaPeten DepartmentTikal National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Jungle Lodge Tikal Hostal
Which popular attractions are close to Jungle Lodge Tikal Hostal?
Nearby attractions include Great Plaza (1.1 km), Tikal (4.7 km), and Temple IV (1.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Jungle Lodge Tikal Hostal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Jungle Lodge Tikal Hostal?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Jungle Lodge Tikal Hostal?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Jungle Lodge Tikal Hostal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Jungle Lodge Hotel, Jaguar Inn Restaurant, and El Meson.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Jungle Lodge Tikal Hostal?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Jungle Lodge Tikal Hostal have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Jungle Lodge Tikal Hostal offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.