We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Casa Xelaju

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quetzaltenango
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Casa Xelaju
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 20: English reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016

My husband and I stayed in the Studio Apartment for 2 weeks and it was very accommodating. We had everything we needed to enjoy our time there. The staff was very helpful and friendly and always went out of their way to help us. The staff got to know us personally and that made the stay more special for us.

1Thank Lindsey N
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 11 June 2016

I lived at Casa Xelaju for a month, and it was incredible. My apartment was clean, bright, and spacious. I loved looking out over the city through my apartment's many windows. My apartment had a really pleasant balcony that I sat on daily. The location was safe (I was a single woman living alone) and really accessible to Parque Central,...

3Thank camstar4152016
Dallas TX
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for nearly two months and had an exceptional experience. The apartment was perfect: nice views, good shower and kitchen and totally convenient to everything in xela. The staff was wonderful too. They felt like family by the time I left. I highly recommend casa xelaju

2Thank DallasTraveller1960
san miguel allende
Reviewed 28 March 2016

the owner´s reply is sort of disingenuous. my husband and i spent over 20 hours with the ministerio publico and the juzgado trying to help casa xelaju with their claim. they are the ones who brought the denuncia, not us. we offerred to stay in town for longer but the judge was hearing a murder trial and did not think...

2Thank camelhead
San Diego, California
Reviewed 18 March 2016

This is a nicely furnished apartment with great light and views of the city and mountains. It has everything you need to prepare basic meals. It has good wi-fi and filtered water. The location is great - a few blocks from the parquet central, with easy access to buses throughout the region. The staff are friendly and helpful. we stayed...

1Thank TravelMirk
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Reviewed 27 February 2016

My wife and I were in one apartment at Casa Xelaju and then changed to another in the same compound. I inadvertently left behind 2 medicine kits and 1 plastic container loaded with personal items. Although the maid cleaned the room and the man in charge should have overseen her work, the belongings were never returned to us. The owner...

1Thank cherokee49
CasaXelaju, Manager at Casa Xelaju, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you had this horrible experience dealing while staying in one of our apartments. A robbery always feels very violating. We always strive to provide a safe experience to our tenants and up until this incident, have never had any problems with theft. For the record, we did fire the two women who cleaned and who...

Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 27 January 2016

I spent 4 weeks in Xela to write, visit a friend, and learn Spanish. My apartment (#2) at Casa Xelajú served as a fantastic home base. Pros: - Extremely clean. - Great view of the city from my balcony (I was on the third story). - Relatively quiet (as quiet as you get in urban Guatemala). - The Casa Xelajú...

2Thank Blake B
CasaXelaju, Manager at Casa Xelaju, responded to this review

Dear Blake, Thank you very much for your feedback on your stayed at Casa Xelaju's apartment. We really appreciate your comments because they help us to improve the services to future tenants. We are very sorry to hear that you had issues with the stove. We never provide matches to our tenants because all the stoves come with electronic igniters....

Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Our family of 5 rented the 3 bedroom/2 bathroom house at Casa Xelaju for 3 weeks. It was a fabulous location (close to a grocery store, a bakery that made bagels every morning, and numerous delicious restaurants) and we felt perfectly safe. We, too, were staying around Independence Day, so the firecrackers were often our alarm clock at all hours...

1Thank Galileo5
CasaXelaju, Manager at Casa Xelaju, responded to this review

Casa Xelaju is pleased that your experience renting the house was excellent. We always strive to provide the best service to our tenants and Spanish students. We are aware of issues with the internet signal in our two buildings. Last week, (11/16/15) we installed four new access points TP-LINK TL-WA801ND with 300Mbps and two 15 gain outdoor antennas. With this...

Reviewed 10 September 2015

Loved the place. Everyone very nice but be warned. VERY noisy location on A busy street. Every morning the LOUD gun Rapids Fire will be your alarm clock. No one seems to know or care why its necessary to blast guns every morning but I found it painful. Casaxelaju is a great place to stay when you are in Zela.

2Thank Susan G
CasaXelaju, Manager at Casa Xelaju, responded to this review

I'm happy that you enjoyed the apartment, but I wanted to respond to the noise issue. Due to the time of year that you were in Xela (pre- Independence day), I'm sure there has been increased noise with all the excitement that leads up to the feria. The "loud gun rapids fire" is actually fire crackers being set off and...

Reviewed 17 June 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for three weeks and on the whole it was a good experience. The flats have the basics, although I did end up at Walmart to get a table lamp because the flouro striplights in the ceilings are really, really unpleasant, and there are plenty of non flouro, equally 'environment friendly' options available - what *were* they thinking?!...

3Thank Cyberpanda
CasaXelaju, Owner at Casa Xelaju, responded to this review

Thank you for the thorough review of our apartments, we appreciate the feedback so we can adjust our policies to enhance the experience for our guests. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience with your lights. At Casa Xelaju we are committed to being leaders in environmental stewardship. Even before your arrival we have started the transition to more...

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (5)
Room/Suite (2)
Dining (1)
View from Room (1)
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (15)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
View from Room (6)
Dining (1)
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Modelo
Hotel Modelo
#1 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
170 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Las Americas
Hotel Las Americas
#5 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
13 reviews
3.2 km away
Anna Inn Hotel
Anna Inn Hotel
#2 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
#3 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
163 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel & Restaurante Mayaland
Hotel & Restaurante Mayaland
#7 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
18 reviews
0.3 km away
Villa Real Plaza
Villa Real Plaza
#12 of 16 in Quetzaltenango
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Casa Xelaju has 14 fully furnished apartments and a house available for rent. All units are located in the heart of the Historical Center of the city, Zona Viva, one of the safest areas in the city, five minutes walking distance from the Central Park. There are fine restaurants, coffee shops, two farmer markets, a Walmart Dispensa Familiar a few blocks away from the apartments. All the apartments have huge windows with beautiful views of the city, mountains and volcanoes. All the units are completely furnished with full kitchen, hot showers and balconies. It is cheaper and much more comfortable than a hotel. All utilities are included. Free high speed WIFI (10 mbps, the fastest in the country) and cable TV. 7/24. Some apartments are located in our main building, Callejon 15, Diagonal 13-02, Zona 1, other apartments are located on the same property as the main building. Our building is located in the safest area in the city (please look at the map). If you need transportation service from the airport in Guatemala City to Quetzaltenango, we offer airport service to the bus station in Guatemala City and then another representative will meet you and take you to your apt in Xela. Please request this service when you apply online. We have been providing this service for 25 years to our Spanish students. Also we offer private transportation directly from the airport to Quetzaltenango for one person, families and groups. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Xelaju

Address: Callejon 15 D 13-02, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala (Formerly Apartments Xela)
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Casa Xelaju Guatemala/Quetzaltenango
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Xelaju staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Casa Xelaju staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“excellent views of the city and great accessibility”
 of 5 bubbles camstar4152016, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“In the house, one bedroom sits right at street level and can get a bit noisy, but that's city life for you!”
 of 5 bubbles Galileo5, 24 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Stay AWAY from front street if you value your sleep time.”
 of 5 bubbles 657susang, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Go for one of the upper apartments, you´ll have a great view!”
 of 5 bubbles monicav2013, 1 Aug 2014 | Read review
4 of 4