We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amatique Bay Resort & Marina

Orbitz.comUS$88*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 58: English reviews
Start your review of Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Yesennia and Raul majano working at the bar are the only good thing left on there. I've been there every year since 2001 and this was my last visit. A Q100 for a lame breakfast buffet, Q210 for a dish that outside cost Q30 less and almost doubles the size is unacceptable. They give you 1 soap bar and you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hugo L
AmatiqueBay, General Manager at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Good afternoon Hugo L. I appreciate your taking the time for sharing your recent experience at Amatique Bay Hotel. I´m very sorry we could not meet your expectations and I will work hard to improve quality and service. Our breakfast buffet is quite complete with many options to choose from, however I will see to it that we make it...

Durham, Maine
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Only gave this resort 4 out of 5 stars because some of the rooms/bungalows are really far from restaurants/pool, etc. The resort does offer golf cart service, but, depending on the number of people at the resort, guests might have a longer than average wait for transportation. Other than that, the resort was really gorgeous and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank snifflz1
AmatiqueBay, General Manager at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Good morning snifflz1, I want to thank you for sharing your experience at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina. For me it is very important to know your opinion and comments in order to take action. I am very happy to see that you liked or hotel, service and facilities. I have shared this comment with my staff and the are...

Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

This was an option on a cruise we went on in December. You are able to disembark and take a water taxi over. If you are looking for pools, this is a great place it is beautiful. For a beach I wouldn't recommend..... not really clear water.... not the resorts fault.but use the pools. We kayaked with a guide that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank April B
AmatiqueBay, General Manager at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Dear April B, I really appreciate the time you took to share your experience at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina. It si very important to me to know how we are doing in regards of service and facilities. I´m sorry the beach did not fulfill your expectations, however, Amatique Bay is very rich in flora and fauna, our closeness to...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We visited this resort on a day pass as a cruise ship excursion. If you are looking for a beach/swim day in the area this is probably the best choice. It was clean and interesting to explore. The beach was not that great though. The water in this area is just not clear and the sand is a bit rocky....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddobelhoff
AmatiqueBay, General Manager at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Good afternoon ddobelhoff, I want to thanks you for taking the time to share your experience at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina with me. I want to apologize for the inconvenience you found on your day trip. That very day we were informed of a power outage that was going to affect the entire region. Most unfortunately for us, we...

Guatemala
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

We spent 4 nights at the hotel. The hotel itself is around 15 minutes by car outside of Puerto Barrios. If you go at night, the street is without any light. The hotel has different small houses with around 70 rooms. Some of the rooms are already renovated, some others are in progress. You pay around 120$ or more for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petergerman2016
AmatiqueBay, General Manager at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Dear petergerman2016 Thank you very much for taking the time to share with me your experience at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina. It is very important for me to know your opinion in order to improve. I´m happy you found so many nice things in the hotel. However I´m concerned about the things we can do better. Indeed we are...

Guatemala
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Might have hit this in the off season but for 2 days we tried to get a boat ride to see the sites to no avail. The pool was nice but boring after 2 days. The beach is dirty although the staff cleans it constantly. Was surprised they would not check us out until someone went to our room to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbovee1
AmatiqueBay, Director General at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Good Morning bbovee1, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina with me. It is very important for me to know your opinion in order to find areas of opportunity. I´d really appreciate if you could elaborate more regarding the boat ride, since we have a travel agency on...

Reviewed 25 August 2016

The overall acommodations are great. Beds are comfortable, rooms have A/C, the facilities are always clean, the recreational areas have everything kids & grown ups want and need. Great marina area. Has a secure private access to part of the Izabal Lake where aquatic ammenities may be enjoyed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jorge L
AEstrada, Director General at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Hello Jorge L. Thank you for taking the time to share with me your experience while staying at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed our service and facilities. We have worked hard to make our rooms comfortable and enjoyable. Also, our amenities when it comes to recreational activities in and outside the...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We loved staying here the pool was amazing, staff was great! All the food was delicious! Its SAFE and it feels like you are in paradise. You will fall in love with Ingrid the restaurant manager and she and the staff are lovely to have around. Rooms are clean and they even have laundry service on site for very reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew B
AmatiqueBay, Director General at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Andrew B, I really appreciate your taking the time to let me know about your experience in Amatique Bay Resort & Marina. Your comment is very important for me and my staff. I have shared your comment with all my team and we are happy to see that you are satisfied with our service and facilities. We are most...

Reviewed 30 June 2016

The place look nice. The main office was getting renovated, but it still had a really nice charm to it. I think the place is very family orientated. The have a nice pool. While I was there they had a beach fire set up for the guest. There is a lookout tower and a rock path that leades out into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tron8
AEstrada, General Manager at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Dear Tron8, I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina. It is very important for me to have your feedback. I am very happy to know that you liked our facilities and the activities we set up for our visitors. I have shared this information with my staff and they feel...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 12 June 2016

small bungalows ,kitchenette,.since we stayed close to the main building,good wifi. very quiet.good walking grounds and a small marina and boat docks.good breakfast and ok dinner.rooms are big and good ac.overall good place.no other facilities within miles.very remote.very good service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samkumar777
AEstrada, Director General at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this review

Good morning samkunar777, Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Amatique Bay Resort & Marina. It is very important for me to know how we made you feel. I'm very happy to see that our service, rooms and facilities were up to your expectations and that you has a good time with us. I have shared your comment...

248 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (161)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Barrios
5.8 km away
Hotel Puerto Libre
Hotel Puerto Libre
#3 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
37 reviews
23.9 km away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
335 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Marbrissa
Hotel Marbrissa
#2 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 km away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
255 reviews
20.1 km away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
93 reviews
23.3 km away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amatique Bay R & M: surrounded by natural beauty, personal service of the highest quality, delicious national and international dishes and a friendly atmosphere, invites you to live your best vacation experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amatique Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Calle Final, Finca Pichilingo 14, Puerto Barrios 18001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Puerto Barrios
Price Range: €64 - €105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amatique Bay Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amatique Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Puerto Barrios
Amatique Bay Resort And Marina
Amatique Bay Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amatique Bay Resort & Marina staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Amatique Bay Resort & Marina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The closer to amenities, the better.”
snifflz1, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the room seem pretty nice”
Tron8, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try to stay away from the geese pond.”
AlexChapin, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Stay closer to check in station, rooms seem to be better there.”
WantToSeeItAll, 16 Jan 2015 | Read review
“if you are close to the reception and restaurant, then you are far from the pool...close to the pool? far from the restaurant”
robp345, 9 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$88* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$117
TripAdvisorUS$88
PricelineUS$117
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates