We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Casa De La Iguana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Livingston
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Casa De La Iguana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Casa De La Iguana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 207: English reviews
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We had a lovely stay at Casa de la Iguana and I would thoroughly recommend a visit. The hostel is owned by an eccentric Englishman, Chris, who ensures that there is a great atmosphere and that his guests are well looked after. Mario, the manager, runs things on a daily basis and is knowledgeable and helpful. From the first sip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
Chris R, Owner at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review

Thank you sooo much for for taking the time to write the nice review. We remember you and your husband as being lovely guests and we are very glad you had a great time here. Safe travels!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We had a brilliant time here. The staff really make this place. From family style dinners, tasty breakfasts and strangely competitive drinking games (flip cup, beer pong will stay with us for life) The Iguana is a great place to meet new people and hang out for a few days or longer!!! A few must do's - siete alteres which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katevm87
Reviewed 18 September 2016

this hostel is really good, just has one problem, doesnt have a kitchen , so you have to buy them food to them or go outside and go to a restaurant. People who work there are very kind and helpfull. Mario its really nice. The hostel doesn´t have hot water

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula O
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

After the cool fishing trip we decided to stay longer than planned to do some more tours offered by the hostel. but unfortunately I got ill and at long last we stayed there for 9 days. despite my illness it was afterwards the best place to be because the great volunteers and also the owner very care about me. we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bodsch
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I had a reservation for three nights and ended up staying for 3 weeks!!! Livingston is such a great town with friendly people and the Casa de la Iguana is an amazing place to stay! Comfortable beds for fair prices, the best food in town, and the staff is just amazing!:) We arrived, and a friendly german volunteer showed us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jgaertig
Guatemala
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Casa de la Iguana is a really good hostel. The staff are super friendly. The family style dinner is really good value. After dinner there was a short demonstration of Punta Drumming and we had a hilarious time trying to dance "punta style". The fun continued from there and we had a great night. The next day we did a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank infoA9479MR
Chris R, Owner at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review

Thanks! We really appreciate the kind words. Safe travels.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We had a great stay at Casa De La Iguana. Considering what we paid, the accommodation was fine. I found the staff to be really friendly and accommodating. It's was a great place to meet other travelers. The food is delicious and definitely was filling. I recommend their trip to the tiger cave. We had a blast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 312tyler
Chris R, Owner at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review

Thanks, Kyle. It was great meeting you and we appreciate the kind words! Safe travels,

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

the place is nice and cheap but : -showers didn't work - towels were very dirty - staff were nice but they are temporary workers who are travelling and work there so they don't have much local information - dinner doesnt worth it - they couldnt inform us well about tours and we take a trip were we were suppose...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CFigueras
Chris R, Owner at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review

I appologize but I have to say we have no recollection of who you are and could not find your name in our records, so I will make my remarks general. I'm genuinely sorry you had a less than satisfactory time. We aim to make sure everyone has a great time here and hate to hear otherwise. I'm surprised about...

Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here just two nights but was seriously considering more because of the hostel. Chris the owner is an absolute legend and if your lucky might take you on his mystery tour. After having so many tours where you feel like a tourist being ushered around this trip with Chris felt really authentic and genuine. We visited a deserted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nenehbutler22
Chris R, Owner at Casa De La Iguana, responded to this review

Geeee...so glad you had a great time! It was a genuine pleasure meeting you and I am stoked you had a wonderful time as a guinea pig on the magical mystery tour. Safe travels!

Reviewed 16 August 2016

casa iguana is one of the best hostels i have ever stayed in! hammocks, good vibes, wonderful people from all types of places and countries! really wonderful bar with very friendly environment, everyone can eat together and then hangs out and play cards and drinks and you can request music if you want! everyone that works there is amazingly helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma W

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
6.4 km away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#1 of 9 in Livingston
315 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#2 of 9 in Livingston
230 reviews
1.0 km away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#8 of 9 in Livingston
38 reviews
6.1 km away
The Round House Hostel
The Round House Hostel
#2 of 13 in Livingston
102 reviews
7.7 km away
El Hotelito Perdido
El Hotelito Perdido
#1 of 17 in Rio Dulce
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Casa de la Iguana is a fabulously famous party hostel for fun and friendly happy travellers. It is set in a jungle garden with awesome wooden cabins and dormitories all unique and worth the extra Q for a good nights sleep. We may not be the cheapest in Livingston but we pride ourselves on having handmade lockers in each dorm, comfortable beds, spacious private rooms, superb wifi for Skyping and calls home, great social staff and fantastic fun most evenings, especially when a lively Happy Hour involved. There is fantastic free wifi. the best in Livingston actually, as well as an international book exchange. We also arrange tours to Belize, La Ceiba, Siete Altares, Playa Blanca and Rio Dulce and recently added, our own very exciting Tiger Cave trip and Fishing (eat what you catch). Spanish Lessons available too. We have a great reputation for our parties but it happens when we have a great bunch of people too! Come see us soon, meet other like-minded free spirits. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa De La Iguana

Address: Barrio Marco, Sanchez Dias | Izabal, Livingston, Rio Dulce 18002, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Livingston
Price Range: €33 - €33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Casa De La Iguana Hotel Livingston
Casa De La Iguana Guatemala/Livingston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa De La Iguana staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Casa De La Iguana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Come expecting to have fun and you'll find it, Spend a couple of days or longer - there's a lot to experience!”
 of 5 bubbles stuarth378, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“best owner, best tour, enjoyable nighttime, beautiful location”
 of 5 bubbles smurf229, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are in tree houses! It's great!”
 of 5 bubbles elieshan, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms may be a better bet”
 of 5 bubbles jasonw428, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Stay far away from the bar if you need to sleep early.”
 of 5 bubbles queencolleen82, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5