We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan
See the most recent reviews
Showing 39: English reviews
Atlanta
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This place is dirty and old, terribly overpriced and not worth your time. We were the only ones there so it was quite creepy, every other nearby hotel was full. Rooms are basic and dated like a 1970's roadside motel, and they reek of mildew. Location is just far enough out of town that walking is not possible or safe,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nurseladyAtlanta
Riveradellago, Manager at Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, responded to this review

It is unfortunate for all parties when a dissatisfied guest does not elevate a problem or misunderstanding. to the attention of management at the time it arises. It may be that the employee at the reception desk didn´t do everything possible to rectify a legitimate problem. But, we had no opportunity to react and we have no way to investigate...

Venice, CA
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My parents an I stayed for 3 nights in February 2012 at the Hotel San Buenaventura in Panajachelo, Guatemala. AFTER checking in, we found out the hotel policy is that as soon as you check in, none of the days you have booked are refundable. If you cancel your reservation PRIOR to checking in, you are only held accountable for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank beau286
Riveradellago, Gerente at Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, responded to this review

Hotel San Buenaventura is at the edge of a heavily wooded coffee farm on the shore of Lake Atitlan. We are immediately adjacent to the San Buenaventura nature reserve. We have private wooded hiking trails, a private swimming pool, sauna, restaurant, private beach and a playground for kids. Our restaurant draws many accolades for its meals, although it may lack...

new york, NY
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I've been sitting at the hotel's restaurant for over 20 minutes enjoying the views of the lake. However, I had to go into the kitchen to ask for a cup of coffee that it just came! I rated this hotel with a 3 based on the pool (that I really enjoyed yesterday,) the views, WiFi in the room and how...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Icventure
CR
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I spent one night in this hotel, staying in a 2 bedroom casita with friends with kids. There was plenty of space available for four people, and we probably could have fit more in the living room. The sleeping rooms are comfortable and have cable tv, but are also fairly simple--don't expect high-count sheets or Egyptian cotton towels. They were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katya008
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in a two-bedroom house with a sloping lawn that meandered down to the lake. The house was quite large -- two bedrooms, two bathrooms, full kitchen, dining area, and a step down into a full livingroom with pull-out sofa and fireplace. Good internet and cable TV. As soon as we checked in, around noon, we arranged through reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CISWanderer
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife and I shared one of the two houses (kind of like side-by-side townhouses with a Guatemalan twist) with another couple over the New Year holiday. We found it to be perfect for what we needed - comfortable and safe. The house had two full bedrooms, each with own bath, a living room with fireplace (it gets quite cool...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RLFloyd
Redwood City, California
Reviewed 8 September 2011

If you don't require a 5-star experience, this place can offer a reasonably good experience for the price. In this area, you can spend a lot on a nice place or go dirt-cheap and fearing for your safety. Overall, our stay at this hotel was fine. But the manager/owner did rip us off when it came time to check out,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JonK1967
San Francisco
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stayed at the Hotel San Buenaventura for 4 nights in August. I called and got a rate of $50 for a room including breakfast which was better than internet rates that I saw. The hotel is beautiful with simple rooms with Guatemalan rugs, blankets, etc., and lovely well-kept grounds, a pool, hot tub, children's playground and views of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
Charlotte
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We were recommended this place by locals who had stayed multiple times here and raved about it. They were very disappointed in how much it's changed this time. We got a 2 BR suite since there were 4 of us. It had 1 room with 2 double beds and 1 room with 2 single beds. 2 full baths which had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nestlesmama
Riveradellago, Owner at Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, responded to this review

Unfortunately, the arrival of this guest was handled by a new employee at our reception desk who put the guest in a unit without arranging a maintenance inspection beforehand. The complaint about the conditions was directed to reception, but the same employee failed to notify the management when the refrigerator couldn´t be immediately repaired. Certainly if the guest had insisted...

Santa Barbara, California
Reviewed 8 March 2011

when you get a gut feeling like something is not right.... trust it when you think something is too good to be true....it is when someone speaks to you rudely......you can expect the same treatment the next time they speak to you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valuetraveler805
Riveradellago, Owner at Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan, responded to this review

It is difficult to respond to bad reviews that lack specific substance. However, management at our hotel has been trained to be aware of guest-employee relations and to do it´s best to correct any lack of courtesy. We are not aware of any complaint made in this case.

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panajachel hotels
1.3 km away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#5 of 30 in Panajachel
210 reviews
1.1 km away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
356 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
177 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Playa Linda
Hotel Playa Linda
#16 of 30 in Panajachel
70 reviews
1.4 km away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 30 in Panajachel
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan

Address: Finca San Buenaventura, Panajachel 07010, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Panajachel
Price Range: €72 - €90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Buenaventura De Atitlan Panajachel, Guatemala - Lake Atitlan
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Panajachel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel San Buenaventura de Atitlan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles the_halletts, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay