We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5 Avenida 3 a Calle Zona 1 5-19, Guatemala City 01010 Guatemala
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Orbitz.comUS$16
TravelocityUS$16
CheapTicketsUS$16
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#23 of 101 Speciality lodging in Guatemala City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Full view
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Concierge
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Seating area
Bottled water
Iron
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
59Somewhat walkable
Grade: 59 out of 100
33Restaurantswithin 1 km
3Attractionswithin 1 km
12Reviews4Q+A0Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Katy A wrote a review Jul 2019
Fisterra, Spain180 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
Where to start? Just after the free cancellation period had ended, they raised the price without any explanation whatsoever. When asked they basically said "Booking did it, pay or leave." Our "room" was a windowless closet full of cob webs off the smoking and trash area and smelled the part. The bathroom was right next to our room and with the walls and doors being thin as they are, I literally woke up to the sound of somebody doing his big business at 5:15 am. Bathroom was tiny (I couldn't turn around without having to open the door) and filthy with nowhere to hang stuff. I guess they expect you to park your clean underwear on the toilet that's covered in hair? Cigarette butts all over the floor in the yard, cockroaches as well. You don't get a key for the front door, so you have to ring the door bell to be let in, just to be greeted with an annoyed face for disturbing the owners. Was refused a receipt I asked for several times for having paid a price I hadn't agreed on paying by the time of booking. Obviously scared of a bad review or to avoid having to pay commission to booking.com, they tried to cancel my booking after I had checked out. If you browse through the reviews on booking.com you will see I wasn't the first one they tried this with. I bet they would have many more bad reviews there if their standard procedures didn't include cancelling reservations through booking for "no-show" after the guest checked out, making it impossible to leave a review. Horrible place, NEVER again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
deanotraveler wrote a review Aug 2018
Mountain View, Hawaii49 contributions13 helpful votes
The staff is very friendly. The bed was clean but not really comfy. We felt relatively safe. They have lockers, hot showers and plenty of bathrooms. My one issues is they don’t enforce rules. There were people smoking even though the signs say no smoking. There was partying until am and people talking loudly at 3am in our room. Price is good but don’t expect much sleep
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Rociobnb, Director de Recepción at Hostal Rocio B&B
Responded 4 Nov 2018
Lamentamos mucho su inconformidad, existe un área de fumadores. Por tal motivo quizás eso le afecto. Hacemos lo posible por mejorar a diario. Bendiciones.
Read more
João T wrote a review Apr 2018
Carnaxide, Portugal2 contributions
We were very well received by the staff and everyone in the Hostal was very nice! The place is very nicely kept, very clean and the breakfast is wonderful! I recommend this place because is a very good deal for the money and very close to center, walking distance 5min! Gracias Hostal Rocio 👍
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Rociobnb, Propietario at Hostal Rocio B&B
Responded 15 Apr 2018
Gracias por alojarte y tomar tu tiempo en comentar. Te esperamos muy pronto!!!!
Read more
GerardoRivera wrote a review Apr 2018
San Luis Potosi, Mexico4 contributions3 helpful votes
Very good central location, good breakfast, personalized attention. I will be back! Very good!!! I was pleased with the attention, a few blocks from the national palace and central park more sotre and restaunts.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Rociobnb, Director de Recepción at Hostal Rocio B&B
Responded 3 Apr 2018
Thanks for your coments my friend!!
Read more
cellofool wrote a review Dec 2017
usa473 contributions85 helpful votes
So many bathrooms and most are set up in an unworkable manner. The toilet is so close to the door that knees touch the door. There is literally no room to turn around and grab the TP on the back of the toilet tank. There is NO sink in that bano to wash hands after using the toilet. There is barely room to climb over the toilet and into the shower. In another bathroom the light for the room is INSIDE the shower stall which is located at the far end of the room. Getting in or out of the shower means you have to shimmy past the toilet with about 6 inches of navigating space. Showers need more frequent cleaning as there was hair and toenails visible. Pillows are hard-could they be filled with sawdust? Kitchen available for your use. Tipico restaurant around undo the corner. Grocery 3-4 blocks away. Firm bed. Beautiful outside of the building painted golden yellow and very welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Rociobnb, Director de Recepción at Hostal Rocio B&B
Responded 3 Apr 2018
Sorry with great regret we do not have bathrooms for people who measure almost two meters, we always try to give the best to our guests and has been the only person who has bothered our bathroom. Upon leaving that bathroom (which is the smallest and use of respuestos) is with the sink to wash their hands to get out of there. We always offer the largest and most complete bathrooms and that which you use is in case of contingency. You even measured the inches of separation? The bathrooms are cleaned every day with a lot of insistence maybe you enter the bathroom before the daily cleaning 11 am. For our price you will not get accommodation that offers all this service. We appreciate your understanding.
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$14 - US$21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
GuatemalaGuatemala DepartmentGuatemala City
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hostal Rocio B&B
Which popular attractions are close to Hostal Rocio B&B?
Nearby attractions include Catedral Metropolitana (0.9 km), Mercado Central (1.0 km), and Pasaje Tatuana (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hostal Rocio B&B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, airport transportation, and kids activities.
Is parking available at Hostal Rocio B&B?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hostal Rocio B&B?
Conveniently located restaurants include La cocina de la Señora Pu, El Adobe, and La Esquina Jazz Cafe.
Does Hostal Rocio B&B have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hostal Rocio B&B offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Hostal Rocio B&B?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hostal Rocio B&B?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Hostal Rocio B&B?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Palacio Nacional (3.7 km).