We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mayan Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mayan Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 154: English reviews
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for one night after visiting the market. It was a nice reprieve from the hustle and bustle of the market. Room was nice with a wood burning fireplace,it was clean and very comfortable. It was next to market so very convenient to come back and drop of our goods and then go back out. Food was good.

Helpful?
Thank oceana38
Arlington, VA
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is very rustic, and that makes sense given the remote location. Rooms were clean, food was good, and staff was very helpful. Enjoyed the wood fire in the evening. This is probably the best hotel in Chichi.

Helpful?
Thank walkeytalkey
Mark R, Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Walkeytalkey: Thank you very much for staying with us. Always is good to hear that you enjoyed the fireplace and your stay here in Chichicastenango. Please come back again! More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a very unique place with old furniture and original interior. We loved staying there. Be careful it gets a bit cold at night. But the hotel is trying to accommodate its guests by providing super warm blankets and firewood for making fire at your room. It was a romantic atmosphere and we liked it very much. Also, this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ariadna S
Mark R, Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ariadna S Thank you very much for your comment and for staying with us. I am glad that you enjoyed a romantic atmosphere during your stay. We really hope to see you again! More 

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Just steps from the famous market, the Mayan Inn offers a tranquil oasis. The outdoor, courtyard-style public areas are secluded, well furnished and beautifully landscaped. You'll spend time there because that's where the wifi is (you'll only get wifi in your room if you happen to be placed near a router), but that's fine because the courtyards are a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank From_Delaware
Mark R, Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the outdoors and indoors of the hotel. We hope you will stay with us again soon! More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Had a very good time here. The negatives are the extremely slow hot water build up and pressure. Water never gets hot. Room only has a fireplace to heat up the room which is not enough. Otherwise a very nice hotel. Oh and beware of barking dogs at all hours of the night.

Helpful?
Thank 56003Richard
Mark R, Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Richard, thank you for comment and feedback. Our hotel Museum preserves its original architecture and as part of that effort still preserves the original boilers that supply the hot water, because of this, it takes a few minutes to get warm. However I am glad that you liked the hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2016

The hotel is very typical Guatemalan hotel. There is a courtyard in the center with Tucan and parrots. It is very close to the famous market. Great for shopping and if you have to drop off your purchases every now and then, it is close enough to do so. There were barking dogs through out the night and roosters which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kimi D
Mark R, Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kimi , Thank you very much for your comment. I am glad that you enjoyed the Guacayamas and the parrots. I also hope you had a great shopping and the market. I am sorry about barking dogs and rooster at night , is difficult for us to control nature sounds. Thank you for choosing us. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel was good as well as service. The location was very good. I recommend pick a room near the market because it's noisy. I was disappointed because there were only a bath (no shower, it was very short the shower head)

Helpful?
Thank Guy A
Mark R, Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guy, Thank you for your comment and recommendation. I am sorry if you felt the shower head was too short for you. If you come again, we can give another room with the tallest shower head possible, since all the rooms are different. We look forward to seeing you again. More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel is great. Service was excellent. The hotel manager is nice and helping a lot. We booked a family suite but it was on the street which can be a little noisy in the market time. We were offered other rooms. Rooms are very nice. There is a fire place in each room and they provide dry wood. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ran A
Mark R, Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ran, thank you for your thorough and kind review.. We love to please guests like you and your family. We are happy to hear you that you enjoyed the room, the fireplace , the bar and food. We hope to see you next time!. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Nice grounds, nice people working there but that's about it. The luxury ends at the door to your room which will have tiny hard beds, nasty blankets and scratchy sheets. There are bathrooms in prisons that you will like better. The town is really awful. Lots of auto and truck pollution, filthy streets filled with dog poop and trash that... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roscaoo
Mark R, Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review

Dear Roscao, Thank you for your comment. I am really sorry that you didn’t receive what you expected. However Chichicastenango has the biggest and the most colorful market in Central America, and the second biggest in Latin America. Also is the place where the Popol Vuh was originally found and the mysticism of Mayan world still occurs. Could you please... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

The Hotel Mayan Inn in Chichicastenango was the perfect place to stay to experience Market Day! We arrived Wednesday afternoon before Thursday's Market Day & had enough time to get settled in & have a couple cocktails at the bar mixed up by Pedro, our very pleasant bartender. Our rooms were quite spacious complete with 2 twin beds, 2 chairs... More 

Helpful?
Thank golfinggirl802
Mark R, Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us such a beautiful review and for your recommendation. I am pleased that you tried some of Pedro’s famous cocktails and also that you enjoyed the room, fireplace, breakfast, our staff and as you said the location is one of our greatest advantages. Thank once again for choosing Mayan Inn... More 

189 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (57)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichicastenango
23.4 km away
Porta Hotel Del Lago
Porta Hotel Del Lago
#7 of 30 in Panajachel
356 reviews
22.3 km away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 30 in Panajachel
675 reviews
22.9 km away
Hotel Regis Panajachel
Hotel Regis Panajachel
#4 of 30 in Panajachel
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 km away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
604 reviews
23.1 km away
Posada de los Volcanes
Posada de los Volcanes
#3 of 30 in Panajachel
255 reviews
23.1 km away
Jardines del Lago
Jardines del Lago
#8 of 30 in Panajachel
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mayan Inn opened its doors back in 1932, it was designed from the beginning to be a hotel museum by it's founder Mr. Alfred S. Clark, who patiently started this magnificent collection of Spanish colonial antiques collecting every door, table, chair, bed, chest, trunk, etc. That are today part of the decorations of this magnificent hotel. The Mayan Inn's private collection of paintings are priceless with original master pieces from Humberto Garavito, Alfredo Galvez, Antonio Tejeda, Carmen Pettersen, among others. The hotel is located in the heart of Chichicastenango with in walking distance of the market, church and cemetery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mayan Inn

Address: 3a Avenida 8a Calle 1-91 Diagonal Santo Tomas, Chichicastenango 01013, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > El Quiche Department > Chichicastenango
Price Range: €88 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mayan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Hotel Chichicastenango
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mayan Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mayan Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“fireplace, original, old.”
 of 5 bubbles 120ariadnas, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As far away from the alley as possible to avoid street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles blndgenie, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in Rm #6 at the back on the gr fl. It was fairly quiet, as rooms go in busy Guatemalan towns.”
 of 5 bubbles MissLucyHoneychurch, 8 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Request room alway from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles barbaraa39, 7 Feb 2016 | Read review
“while our room had a view of activity in the street, it was likely noisier than rooms in the back of the inn.”
 of 5 bubbles jandcsmdb, 28 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay