We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge

Save
Share
Mile 36 Hummingbird Highway, Belmopan Belize
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$154
View Deal
Expedia.com
Snaptravel
Hotels.comUS$154
TravelocityUS$154
Orbitz.comUS$154
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1449)
Room & Suite (494)
Videos (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 03/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge
Updated 03/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Belmopan
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2020 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
A Pristine Paradise in the Mayan Heartland. From the moment you step out of our vans or check in at the front desk, you are guided seamlessly through the full jungle lodge experience. From beautiful accommodations to meals, entertainment, cultural immersion, guided tours and more, there is no lovelier way to relax and escape from the modern world. Our award-winning resort features 31 spacious rooms, complete with handcrafted wooden furnishings, comforting earthy colors and sophisticated contemporary touches. Decked out with espresso machines and soaking pools, air conditioning and an unplugged environment, it's impossible to find a more refined or relaxing atmosphere. Offering amenities such as in-room massages and riverside dinners to sprawling citrus orchards and our mountain gazebo, we treat you to an immersive and soul-satisfying experience that leaves you refreshed, revitalized and ready to face your next adventure. When you stay here, you're part of that too.
Read more
Room & Suite (494)494
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Highchairs available
Couples massage
Parking
Public wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Horseback riding
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1,005Reviews87Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 913
  • 81
  • 10
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kurtis b wrote a review Today
4 contributions
Stayeg here in 2018 and was absolutely the most amazing place. Staff is super helpful views are stunning, food is incredible. They local source all the food you eat. Most of your guides work for themselves and you truly get to experience the culture at its best. Every penny is well worth this trip.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Catalina Rose wrote a review 11 Jan
3 contributions
We had a WONDERFUL experience while at Sleeping Giant. The grounds are absolutely beautiful with amazing hikes and views. We went out on the kayaks and it was so stunning and relaxing. The staff is so sweet and accommodating. Jessica, Edgar, and Richard were in the restaurant every time we went. They work so hard and are always smiling and making sure you are enjoying yourselves. They have knowledge of what the best sites to see are and what to do. Everyone on the property was so helpful! It was the perfect peaceful, relaxing and enjoyable ending to our honeymoon! 100% recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We stayed in the Penthouse. Unbelievable views, wonderful little day pool, could have spent the...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Belize Collection, Other at Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted that you had a wonderful vacation and were treated to some of the warm hospitality that is Belize. We are blessed with amazing staff who believe that guest satisfaction is of the highest priority. Looking forward to welcoming you back with us again.
Read more
Erica wrote a review 8 Jan
1 contribution
We stayed in the Mountain View rooms for 3 nights in early December 2020. The food was absolutely amazing! The staff members were nice and attentive to our every need (especially Doris at the front desk)! The rooms are spacious and clean; and the view was beautiful. I'll definitely be visiting this spot again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Belize Collection, Other at Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted that you had a wonderful vacation and were treated to some of the warm hospitality that is Belize. We are blessed with amazing staff who believe that guest satisfaction is of the highest priority. Looking forward to welcoming you back with us again.
Read more
Jay wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
After reading the reviews of the lodge, I had high expectations of the lodge; however, after my experience there, I was very disappointed. The following were some of my experiences at the lodge. 1. Prior to visiting the lodge, the reservation agent had said that tour can be booked on site upon arrival. However, upon arrival, the receptionist said that tours must be booked a day in advance. Fortunately, the receptionist managed to schedule a tour for us and asked for us to wait 30 minutes. We waited for more than an hour, but the tour was still not ready. 2. After booking our stay, the reservation agent had asked me to download “The Belize Collection” app, which contains the prices of tours and menus. While making payment for the tour, the receptionist said that the price of the tour on the app was different (higher) from his price list. 3. While visiting the restaurant, the waitress said that the menu on the mobile app was not applicable due to the closure (pandemic) even though the reservation agent had directed me to check the menu for food options prior to my booking. I had already thought of the food options that I would like to try, but sadly the menu was not applicable. While I understand that options may be limited, the food prices were significantly higher compared to the food prices on the app for the options that were available. While the waitress took orders, a physical menu was not available either to review for options and prices. The food options and prices were told to us verbally. During the meal, the waitress was not attentive enough. After the meal, I requested for the bill and noticed that the price of a food was charged higher than the amount the waitress told us verbally. Nevertheless, I signed the bill for payment upon check-out. While checking out and making payment for the bill, I noticed the bills were higher. I took a closer look and noted that an additional resort fee was added. 4. The faucet and blower dryer in the room were not working properly. 5. The bathrooms did not have any curtain, and the curtains in the room were smaller than the window; hence, they could not completely cover the windows for privacy. 6. There is no Wifi signal in the rooms; they are available at the lobby and restaurant. So, if you are looking for a getaway, it would be fine. Overall, the service was fair, as there seem to be a lack of communication among staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Belize Collection, Other at Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Hi jaycC8993TF, We strive to make sure every guest experience is a great one, so I am terribly sorry to hear that the service level was just fair when you stayed with us. We appreciate your feedback. I think your points are valid and they are currently being addressed. I would sincerely appreciate an opportunity to discuss your stay, and let you know what we are doing to improve. I want to make this right for you, so if you would like provide your contact info I would be happy to reach out. Also, feel free to give me a call or email. Looking forward to hearing from you. Sheheen Awe Director of Sales & Marketing +1(888) 822-2448 / 822-3851 Sheheen@thebelizecollection.com
Read more
Katherine D wrote a review Dec 2020
Cambridge, Massachusetts99 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
We were here for 3 nights the week of Thanksgiving. We felt 100% safe by all the precautions taken by both Belize and Sleeping Giant. Social distancing is done at their open air restaurant, and natural social distancing because their property is so spread out anyways. BIRD WATCHING Early morning bird watching with Abel was an absolute highlight of our time there. We saw 2 types of toucans, parrots, and a bunch of beautifully colored tropical birds. We actually just walked around the property itself and didn't have to go to a 2nd destination at all. Why do I even need Abel you ask? He brings the equipment - binoculars + a great telescope to look through, and his knowledge is unparalleled. He could recognize birds by their calls, and was great at finding them in the trees and sighting them with the telescope. This was an amazing tour! We got some great pictures using our iphones and putting them up to the telescope too. LEAF CUTTER ANTS/ ROPE BRIDGE Another highlight - if you to bridge #2 take the dotted green line (through the jungle). You should come across some leaf cutter ants marching across some logs! This was the coolest thing to see in action. Bridge #2 is absolutely stunning and a great picture spot. It took us maybe 15 min to walk there. ROOM AND FOOD Our room was very spacious, more than I was expecting. The pictures were definitely accurate from what you see online. We loved being able to take breaks during a mid-day rainstorm in our a/c room. Your room has a big tank of water hidden in a closet, which is great. Coffee is in the room too (honestly wasn't the best, but that's ok considering you are in the jungle!) Food was very good, the menu changed everyday we were there. One thing I would have improved was putting prices next to menu items. Typically our breakfast was around $10pp, lunch was $15-20, and dinner was $35-45. Food was great, we never had a bad dish. PROPERTY One thing I would have liked to see is a map of the property layout. Because there is so much beautiful gardening and plants, it can be a little confusing walking around. They have a large map with hiking trails, but it would be great to have a property map that shows the major buildings. We had a great time, felt very safe, and wouldn't hesitate to return!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Belize Collection, Sales at Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge
Responded 7 Dec 2020
Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted that you had a wonderful vacation and were treated to some of the warm hospitality that is Belize. We are blessed with amazing staff who believe that guest satisfaction is of the highest priority. Looking forward to welcoming you back with us again.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$173 - US$296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
BelizeCayoBelmopan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Crystal Cave (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Sleeping Giant Rainforest Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.