We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Mac Rae

Visit hotel website
Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (3)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The 4th generation Mac Rae family invites you to our centrally located beachfront hotel. Our hotel features panoramic ocean view rooms, continental breakfast, an open-air courtyard, complimentary beach towels and DVDs, after check-out shower facilities and luggage storage. All rooms are non-smoking and offer air conditioning, wireless internet, cable TV/DVD, and hair dryers. Come and enjoy our relaxing, quaint Mediterranean atmosphere right on the beach, in the very heart of Avalon.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quaint
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Location
Full view
96Great for walkers
Grade: 96 out of 100
45Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
12Attractionswithin 0.5 km
321Reviews
93Photos
6Q+A
98Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 114
  • 128
  • 45
  • 16
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Location is perfect. a lot of restaurants around. Beautiful ocean view. checked in was great. The only problem was that housekeeper have a bad service to clean room and do not fix bed properly. They need to put fresh bread and coffee on continental breakfast.
Read more
A family vacation for 7 people for 3 days, we enjoyed staying close to the main strip, with easy access to all shops and entertainment. Really liked the outdoor patio next to our rooms. The only criticism I have is the lame “continental breakfast”. But wonderful breakfast
Read more
We checked in right away no issues which was great. Ocean view room was a bit small. Complimentary breakfast was a good way to start your day! Overall I would definitely book a room with Mac Rae again!
Read more
Response from HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae
Responded 15 Nov 2018
Our family hotel was built by my great-grandfather in 1920. The rooms are typical of the island from that time period and are smaller than modern hotel rooms. I am glad that your breakfast was a good start to your day. Please contact us once again for your next visit to Avalon. Karen Biery 4th generation "Mac Rae" President/GM
Read more
Great location on the boardwalk. Restaurants, stores, beach and the ocean are just a few steps away. The king size room with ocean view is excellent. Clean and also has a nice open area to sit and visit and enjoy your morning coffee or even a glass of wine in the evening.
Read more
Response from HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae
Responded 15 Nov 2018
Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and your ocean view room. Come see us again soon. Karen Biery 4th generation "Mac Rae" President/GM
Read more
We stayed at the Mac Rae over the weekend - the room was barely big enough for the bed and the bathroom was like a small closet (the hot water never got hot). It looked like they did a bad paint job in the 70's and nothing else since. Definitely nothing like the photos. Staff
Read more
Response from HotelMacRae, General Manager at Hotel Mac Rae
Responded 15 Nov 2018
Our rooms are exactly like the photos on our website. We do have hot water and have painted the rooms numerous times since the 70s. Don't be silly. Thank you for complimenting my staff. They do a great job. Karen Biery 4th generation "Mac Rae" President/GM
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementHotel Mac Rae
Room 205 with view of Casino
Shower. Disgusting mold and rust
Disgusting little hairs all around - shower sink bed Filthy place
Photo provided by managementHotel Mac Rae
Ocean View Room
Bed and nightstand in hotel room
PreviousNext
12345
I am sorry, but we do not have an elevator.
0 votes
Show all answers
Does this hotel have a pool?
We are located directly on the beach. Our building covers our entire property so we do not have a pool.
0 votes
Show all answers
We can give you your 10% birthday discount on the phone or we can give you a refund for your discount upon arrival if you book your reservation online.
0 votes
Our availability changes quickly so it is best for you to call us toll free at 1-800-698-2266 for check our website directly or through TripAdvisor for the most current availability. Thank you.
0 votes
Show all answers
Thank you for your questions and we look forward to your visit in May. We serve our continental breakfast from 7:00 to 10:00 am to get your day started. We do not have coffee pots in the guest rooms, but we are located in the center of town and close to all restaurants. Please let us know if you have any further questions.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"ask for ocean view"
"Rooms with ocean view are recommended"
"Next time, we'd definitely opt for the ocean view rooms."
"The room on the bayfront has boardwalk bustling and voices in the evening, which is part of the charm if you like to people watch."
"Ocean-view rooms have more noise, than interior rooms. But we slept just fine in both."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$106 - US$256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mac rae hotelmac rae avalon
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaCatalina IslandAvalon
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing