We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel St. Lauren

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Hotel St. Lauren
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

337 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Lauren
See the most recent reviews
Showing 334: English reviews
San Clemente, California
Reviewed 28 August 2016

The photos on the website, in my opinion don't represent the condition of this hotel. I do understand it's an historical building. Although we found it to in need a very good cleaning and in need of a paint job and general cosmetic repairs. The elevator had flickering fluorescent lighting that need changing and and was incredibly dirty. When you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leslie195
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our property. We make every effort to keep the old charm and upgrade facility as we can. Comment like this only help us to improve and we hope to make a better impression on your next visit.

Palos Verdes Estates, California
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Room 304 was way too small for the pre-paid "roll-away" to add two kids. There was no walking path when the desk chair was at the desk, so we lifted it to the space between the roll-away and the unused connecting door. We wanted to push the roll-away up against the connecting door, but the bed was too wide. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LivPurple
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Agree with 4 people that room can get a little tight. Will look into comment on bathroom tile. If you need a bit more space maybe try the family room.

San Jose, California
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The hotel is relatively old, so it was basic and functional. The room was decent size, the bed was not terribly uncomfortable, and the shower water pressure was weak. I did not come to the hotel with high expectations, but rather booked it as it was the only hotel (nearby) available. Overall, it served its purpose well, and we just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarJimz
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are in a severe drought therefore have restricted heads on the showers that provide lower pressure thus saving water. When we are busy sometimes it is impossible to get rooms ready before 3 as much as we would like to. Glad you enjoyed the view and hope to see you again.

Reviewed 19 August 2016

Stayed in a king bed, no-view room. After reading tips here, asked for a higher floor, got one, near the elevator, which was handy. It was indeed quieter up higher. First, the pros, which I read in the reviews here, and based on which I booked a room: -great location: close to town, but up the hill, so quieter than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Christine, Thank you for taking time to review our property. Very happy you found the staff friendly and helpful!! Most hotels are older construction therefore smaller room size. Sorry about hallways open doors first thing in morning and it has been warm lately. Will look up your room and check into that wall. We will look into the tile and...

Corona, California
Reviewed 16 August 2016

loved our stay there.. we had the room with king and sofa sleeper and both were comfortable.. we asked for more pillows and they brought them up to us.. Ac worked great too.. it was very pricey but its summer rates I guess.. but loved our stay.. oh and my daughter left her phone charger in the room and went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Therese M
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Therese, Thanks for the kind words and glad we were able to get charger back to your daughter. Pleased staff was able to meet your needs

Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Good place to stay. Never any complaints.We like to hang out here, always a good place to meet family. The rooms are clean last, staff is professional, helpful, and courteous. I travel a lot for busines . Took a vacation here last year, dont regret it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomE1050ZI
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words especially regarding the staff. We look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Reviewed 8 August 2016

This was a great place to stay with a rooftop patio where the customers can look over the town and enjoy the sun going down. The employees there were very helpful in assisting with recommendations and directions. I liked it because it was up the street a bit away from all the hustle of the main street so it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Rachel, Thanks for staying with us. I am pleased to hear the staff was helpful and will pass that on. We like the location also. See you on your next visit.

Temecula, California
Reviewed 8 August 2016

The gals at the front desk in the am were not the most friendly but ok. Mark in the afternoon was a delight. The rooms are very basic, not modern but beds were comfortable. It is nice that you can see it from downtown, easy to find. Near Vons grocery store so you can pick up waters, snacks etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Channin H
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Channin, Thanks so much for the compliments. We hope you will come see us again

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 29 July 2016

This nicely renovated Victorian is a good place to stay while visiting the island. The employees were very nice. It's not right on the strip but it's literally a two minute walk down hill to the beach/main drag. Our room was decent enough, clean, and for what we needed, it fit the bill. HOWEVER, the one complaint I have is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank qbanoz
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased you thought the staff was nice. Please contact me at 310-510-2299 and inform/refresh my recollection of this event. Would like to earn a return visit from you.

Snohomish, Washington
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Horrible!!Ants!!! When we arrived on the Island we could see the pink hotel from the dock. An easy walk up the hill led to the cute older hotel. The lobby was nicely remodeled and the receptionist was friendly. When we arrived at the room it was dated and not nearly as nice as the lobby. We put that aside and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MTgirl5517
stlaurenmanagement, General Manager at Hotel St. Lauren, responded to this review

We apologize for this experience. It was unusually hot during this week and front desk personnel did what she was supposed to do. I actually had a few at my house which I never have. We did refund and it would be our hope that you might give us another try under better circumstances.

122 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
460 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Catalina Island
0.3 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Casa Mariquita Hotel
Casa Mariquita Hotel
#11 of 20 in Avalon
197 reviews
0.2 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
566 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Catalina
Hotel Catalina
#12 of 20 in Avalon
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel St. Lauren L.L.C., in Avalon, California, is one of Catalina Islands' finest romantic hotels. The hotel features 42 luxurious guest rooms overlooking Avalon Bay, CA. Some accommodations include a private balcony or a Whirlpool tub and all rooms are decorated elegantly with rosewood furniture. The hotel serves complimentary coffee each morning.This Catalina Island hotel is close to swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, parasailing, fishing and kayaking. Rent your own boat and explore Avalon bay or rent a rod and reel for ocean fishing right off the Green Pier. Our Avalon vacation packages feature lodging combined with boating, helicopter rides, or tours of Santa Catalina Island. Our specials page offers some great value discounts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St. Lauren

Address: 231 Beacon St., P.O. Box 2166, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range: €100 - €209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel St. Lauren 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel St. Lauren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Lauren Catalina Island, CA - Avalon
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel St. Lauren staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Corona del Mar, California
over a year ago
Fresno, California
over a year ago
Fresno, California
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel St. Lauren staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms have view but receive a lot of noise from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“2nd & 5th floor. No view, wasn't there to look out windows. No noise. Several patios to sit for views. Short walk to shops & food.”
 of 5 bubbles tinakmendoza, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor ocean view is great!”
 of 5 bubbles 443sidneyk, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you stay on the 6th floor you are on the same floor as the patio with a great view of the island.”
  • 6th floor patio
 of 5 bubbles AquaAng, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose an upper floor (5 or 6) if possible.”
  • loose bathroom hook
  • dirty wall-mount A/C unit with cracking pieces
  • loose part on shower fixture
  • room door danage (interior)
 of 5 bubbles D4105PCchristined, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay