We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

Hamilton Cove Villas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hamilton Cove Villas
See the most recent reviews
Showing 141: English reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This review is super late, but, I'm getting things ready for our stay this year and could not go on without reviewing our stay last year. First off, as always and likely as long as we are going to the island, and I don't foresee us stopping anytime soon (God willing), we rented from Catalina Island Vacation Rentals. And why...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank msbrwnn
Orange County, CA
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We shared a 3 bedroom 3 bathroom condo with 2 other couples. The view was amazing and the accommodations were excellent! My only regret was all of the stairs. There are no elevators and it was approximately 70 stair steps to our condo. Just keep that in mind. Some condos have entrances straight from the road, but the vast majority...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nanawuf
chicago
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed it. The condo (though dated in the kitchen) was bright, sunny and clean. It suited our needs overlooking the water and a great view of the cove. Saw dolphins from our patio and enjoyed the fireplace and star gazing at night. We did make use of the pool and hottub which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank honestmom
San Francisco
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

We had a one bedroom condo with a dirty kitchenette. The outdoor deck was covered in bird droppings, and the floor was crusty with dirt. The bed had hair in it and the bathrooms were gross. The condo came with a golf cart for our stay, which was fun. But the rest of the condo was awful, the worst hotel/condo...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank John Paul b
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking the time to submitt a review for your recent stay. We apologize for the issues you had with the cleanliness of you Villa. This certainly is not the standard for our properties. Please come back and see is and if at any point you have an issues with your Villa please call asap and we...

Saugus, California
Reviewed 26 November 2012

From the outside, the Hamilton Cove Villas are stunning and really beautiful. You can't get a better ocean view. Our family of 3 rented room 2-33, not sure what the previous "reviewer" was looking at, but it was awful, awful, awful! We walked in to a room with trash on the coffee table, the couch was disgusting and dirty, the...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Donna015
CIVR, Manager at Hamilton Cove Villas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your response. I am sorry to hear about the issues you had with your villa. This is not to the level of cleaniness that we strive to provide. If for any reason you have a issue with the cleaniness of you Villa call us asap and we will do our best to quickly address. I have...

Delafield, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I can't wait to come back and stay at Hamilton Cove again. Our villa 2-33 was absolutely fantastic. My experience with CIVR (rental agency) from beginning to end was very pleasant and easy. We found and booked the place online, Chay emailed us the documents that needed to be signed and sent back, and when we showed up, we picked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seaLoves
Carlsbad, California
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Checked in to our room and found it filthy. Yellow stains on the couch ETC. Luckily a friendly man Denny upgraded us (free of charge) to the finest suite. FANTASTIC place! Individual rooms, free wifi, TV's, movie collection, free golf cart. We will def be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyTartol
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Yes it's expensive. Yes you have to start the laundry, throw out the trash yourself and clean up a bit on check out day. Yes you have to climb numerous stairs to get anywhere. But you are on a cliff, with a private beach, pool, fitness center and clubhouse. You go to sleep at night with the door open to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Ingrid P
Granite Bay, California
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Someone referred to Catalina Island as the "best kept secret that everyone knows about" and that sums it up. An hour boat ride takes you away from the city and into this lost in time paradise where golf carts rule the road. My daughter said it reminded her of an adult Toon Town. If you have been to Avalon/Catalina before...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Liadsor
San Marcos, CA
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Each unit is unique in this Complex. This is what our experiences were with this particular unit... We booked this 1 bedroom, 2-story Unit for 3 nights in August and the weather could not have been better for our stay! While the units don't have A/C, the ocean breeze and ceiling fans kept the unit cool during our big California...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SoCalStace

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avalon hotels
0.2 km away
Pavilion Hotel
Pavilion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Avalon
1,029 reviews
0.1 km away
The Avalon Hotel
The Avalon Hotel
#1 of 20 in Avalon
575 reviews
0.1 km away
Portofino Hotel
Portofino Hotel
#6 of 20 in Avalon
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#8 of 20 in Avalon
229 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#9 of 20 in Avalon
454 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Atwater
Hotel Atwater
#7 of 20 in Avalon
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Catalina Island Vacation Rentals offers a wide selection of vacation lodging on Catalina Island with nearly 200 privately owned properties, ranging from our beautiful villas at Hamilton Cove to quaint cottages, houses and condos in the charming resort village of Avalon, California. CIVR now offer two beautiful casas in Two Harbors, located on Catalina’s remote West End. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hamilton Cove Villas

Address: 119 Sumner Avenue, Suite B, Avalon, Catalina Island, CA
Region: United States > California > Catalina Island > Avalon
Price Range: €142 - €946 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Hamilton Cove Avalon
Hamilton Cove Hotel Avalon
Hamilton Cove Villas Catalina Island, CA - Avalon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hamilton Cove Villas staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Pensacola, Florida
Santa Ana, California
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hamilton Cove Villas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“make sure it comes with a golfcart”
 of 5 bubbles kidtras, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Every room has a view. Make sure you get a golf cart.”
 of 5 bubbles or_current_resident, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“2-28 is up high with a great view. 52 steps to that room does not have a fireplace like others did”
 of 5 bubbles 859annj, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Unit 17-84 is great for families”
 of 5 bubbles NancyG123, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Never stay in unit 10-65, you will be so disappointed. :(”
  • Guest bathroom mat
  • Master sheets
  • Master bath mold
  • Master pillow case
 of 5 bubbles alexe718, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5