We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Capital Hilton

PricelineUS$228*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$327*
US$228*
Great Deal
US$234*
US$234*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
Panoramas (22)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,882 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,534: English reviews
Start your review of Capital Hilton
 Click to rate
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed with my wife and 2 family members over the easter holiday weekend this month. Although I was thrilled with the location, the rooms were a little "dated" and I have an on-going financial dispute with the hotel. I was charged over $60 for Valet Parking, which would have been expected, had I parked a car with the Capital...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandon Y
Branchburg, New Jersey
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Our stay at the Capital Hilton was absolutely perfect. Every request or question we had was acknowledged quickly and efficiently. From the time we checked in until we checked out, we never experienced a single unpleasant moment. The staff was welcoming, friendly, cheerful, and very helpful. Our room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The well-functioning thermostat allowed us to control...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LiJo4145
About Hotel's Favourite Review
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear LiJo4145, Thank You for staying with us and for taking a moment to provide feedback. I'm thrilled to hear you had such a pleasant stay. Our team here at The Capital Hilton is dedicated to making our guest feel welcomed as well as providing exceptional customer service at all times. I'm delighted they left a lasting impression on you....

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed two nights on business trip. Location near other hotels where conferences were being held and proximity to subway were the positive highlights. On the downside, it was the second time I got a room that had some "stale" smell to it, probably because carpet and wallpapers are just plain old. Water pressure in the shower was a joke... water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobTraveler10
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear BobTraveler10, Thank You for taking a moment to share with me your experience from your recent stay. I sincerely apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve. Please be confident that I will follow-up on the points you have outlined. The time taken along with the effort made to share your comments...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I travel quite a bit. This Hilton needs to close, remodel, and hire new staff. The staff is quite unfriendly and English must be a third language for most staff. The lobby bar is terrible. Super slow service while the bartenders talk amongst other staff instead of waiting on you. This is a common theme in the hotel. During checkout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank william r
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear william r, Thank you for taking a moment to highlight the challenges you encountered during your recent stay with us. In an effort to make it right to you, could you kindly send me an email with your name and dates of stay to david.piscola@hilton.com? I sincerely apologize for falling short in providing you with an exceptional stay and...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here on business. As a Diamond member I'm usually taken care of. Upon checking in the lady simply was not friendly. Almost made me feel like why are you here!! After waiting a long time for service, when she realized I was a diamond and have stayed here quite a few times she suddenly tried to smile. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grantmale
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Grantmale, Thank You for taking a moment to share your recent experience. I sincerely apologize for your experience. In order to properly follow up on the challenges you highlighted, would you be willing to email me your contact information @ david.piscola@hilton.com? Your time is much appreciated. I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, David Piscola General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Firstly, the hotel had two rooms for me when I only reserved one. Then, I got placed in a room overlooking L Street where construction is underway. The noise and lights were irritating - no room darkening drapes. AC in the room was subpar. Ice machines were broken. Staff is friendly yet they don't resolve your issues. Take my money...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hectore31
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear hectore31, Thank You for taking a moment to share with me your experience from your recent stay. I sincerely apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of service you deserve. Please be confident that I will follow-up on the points you have outlined. The time taken along with the effort made to share your comments...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location of hotel was excellent within walking distance to White House and subway. Appearance of hotel was welcoming with spacious lobby and entrance. Hotel room was excellent for price and spacious. Dining room staff quite hard working. Bar waitress could adjust her attitude with extra training.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elainel809
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear elainel809, Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience. I'm delighted our location, spacious guest room, and our dining room staff left a lasting impression on you. I hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, David Piscola General Manager

South Florida, Florida
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

From the moment we pulled our car up the place was clearly disorganized. The check in was okay. The room was not what we expected and there were not enough towels provided as one usually gets in a hotel room. Location is okay and restaurants within walking distance. While the staff made efforts to do the right thing, the place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lqdassets
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear lqdassets, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Capital Hilton stay. I sincerely apologize we fell short in providing you the experience you deserved. Please be confident that I will follow-up on the points you have outlined. The time taken along with the effort made to share your comments with us is most appreciated. Feedback from...

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The customer service is great. The rooms are in need of repairs. The window sheers were dirty and torn and while you could tell the carpet had been vacuumed, the carpet still contained a lot of dirt due to the many years of dirt. The bed and bath linens were clean, no stains and no holes. The restaurant had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinegreerk
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear jacquelinegreerk, Thank You for providing specific details from your recent stay here at The Capital Hilton. I sincerely apologize your experience fell short of expectation. Your feedback is extremely important to us, as we strive to improve with each and every guest experience. Please be confident that we will follow-up on the points you have outlined. The time taken...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed one night for a quick stop in DC. The hotel is a little old but it is clean and nice. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and I thought their customers service was outstanding. I dealt with Frank and Sameer when checking in at the front desk. We had gotten there early and I was just hoping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nancy4289
DavidPiscola, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review

Dear nancy4289, Thank You for staying with us and for taking a moment to provide feedback. Our team here at The Capital Hilton is dedicated to making our guest feel welcomed as well as providing exceptional customer service at all times. I'm delighted they left a lasting impression on you. I hope to have a future opportunity to provide lodging...

583 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (437)
Viewed
Room/Suite (140)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (147)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (87)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Executive Room (17)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)
Viewed
Two Double Room (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
761 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#59 of 140 in Washington DC
1,875 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
711 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
North Gate Grill
North Gate Grill
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Price Range: €166 - €727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Hilton staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Hilton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A better room may not have a better view.”
306rajeshs, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Odd # rooms face the outside. MAY have better view.”
heatherw750, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Face the street, highest floor available.”
Ignotus, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher level room was great”
Warmtraveller1200, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid 4th floor. Actually, avoid the hotel entirely.”
aaronp404, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$228* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$234
Expedia.comUS$234
CancelonUS$327
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates