We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Capitol Hill Hotel

Save
Share
200 C Street SE, Washington DC, DC 20003-1909
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
travelup.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (454)
Room & Suite (369)
Dining (20)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#24 of 153 hotels in Washington DC
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
A Stylish Hotel on the Hill: This boutique property is located in the heart of DC’s Historic Capitol Hill district. It is the closest hotel to the Capitol building and the only hotel “on the Hill.” Our hotel is one block to the metro, within walking distance to Union Station and provides a convenient location from which to tour the monuments and museums. As a member of the Independent Collection, our hotel embraces the vibrant and culturally rich neighborhood it inhabits. All guestrooms are suites, which are 50% larger versus typical hotel rooms and are equipped with spacious closets and kitchenettes (or fully-equipped kitchens.) Valet parking is available and pets are allowed with a one-time $150.00 fee per pet. Breakfast is served daily from 6am to 10am Monday-Friday, and from 7am until 11am on weekends. WiFi is also included. Enjoy our fitness center & bike rentals included in your room rate and fees, and unwind with our daily wine-hour from 5-6pm.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Doorperson
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
43Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
9Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2,553Reviews62Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,644
  • 656
  • 148
  • 58
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Robin L wrote a review Jan 2021
Belleair Beach, Florida14 contributions11 helpful votes
We booked a two night stay at this hotel for over $1900 - we are unable to make it because the hotel is barricaded behind capitol police due to threats of violence and the mayor has pleaded for visitors not to come to the city. Logical, right? Matt - the GM - refused to refund the reservation and is simply saying...”I live here and I feel safe”. I guess he can get away with this behavior because the hotel is not part of a major brand and losing a customer does not matter. Definitely steer clear! We made the reservations months ago when violence and our family’s safety was never even a consideration - but it is now. With any reputable brand we would have been refunded immediately. We even offered to let the hotel keep the money and let us come for two nights in the future and he refused. Can’t wait to see the lame reply referring to the terms and condition of the reservations made prior to a national crisis.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Sommers, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Good day RobinL510, I have reached out to you directly to solve your concerns. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance at all moving forward. I hope you will give us an opportunity to renew your faith in the Capitol Hill Hotel on a future trip to Washington, D.C. Please stay safe and healthy! In service, Matt Sommers matt.sommers@capitolhillhotel-dc.com
Read more
Brian H wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
We have reservations at the hotel for the inauguration and with the aftermath of the violence last week, continued threat, and the mayor of DC telling people not to come, they WILL NOT give a full refund to our reservation. Their owners care more about the money than they do about about safety! We will never book at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Sommers, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel
Responded 16 Jan 2021
Good day holfebk, We appreciate and value your feedback and apologize sincerely that we were unable to meet your needs due to the terms and conditions of your non-refundable reservation. We hope that you and your family stay safe and healthy and that you will give us an opportunity to renew your faith in the Capitol Hill Hotel the next time you choose to come to Washington, D.C. Please do not hesitate to let me know if I can be of any service to you. In service, Matt Sommers matt.sommers@capitolhillhotel-dc.com
Read more
George S wrote a review Nov 2020
Texarkana, Texas18 contributions31 helpful votes
Location was great. Hotel needs a lot of upgrading--hotel and rooms very dated. Web pictures better than real life. Staff was helpful some of the time and a lot of excuses the rest of the time. To many choices in DC for next trip.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Sommers, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel
Responded 16 Nov 2020
Good day George S, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. Your feedback is essential in our effort to improve our service standards. I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you directly so that I can attempt to make it right. Please reach out to me directly at your convenience so that we can begin a dialogue regarding your concerns. Thank you for choosing Capitol Hill Hotel and I hope to hear from you soon. In service, Matt Sommers matt.sommers@capitolhillhotel-dc.com
Read more
sac712020 wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
This is a sweet, simple hotel, very clean and in a fantastic location in and around the Capital Building, Supreme Court, Folger Library and Library of Congress. It is located in the middle of a delightful residential area and within walking distance of George Washington University.There is off-street parking for a small fee, and the room rates are unbelievably low. The staff are helpful, friendly and informative. Even in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic I felt very safe.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Sommers, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel
Responded 16 Nov 2020
Good day sac712020, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Capitol Hill Hotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will continue to stay with us on your trips to Washington, DC. We hope to see you again soon. In service, Matt Sommers matt.sommers@capitolhillhotel-dc.com
Read more
Thomas L wrote a review Nov 2020
Phoenix, Arizona1 contribution1 helpful vote
I've stayed at the Capitol Hill Hotel several times. The Covid 19 experience was a little different. No breakfast, no happy hour, no 24 hour coffee,fruit or other extras this time. While the lack of these things was to be expected the lack of housekeeping was not. We stayed five days and never had our room cleaned and never received clean towels. I'm sure the Covid 19 situation is difficult for hotels, but no fresh towels for five days, Come on.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Sommers, General Manager at Capitol Hill Hotel
Responded 6 Nov 2020
Good day Thomas L, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. Your feedback is essential in our effort to improve our service standards. I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. It is our procedure to explain to guests at check-in that daily housekeeping service wouldn't be provided, however, upon request, we would absolutely change out towels, bed linens, amenities, etc. The fact that this was not explained to you is concerning and I am deeply sorry for this. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you directly so that I can attempt to make it right. Please reach out to me directly at your convenience so that we can begin a dialogue regarding your concerns. Thank you for choosing Capitol Hill Hotel and I hope to hear from you soon. In service, Matt Sommers matt.sommers@capitolhillhotel-dc.com
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$179 - US$529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
capitol hill hotel washington dc, hotel capitol hill
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCCapitol Hill
NUMBER OF ROOMS
153
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Capitol Hill Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Capitol Hill Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Library of Congress (0.3 km), U.S. Capitol (0.5 km), and Capitol Hill (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Capitol Hill Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Capitol Hill Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Capitol Hill Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Capitol Hill Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Capitol Hill Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include sweetgreen Capitol Hill, We the Pizza, and Good Stuff Eatery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Capitol Hill Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Capitol Hill Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Washington DC.
Are any cleaning services offered at Capitol Hill Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Capitol Hill Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Capitol Hill Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.