We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

American Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
American Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

502 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 493: English reviews
Start your review of American Guest House
 Click to rate
Fallbrook, California, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Coming home to the American Guest House each night after a day of touring was a real pleasure. The area is so walkable and interesting that we did not even mind the cold and really enjoyed ourselves. The food and daily kitchen chat with Kevin provided a great start to each day.

Thank John F
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose to stay with us again. We are conveniently located near the Dupont Metro Station and the White House, and we're happy to hear that this was accommodating for you.

Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a wonderful gem in a great location of DC and my new home away from home whenever I come into town. The Innkeepers are friendly and very accommodating as is the Housekeeper. Breakfasts are scrumptious and the table is always set beautifully. The proprietor always responds to emails quickly and cordially. The rooms have crisp white bed linens...

Thank TravelingChef123
AmericanGuestHouse, General Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

We are honored by your review. We always want to make our guests feel right at home and we strive to make that our goal every time, with every little detail. We look forward to the next time you stay with us, Thank you!

Reviewed 6 December 2016

Friendly hosts, convenient check in, a fine breakfast. A 5 minute walk to the Metro at Dupont Circle. I took the least expensive room, one that accommodates only one person. It is located in the basement level, and next to a room for the housekeeper. I was warned I would hear breakfast traffic early since it is directly below the...

Thank Bruce J
AmericanGuestHouse, General Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our DC Inn, and we are grateful for the review. Many of our guests book room 114 because it is less expensive than most other rooms. It is located next to our Resident Manager's room and unfortunately, being a 19th Century historic house, sound proofing wasn't as popular back then, but...

West Orange, New Jersey
Reviewed 30 November 2016

I needed a place near the Washington Hilton and a conference I was attending and every other hotel was booked, The room was small but comfortable, however getting my bag up three flights of stairs was difficult (there was no one to assist me) and it was only a little easier getting it back downstairs. The room was on the...

Thank Rob07052
AmericanGuestHouse, General Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at American Guest House. We are conveniently located around the corner from the Washington Hilton. We love to cook breakfast for our guests and if you have something you want to eat, let us now in advance and we will do our best to fix it for you. We have some single...

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

I am so happy I found this B & B. Everyone who works there is so friendly. We felt at home. The room was lovely worth a very comfy need and memory foam pillows. It felt so historic. The breakfast was amazing. Kevin is a fantastic chef. And the conversation around the breakfast table was always interesting. Great location, we...

Thank daisymiami8
AmericanGuestHouse, Owner at American Guest House, responded to this review

Hurray!! It is extremely happy when a guest enjoy their stay at our DC bed and breakfast and it is invigorating when we receive a 5-star review. Thank you so very much!

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed 20 October 2016

The American Guest House was a great place to stay in Washington DC. The house is quaint and clean. Every bedroom had its own bathroom. The breakfasts were fantastic. The people all very helpful. The beds were comfortable and the room quiet. Location was perfect for taking the Metro around the city. I highly recommend this B&B.

Thank Paca1946
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for letting the world know you enjoyed your stay at our DC Inn. We love our job and love taking care of our guests. Please come back soon.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We were recommended The American Guest House by a friend and were so happy we were. Our room was so spacious with a canopy bed, 2 comfortable easy chairs, writing desk and 3 luggage racks.the breakfast each morning were so delicious and very generous. We were made to feel welcomed with helpful information about being a tourist in Washington. We...

Thank JAL57
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the stellar review. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay. Our guests are wonderful and we are always grateful when they choose to stay at our DC Inn.

Reviewed 3 October 2016

This place needs to be freshened up with paint and new furniture in the sitting room. The overall feeling when entering is gloomy and dirty, it isn't unclean but appears that way. Our room (203) was narrow with dark wainscoting that exaggerated the tight feeling. The bed was extremely uncomfortable as were the pillows, two were just lumps of foam....

1Thank Y3740RDpamelaw
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

We apologize that the size of your room wasn't what you were expecting - all of our rooms are each unique and vary in size. We will definitely look into the uncomfortability, as we are always looking for suggestions. We are known for our wonderful homemade breakfasts and our convenient location - we are glad this was accommodating for you.

Reviewed 30 September 2016

We had room 403 which was huge although bathroom is quite small but adequate. It is at the top of three flights of stairs and no lift so you had better be fit. Room was clean and bright and spacious as I said bed was very comfortable. There is a huge fridge in the room so plenty of room to...

Thank SimonChristopher23
AmericanGuestHouse, Manager at American Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for leaving us a great review. We are known for our great homemade breakfasts and convenient location - we are glad this this was accommodating for you. Although we don't have an elevator, our Innkeepers are happy to help with luggage. We appreciate your great feedback and hope you stay with...

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

American Guest House is in a great location, close to transportation and itself a fun, active neighborhood. It was clean, comfortable, historical & oozed charm. Chef Kevin made delicious breakfasts that kept us going all day long. We definitely recommend a stay at the AGH!

Thank Connie S
AmericanGuestHouse, Owner at American Guest House, responded to this review

We are sooo thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our DC Inn, and we are grateful for the wonderful review. Looking forward to your return.

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (57)
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Dining (5)
Bathroom (4)
Room/Suite (20)
View from Room (1)
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (29)
Room/Suite (13)
Bathroom (3)
Dining (10)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
850 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
6,038 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
1,080 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
American Guest House is a well appointed 12 bedroom with en suite bathrooms Washington DC Bed and Breakfast located in a historic 1893 Venetian Gothic building near the Washington Hilton Hotel. Within a 10 minutes walk to Dupont Circle Metro, and within a 10 to 15 minute walk to Wardman Park and Omni Shoreham Hotels. We are located near Dupont Circle in the historic Kalorama Triangle neighborhood. This DC Bed and breakfast is located near the White House (about 25 minutes by foot), about 1 mile from the National Zoo and 2 miles from the Smithsonian Museums and Monuments. We are located in a trendy, upscale, safe and beautiful neighborhood in the heart of DC. Great area to stroll around and enjoy the beautiful old mansions. Within walking distance you'll also find several of Washington DC's best restaurants, as well as the Phillips Art Gallery, Embassy Row, specialty shops, and even Rock Creek Park with its beautiful cycling and hiking trails. Culture is plentiful in DC with its majestic theaters, shows, ethnically diverse dining options, and beuatiful monuments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about American Guest House

Address: 2005 Columbia Rd NW, Washington DC, DC 20009
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Dupont Circle
Price Range: €200 - €557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — American Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your American Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Guest House Hotel Washington Dc
American Guest House b&b
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from American Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from American Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay attention to the floor your room is on, the stairs are a challenge with luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnF771, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms for single and double occupancy. All are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles TravelingChef123, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you are over 60 and/or have a bad back, try getting a lower floor so you don't hurt yourself struggling with luggage on the stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Rob07052, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No elevator and rooms were in 2nd and 3rd floor so keep that in mind.”
 of 5 bubbles Paca1946, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are not fit, do not choose a room on the 3rd floor as there is no lift but this adds to the charm.”
 of 5 bubbles JAL57, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5