We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,668 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,636: English reviews
Pittsburgh
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel has been our absolute favorite hotel in the DC area. Perfect location, great service, great rooms. We were looking forward to staying again this year, here for our annual cherry blossom run event. Unfortunately the service was not as great this time. The hotel underwent a renovation recently, but oddly, there still were not many places in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jvb_7
Gregory L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review

Jvb_7 greetings and welcome back. It's great to hear you returned for the annual Cherry Blossom Ten Mile run. You are right we completed a multimillion dollar renovation of our guest rooms and suites, lobby living room, restaurant, courtyard and bar. We think it's a home run! As part of the renovation we purchased and installed custom designed nightstands and...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The beer in the bar is expensive. Come on! But the food (a Korean chef) is really interesting and delicious. Rooms are good, but I personally find the layout and atmosphere a little sterile. The weirdness of the decor doesn't make it feel comfortable or endearing. Many reviewers like the location, but I don't. This is the newly-gentrified part of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 627pw2015
Gregory L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review

627pw2015 hello and thank you for both staying with us and completing a TA review. We love our bold hotel styling and game changing restaurant and bar - Dirty Habit. I'm sorry it wasn't to your tastes but I hope you come back! Our Penn Quarter/Chinatown neighborhood is an easy walk to most of the DC museums and attractions. We'd...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my first stay here. The hotel décor is funky and fun. However, I stayed on the first floor, which is below street level, and it was like living in a sewer. The stench in the hallways was overwhelming: thinking rotting fish. They must know they have a problem as when I mentioned it at check out, the staffer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MD W
Gregory L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review

MD W thank you for staying with us. Although I'm glad you liked our style and Kimpton care I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your guest room. We are a national historic landmark and our recently renovated rooms are of different sizes. And you're right on the hand towels that is being checked into by our Director of Housekeeping. Our new...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend booked this hotel for a conference with events at both the Convention Center and Verizon Center - great location for this as well as many good restaurants in the very near vacinity (and the Mall too). Front desk and porters were very friendly and helpful. 24 hour room service is a great plus as well as Dirty Habit,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stefk22
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Kimpton Hotel Monaco is a very nice hotel with a very good location. The entire staff was very nice. And the staff at the front desk is very professional and Kara especially was very efficient and helpful during our stay. Kara is a definite asset to this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When my parents came to visit me in Penn Quarter, my goal was to find a luxury hotel that was also handicapped-accessible. After personally visiting Hotel Monaco to make sure the exit/entrances were wheelchair-friendly and after checking out one of their ADA-compliant rooms, I thought I'd found the perfect location. However, the room they gave my parents upon check-in was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Gregory L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Monaco for your family stay while in Washington DC. We're proud to be a good neighbor to the apartments and condominium communities surrounding our hotel. Our recently renovated hotel does have fully ADA complaint rooms as well as two 24-hour a day accessible lifts for guests that need special assistance and I'm sorry you...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First the positives: The location is great- just a short walk from the National Mall and White House and across the street from the Verizon Centre. There are a range of very good restaurant options very close by. The hotel is in a former post office, which has wonderful character, soaring ceilings, wide hallways, etc. We found the service very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BTD1
Johnson City, Tennessee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After doing a lot of research of trying to find a family friendly hotel close to everything we wanted to see in D.C - we stayed here. It was the best choice. We stayed in the Mediterranean suite which worked out well. I had requested a room on the 4th floor due to reviews I had read about avoiding the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shantha1939
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love the location and the quirky decor, but they clearly gave my room to someone more important than me. I brought my teenage daughter with me on a business trip as a treat for her and, obviously, chose a hotel with a room with two beds. When we arrived at 4:00, they told me they were sold out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColonelLiles
Gregory L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review

ColonelLiles hello and thank you for your nice comments on our great location and iconic décor and I'm sorry that you didn't receive the style of room you were expecting. We provide a select number of rooms with two beds but most of our Premium and Deluxe category rooms are one bedded rooms. Our larger Monte Carlo and corner Suites...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is a pleasant change from the mass market chain approach. Quirky and different, it offers a different feel with all the usual amenities wifi, fitness room, etc). There's a couple of great bars next to the restaurant. I was looked after brilliantly by Jishel in the bar on my first evening, who was exceptionally friendly and helpful. However...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OneZeroBravo
Gregory L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, responded to this review

OneZeroBravo thank you for your Trip Advisor reply. You are absolutely right we should have provided to you prior knowledge of our restaurant and bar - Dirty Habit - being held for a private event. This does happen on occassion and we make every attempt to provide our guests with alternative options. Good news is our outdoor courtyard opens officially...

617 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (462)
Viewed
Room/Suite (134)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (126)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (150)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (111)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Standard Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
2,106 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
2,839 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
2,172 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
3,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The luxury Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC, centrally located in Penn Quarter, occupies the former General Post Office and is a National Historic Building. Built in 1839, this recently renovated beautiful marble building has a stately grace that is matched by the hotel's exemplary service and luxurious amenities. From the comfort of elegant guestrooms, you are steps from the Verizon Center, the Smithsonian, National Mall and a plethora of museums. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC

Address: 700 F Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Penn Quarter , Upper Northwest
Price Range: €215 - €556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Washington Dc
Kimpton Washington Dc
Monaco Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question
Wyandotte, Michigan
1 month ago
Folsom
8 months ago
over a year ago
Wyandotte, Michigan

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you like to rock n' roll ask for a courtyard view.”
R0ADTR1PP1N, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“First floor rooms dark, cramped, and odorous--avoid. Third floor rooms much better!”
GeorgiannaLondon, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room on one of the upper floors.”
redsoxkathleen, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Basement is a little dark and hallway slightly smells, but very quiet”
jvb_7, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you stay, do not accept a room on the first floor.”
MDW742, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5