We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
700 F St NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
FindHotel
US$527
View deal
TravelocityUS$565
KimptonUS$552
ZenHotels.comUS$885
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (429)
Room & Suite (175)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#85 of 156 hotels in Washington DC
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
Located near the Verizon Center, the Monaco DC hotel is an excellent home base as you visit the National Mall, Smithsonians, and Spy Museum. Guests enjoy free WiFi, morning coffee, and wine hour.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Babysitting
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Bicycle tours
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
166Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
43Attractionswithin 0.5 km
699Reviews38Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 383
  • 155
  • 87
  • 43
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Katie S wrote a review 9 Sep
Scottsboro, Alabama, United States36 contributions9 helpful votes
Amazing hotel with wonderful service! The beds and pillows are comfy and it’s super close to tons of amenities. I really enjoyed my stay here. Beware though the restaurant inside is super pricey. I was charged $9 for coffee and $7 for orange juice. You can just imagine the food prices from there. Luckily there is a Dunkin’ Donuts a few min walk away. This was my second time staying there and I was very pleased both times!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LGC & JCFC wrote a review May 2021
White Plains, New York705 contributions204 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Hotel- Kimpton Monaco DC (Washington, DC) Date- April 2021 (2 nights) Overall: 5/5. Excellent. This was our first experience at this hotel, and we will definitely be back! Rewards Club Recognition- 5/5. Excellent. Upon arrival we were verbally thanked for our loyalty, and a credit of $20 was offered to be applied to our bill for minibar or restaurant purchases. Our room was upgraded, and as Inner Circle Loyalty members, an amenity was present in our room (bottled water, Perrier water, sprite, pretzels, a dried corn snack, and a small can of pringles). We were also proactively offered a late checkout. We genuinely felt like valued guests at this property. Staff- 5/5. Excellent. Sergio, who checked us into the hotel, was stellar. He was efficient yet thorough, and he was a model for customer engagement. As we observed him and the other reception staff members interact with guests during the evening social hour, we could see their genuine intent to please the hotel guests. Property Appearance & Maintenance- 5/5. Excellent. Exterior- The edifice is in great shape, and the hotel is well branded. Interior- The lobby and hallways were clean, stylish, and interesting to behold. Some of the baseboards in the guest rooms could use cleaned up, but for a historical building, maintenance does a great job. No outstanding maintenance items of substance were evident. Accommodations- 5/5. Excellent. We were assigned a “Premier Monte Carlo Guest room,” and we were happy. The high ceilings really added to the spacious feel of the room. The headboard of the bed was dramatic, as was the large stone lion face above the headboard. The bathroom had a shower/tub combination, which was quite clean. Housekeeping- 5/5. Excellent. The room was immaculately cleaned, and all toiletry items (shampoo, conditioner, body wash, soap, toilet paper, facial tissues, etc.) were provided in a supply adequate for the length of our stay. The carpet was vacuumed and in good shape. Daily housekeeping service has resumed, and guests who would like their room refreshed can arrange with the front desk so that a housekeeper can enter the room while unoccupied. Pool/Gym- 4/5. Very good. No pool at this property, but the fitness center was available and contained a reasonable set of equipment. Access was provided by the front desk to ensure appropriate limitations on usage during the pandemic. Breakfast/Meal Options- 5/5. Excellent. The Dirty Habit restaurant was open for dinner service during the days of the week while we were present, and a weekend brunch service was available. Morning coffee service and the evening wine hour went smoothly and were appropriately modified for the pandemic (served from the front desk by a gloved representative behind plexiglass barriers). Laundry- not evaluated. A pricing sheet and laundry bag was present in the room, and the pricing was appropriate for a hotel of this category. Computer/Printer/WiFi- 5/5. Average. The WiFi connected easily, and the speed was adequate for smooth streaming of music and video. Other- Pandemic operations were appropriate and included social distancing protocols, sanitizing stations, and appropriate barriers to protect the staff and guests. The staff reliably wore masks over their nose and mouths. The sole drawback we could find with this property was that there is no way to load your belongings into a luggage cart from the street; stairs are required for entry; be mindful that you will have to get your belongings up the stairs in order to get inside the hotel entrance. Although an ADA entrance is present, it is not available for usual guest usage.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
LL_in_NoVa wrote a review 6 Sep
annandale, va73 contributions41 helpful votes
The location is just so perfect for attending a game or concert at the Capital One Arena. We stayed two nights for a show at the National & 21 Pilots in the Cap 1 Arena. the Hotel Monaco shares a corner with the concert arena. Beautiful old building with giant spatial corridors and finishings. Not quaint like a historic hotel (note to reader, triple check reviews on restored hotels from way back...people were smaller then), this is an historic office building with giant rooms and windows. You could drive a truck through the hallways. The rooms have some off beat decorations (ours had a giant lion head on the wall (6' across)) and are very nice. Great hotel bar/dining (expensive though). Free bikes which we used to cruise the mall and museums. A great weekend was had by all. I'd knock it down to 4.5 stars if I could for the musty smell in our bedroom and $65 nightly car parking charge.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
2Midwest wrote a review Aug 2022
Indianapolis, Indiana283 contributions220 helpful votes
This is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. High ceilings. Art work and statutes in the room. Free happy hour 5 to 6. Professional staff. Located in an old post office -Army Hospitsl. Great restaurants near by. My negotaited rate waived the annoying resort fee. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Quiet rom not facing noisy courtyard wgich has a bar with loud music
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Laura Z wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I want to publicly thank the amazing staff here who made my month-long stay wonderful! Bryan, Melvin, Mohamed, all the valet crew, Chris, Faisal, Markos, Cecilie, and the front desk staff. Belinda at the front desk was such a sweetheart and so much fun to talk to. Her outfits are on point, too! Everyone was kind, quick to help, always asked how I was doing, always with a smile, and it felt really nice to be able to say hi to everyone day in and day out during my stay. The hotel amenities are terrific. The gym is has treadmills, a Peleton, weights, a bike, and an elliptical machine. (My only suggestion is to make sure the equipment is calibrated correctly). The happy hour each night is perfect for when I return from work (5-6pm). There is coffee in the morning starting at 6:30 am. I also brought my cat with me for the entire month and she got to walk around the hotel and check out everything. She was a big hit with the guests! This is the friendliest hotel and the only hotel I will stay in when I come to D.C. For those of you who stay on the 2nd floor, you may see these little doors along the hallway. They look like magical Alice in Wonderland doors. I found out they are just sprinklers/valves in there (sorry to ruin the magic ;) ). I am sad to leave D.C. and really sad to leave Kimpton. Thank you for the excellent customer service and for all your kindness!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ed b wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Traveled Memorial Day weekend 2021 with family & pet. The hotel itself is in a beautiful building and lobby is nicely decorated. Unfortunately, everything is a hot mess. Rude front desk and management. The least pet friendly KIMPTON we’ve stayed the last 5 years (no water bowls for pets in the lobby or room, etc). First floor is essentially a basement with windows facing the sidewalk. Therefore, windows must remain close at all times. Bad odor in the corridors (septic tank). I’ve bought a breakfast for 2 package for the entire stay via Expedia and the hotel fail to honor it and will NOT work with Expedia reps for a resolution/refund. No empathy from anybody. Completely disinterested in providing any assistance. Extremely rude reception and manager. The whole experience pretty much ruined my family vacation. Multiple emails to their management office with no reply. Do yourself a favor and book elsewhere. Worst hotel experience in my life. This place is awful.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
manilasundiva wrote a review Jul 2022
Singapore, Singapore25 contributions42 helpful votes
At check-in, I was greeted most unenthusiastically with a “hiya” by front desk staff. Zero warmth, not welcoming at all. At check-out, hotel staff who was by the door saw me struggling with my luggage, and instead of helping me down the stairs, just walked off. When I asked for cutlery while I was in my room, I was told it would be sent up. When I followed-up 20 minutes later, I was answered by staff who was giggling, and intermittently chatting with someone else, responding with “uh-huhs” and “mhmms”, and curtly told me that since I didn’t order anything from the restaurant, they cannot provide me with cutlery (this, despite me staying there for a week). Would not have minded the unusual policy, if communicated consistently and politely. At least the gentlemen who would go up to bring items and food to my room are pleasant and hospitable. Rooms are kept clean, bed, sheets, and pillows are quite comfortable, and would provide one with a good night’s rest. Bathroom clean-ups are also done well. Facilities are quite good, but hotel management badly needs to train ALL staff better with regard to professionalism, communication, and providing better service befitting of a Kimpton Hotel. I’ve stayed in other Kimpton properties before, and this one in DC has, by far, the worst service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gregory L, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Responded 14 Jul 2022
Manilasundiva greetings and thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your comments on our comfortable guest rooms, but I am so sorry you didn't experience the care expected from our team. We take your comments to heart and do hope you return soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda Z wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
My adult daughter and I decided to visit DC and chose this hotel rather than one of the typical chain hotels. Best decision we made! The outside is historic, as it used to be a post office. Inside the decor is interesting and fun. Our room was just as described - clean, comfortable and with a beautiful, vaulted ceiling. We ate at the restaurant only twice. It was very good but there were so many other restaurants nearby that we also wanted to try! This hotel was a very convenient location for seeing the sights. Walking to the National Mall was easy and the National Portrait Gallery is right across the street! One of my favorite memories was the Social Hour that was hosted each night. The names I remember are Bryan and Markos, but everyone took great care of us. All of the hotel employees were very friendly. We were always greeted as we returned to the hotel after sightseeing and I felt that we were really coming "home." I don't know when we may decide to visit DC again, but I do know that we will plan to stay at the Kimpton Hotel Monaco!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
lanngooch32 wrote a review Jul 2022
Long Island, NY11 contributions15 helpful votes
Pros: Location Cons: Room was a lower level, basically a basement room. Windows with view above of bushes. Felt like we were in a cave. Agreed to lower level because I am a light sleeper. Desk clerk said upper rooms have street & restaurant noise. The room smelled of dirt, mold/mildew, carpet damp, very humid even with a/c on. Overpriced double room $500 (rm rate, tx, etc.), $65Valet fee. When we checked out and left someone was outside the hotel entrance smoking weed. There are better hotels than this one. This is an old hotel, old should not equal poor air quality.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
calliam wrote a review Jul 2022
Winston Salem, North Carolina99 contributions59 helpful votes
We had a great stay! The hotel is in a wonderful location and is in easy walking distance to everything. The hotel staff are incredibly friendly and customer service is great. I love their nightcap program! They are super dog-friendly and offered an array of amenities for our dog. Easy quick check in and valet.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$281 - US$522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel monaco washington dc, kimpton washington dc, monaco hotel washington dc
LOCATION
United StatesDistrict of ColumbiaWashington DCUpper Northwest
NUMBER OF ROOMS
184
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Which popular attractions are close to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC?
Nearby attractions include Bi-Partisan Tour Company (0.4 km), National Portrait Gallery (0.09 km), and National Law Enforcement Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC?
Conveniently located restaurants include Barmini, Rasika, and Fiola.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.