We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Ancon

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travel Alert: Licensing Restrictions Apply More details
Hotel Ancon
Panoramas (14)
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

944 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 399: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Ancon
 Click to rate
Seattle, Washington, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cuban resorts have a reputation for being not up to the standard of resorts in other parts of the world, and that holds true with Hotel Club Ancon. The most frustrating part is that the hotel could easily be much better with a few changes. The positives: 1. If you're looking to just hang out on the beach, the location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
Ridel F, Director General at Hotel Ancon, responded to this review
Google Translation

estimado cliente, muchas gracias por su opinión. La tendremos muy presente para mejorar la calidad de nuestro servicio. Trabajaremos en...

Adelaide South Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were on small group tour and the guide checked us in. Our room 8135 was almost 200m from reception over an uneven and sometimes slippery surface. At the end we had to carry our cases up two flights of stairs. The room had a stunning view over a wide sandy beach. We arrived in time to see a red...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kayjohn
Ridel F, Director General at Hotel Ancon, responded to this review
Google Translation

Estimado cliente, muchas gracias por su opinión, es cierto que la piscina está en remodelación capital y esperamos que ya...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Its a very old hotel almost abandoned... The only good thing is the big balconies and the spot were it is build. Apartment from that, its dirty, no quality food and everything in there is very old... Its an experience and an adventute if you want to see it this Way...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Iakovos K
Ridel F, Director General at Hotel Ancon, responded to this review
Google Translation

estimado cliente muchas gracias por su opinión. Lamentamos que a usted no le haya agradado nuestro hotel, tendremos en cuenta...

Hamilton, Canada
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This is a late review as I have been to this place in January 2017 .... where to start ? I booked last minute with Hola Sun which I will never do again. Anyway we were late a day in departing Toronto due to a foggy weather, instead of departing Toronto at 4:00pm we departed at 2:00am next morning ...so...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Thak1
Ridel F, Director General at Hotel Ancon, responded to this review
Google Translation

estimado cliente gracias por su opinión. Solo aclarar que la demora del vuelo no fue nuestra responsabilidad y el hecho...

Reviewed 11 April 2017

The place is starting to go down hill. Needs lots of repair. Ran out of water. Every night around 6 the power would go off. Younger staff training. no smiles and less service. The older staff that we knew were very nice and helpful. The extra restaurants were closed most of the time, a lot of people at the buffet....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JoAnn B
Ridel F, Director General at Hotel Ancon, responded to this review
Google Translation

estimado cliente, gracias por opinar en este sitio de renombre a nivel internacional. Es cierto que hubo algunas irregularidades con...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We stayed at Hotel Ancon from March 4-18, during our two week stay, we only had nice warm weather for 5-6 days, since there was no pool, we wanted to swim but weather wasn't the best. Food was okay, three food stations made for fresh meat, fish. The older chef (can't remember his name, sorry) was amazing, cooked meat to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Irma L
Ridel F, Director General at Hotel Ancon, responded to this review
Google Translation

estimado cliente, muchas gracias por su opinión. Nos sentimos complacidos porque usted disfrutó su estancia con nosotros. Tendemos en cuanta...

London, Canada
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We've travelled 17 years to various places in Cuba (Mexico, Costa Rica etc.) and this is a good hotel. We first stayed at Hotel Ancon in 1999 and 5 times since, travelling with friends. Obviously we like it: there are many aspects of this resort worth returning to. The Beach and Coral reef off the coast are amazing as is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cubaexplorer
Ridel F, Director General at Hotel Ancon, responded to this review
Google Translation

estimado cliente, muchas gracias por opinar en este sitio de tanto renombre en el mundo. Nos agrada mucho sabes que...

Reviewed 10 March 2017

hector is the professor of mixed drinks. try his yellowbird and strawberry shortcake, a must request. a highlight at the ancon hotel. the food was good and the staff friendly. They try their best with what they have

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nanie J
Ridel F, Director General at Hotel Ancon, responded to this review
Google Translation

estimado cliente, muchas gracias por opinar en este sitio de tanto renombre a nivel mundial. No complace sobre manera que...

Vilnius
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Cuba is different than other countries, so, the hotels are also not the same category than other hotels in the world :) Money exchange at reception couldn't change money, because they didn't know the rate for euro that day. WIFI - 2 euro prepaid card for 1 hour. Only 1 elevator working. Better climb the stairs. Low chances to catch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SigitaVilnius
Ridel F, Director General at Hotel Ancon, responded to this review
Google Translation

estimado cliente muchas gracias por opinar en este sitio tan reconocido. Le agradecemos los señalamientos que nos hace, los cuales...

Powell River, Canada
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Pros: beautiful beach. Cons: pretty much everything else. The Ancon is a decaying Soviet era hotel. The rooms are passable and the maid was very nice. The food is plentiful but not very good. The pool has been closed for a long time(the website doesn't say this). With some exceptions, the staff are not very helpful. For a fraction of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macpock
Ridel F, Director General at Hotel Ancon, responded to this review
Google Translation

estimado cliente, muchas gracias por opinar en este sitio de consulta casi obligatoria por los viajeros del mundo. Es cierto...

1,709 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1481)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (291)
Viewed
Dining (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (242)
Viewed
View from Room (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (570)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (228)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Dining (71)
Viewed
Room with Sea View (18)
Viewed
Superior Room with Tropical View (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
7.5 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
19.8 km away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
212 reviews
54.5 km away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
174 reviews
203.9 km away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
1,190 reviews
294.4 km away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Hotel Ancon

Address: Carretera Maria Aguilar | Playa Ancón, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Price Range: €71 - €138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ancon 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ancon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancon Hotel Trinidad
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Ancon staff and other travellers.
34 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (34)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ancon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay a little more for the 'tropical' rooms with a view.”
ErikS868, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Higher the room less chance for hot water.”
joannb738, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The reception area and bar areas are non smoking, yes!!!! Finally a smoke free environnement!”
375irmal, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“beach view on 3 story walkup is best”
naniej2017, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“pay the extra and book Tropical or Superior”
Nbluebird2015, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Cancelon
Elvoline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates