We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Echo Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Echo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 138: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

After 2 nights here with great breakfasts each morning, we were more than happy to book again when a sudden itinarary change put us back at Picton. Our hosts, Russell & Sharon, were so welcoming, we felt like old friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ken f
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sharon and Russell run a very comfortable guest house. Very clean, good breakfasts, decent size room, everything you need. Our hosts went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed and nothing was too much trouble - including laundry! Deep local knowledge made sure we had a good time in the area. Recommend this highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IanEdinburgh1
Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed two nights, one either side of doing the Queen Charlotte walk. Host, Russell, had offered to greet us at the ferry terminal and drive us to Echo Lodge, which is indicative of the extra yard both he and Sharon go to make guests feel welcome to Picton and at home in their house. There are three ensuited guest rooms,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always great to see guests enjoy Echo Lodge and our hospitality. Thank you and please visit us again.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights as we passed through to continue our journey down the South Island. Our ferry from Wellington into Picton was delayed by several hours and Sharon was quick to answer the door when we arrived, had the most positive and cheerful attitude and quickly explained everything about the lodge before suggesting a nice spot for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Puja2017
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much it was lovely to have you both stay with us for a couple of days. We hope you continued to have a great holiday in NZ. Kind Regards Sharon And thank you for reviewing us and the lodge.

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sharon and Russell were lovely people. Felt very at home in their home. Home baked muffins each day and a breakfast which included eggs. The rooms were spacious, and comfortable with a lovely view of their garden and the hills beyond. They had a great outside space too to catch the evening sun. Short walk to town so ideal location,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daisy M
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Echo Lodge. I think all of our guests are enjoying the garden at the moment, just sitting and relaxing. It was lovely to meet you and your parents, lovely family.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Echo Lodge is in a great position in Picton. It sits on the side of a hill overlooking the Harbour and once you have parked your car it is possible to walk wherever you want to go in Picton. Russell is a lovely host who certainly knows how to make his guests feel welcome. We had the front bedroom with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spasman
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, Russell will be so pleased he got a mention. Next time.... do stay longer there is so much to see and do in Picton. Happy Travelling.

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 14 December 2016

We stayed here for only one night as we passed through to the North Island but Echo lodge is a charming little lodge set just off the Waterfront in Picton and 3 minutes walk to the main street. Picton is a cute little town which we definitely feel like we missed and Echo lodge is in a great location to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are glad that you enjoyed Picton and the Lodge. It was great to meet you both. Sorry about the decor' it is very traditional for the age of the house (over 100 years) we tried to keep it authentic, we are not offended so no problem.

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Russell and Sharon were charming hosts - Russell met us off the ferry from Wellington and showed us Picton on our way to Echo Lodge. Lovely house with great view of the harbour, but our twin bedded room was rather small and dark, and the bathroom tiny with no soap or shower gel and only one hand towel, hence my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nina J
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Echo Lodge. It is always hard as an owner to read about a guests disappointments after they have stayed as we could of corrected some of the issues had you raised at the time. Re the soap Shampoo etc, these are kept under the vanity unit in the ensuite. There are two...

Solo Aussie in Europe
Reviewed 17 November 2016

I really enjoyed my two nights with Russell and Sharon at Echo Lodge. They have three rooms for guests, and I stayed in the largest - the Tui Room. This room also has the best view, across to the water. The bed was very comfortable, and the room and ensuite were spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent - despite the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 199,322,392
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay at Echo Lodge. As per my email to you it was lovely to chat with you and enjoy your positive outlook on life. You have such a great sense of humor. Kind Regards Sharon & Russell

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2016

A very enjoyable B & B stay. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming. The bed and pillow were the best on our trip so far. Breakfast variety was good along with gluten free options. Would definitely come back to this one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoyOz2016
echolodgepicton, Owner at Echo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure to meet you and have you stay in our home. Kind Regards Sharon & Russell

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Picton hotels
3.2 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.4 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
228 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
0.6 km away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#3 of 17 in Picton
1,009 reviews
0.3 km away
Glengary Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Echo Lodge is a fully renovated villa overlooking the Picton Marina. It is an easy five minute stroll to the town centre with its many cafes, restaurants and tour operators and a two minute walk to the many bush and waterfront walking tracks in the area. We offer a large healthy continental breakfast which includes fresh fruit,home-made muffins and yoghurt, fresh breads and jams.We have two double rooms and one twin room. All our rooms have ensuites, luggage racks, flat-screen t.v.'s, electric blankets.We have two guest lounges where refreshments are available all day. There is a log-burner in one of the lounges to keep the house warm during the colder months. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Echo Lodge

Address: 5 Rutland Street | Picton, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Price Range: €99 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Echo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Echo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Echo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The front room with the sitting area.”
 of 5 bubbles Spasman, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Only 3 rooms, all seemed great.”
 of 5 bubbles 947markj, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front ensuite room”
 of 5 bubbles RoyOz2016, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 78leslieb, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms easily accessible, parking on drive.”
 of 5 bubbles 317pennya, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5