We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Akaroa Waterfront Motels

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Akaroa Waterfront Motels
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Akaroa Waterfront Motels
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Great location on the waterfront and close to the jetty, handy to shops and restaraunts, but very quiet with nice views of the water and mountains and comfortable, well equipped luxurious apartment with friendly staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dags111
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy you enjoyed the prime location: right on the water edge to make the most of the Harbour views, very close to main street but still very peaceful and quiet. We hope to have a chance to welcome you again soon. Kind regards. Akaroa Waterfront Motels team

Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

We had to ask for clean towels and milk after our room had been serviced on our 2nd day there. Then the free WiFi was so slow we couldn't do any work off the computer and had to cut our trip short because of work and all they said was sorry they had given us the incorrect password even tho...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aleshiadelore
north yorkshire
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Fantastic. Rooms very comfortable. Views wonderful, even in the rain. A party member injured his scalp. The reception staff immediately came across to bathe the wound and put strips on it. She also came the next morning to check it. What service. We owe the lady a great deal of gratitude. Unfortunately, I did not get her name but thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paradisesydney
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are happy to help when required and when we saw one of your party had hurt himself in Akaroa, we just thought normal to provide the service with a bit of first aid (Elise did what she can with her small knowledge). We hope he feels better now and you made it safe...

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful place. Right on the water and heaps of things to do for the kids (Pétanque, giant chess set, spa pool and rocks to throw into the water on the waterfront). Spa pool was fantastic. Staff were really helpful. We will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tania B
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments. We are glad you had the full experience of our facilities and you enjoyed all of them, since we took over the motel we have tried to add exciting and fun extra activities for our guests. The Spa pool is a real treat, especially in the winter months. We hope to see you soon....

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 August 2016

I had a very relaxing stay here, My room was upstairs with a balcony and had a lovely view of the water. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A spa is available to relax in and there are dvd rentals from the office. Clean and tidy and quiet. Restaurant at the end of the street and one block back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindabulley
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Having spent quite a full on week in Australia holidaying, I needed a couple of quiet days to re-charge before travelling home. Could not believe my luck when I arrived at the motels. During winter months, there are not as many tourists and visitors in Akaroa so the town was pretty laid back. The motel room overlooked the bay, you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darryl H
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We were very happy with our stay here, room had everything we needed. Nice and clean. Took a little while to heat up the room but it was a very cold day We upgraded to a waterfront view . Worth it to have the beautiful view. Reception staff very friendly and check in speedy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamandBruce
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Clean, comfortable, nicely furnished. The waterfront view is well worth paying for, with a nice balcony and seating. It was very quiet in August. Easy walk to restaurants, small shops and the grocery store. Helpful and friendly staff, both onsite and while planning our trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BethAnn01
Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Located on the waterfront this group of motel rooms captures the magic of changing Akoroa's landscape through the day. Staying in a three bedroom apartment the kitchen was provisioned well with the basics, the bathroom generous in size and bedrooms small but more than adequate with new mattresses for a comfy sleep. Recently refurbished and clean. Located at the northern...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aussie2Lee
new zealand
Reviewed 17 July 2016

This motel is situated on the waterfront and is handy to all the attractions in Akaroa. It is very clean and well appointed. We only stayed two nights but it was well equipped for a longer stay. The bed was very comfortable, and the kitchen was equipped enough that you could self cater if you wished. The units are spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aotearoanz
AkaroaWaterfrontM, Manager at Akaroa Waterfront Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted to see you enjoyed the room facilities and found the bed very comfortable. We are looking forward your next visit. Kind regards. Akaroa Waterfront Motels team.

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akaroa hotels
0.7 km away
Akaroa Village inn
Akaroa Village inn
#3 of 6 in Akaroa
58 reviews
0.1 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
0.4 km away
La Rochelle Motel
La Rochelle Motel
#2 of 6 in Akaroa
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Akaroa TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.7 km away
L'Hotel Akaroa
L'Hotel Akaroa
#9 of 24 in Akaroa
125 reviews
0.6 km away
Beaufort House Akaroa
Beaufort House Akaroa
#1 of 24 in Akaroa
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the beautiful, historic French village of Akaroa, just 1.5H from Christchurch. With 24 refurbished units to choose from featuring studio,1, 2 and 3-bedroom units, you can enjoy affordable comfort with the waterfront right at your doorstep. With most units offering views of the water, spacious living and well-equipped kitchens you have everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. We are only a minutes stroll to the art and craft shops, restaurants, cafes and other attractions Akaroa has to offer. You could also relax in our private hot tropical spa pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Akaroa Waterfront Motels

Address: 56 - 64 Rue Jolie, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Akaroa
Price Range: €92 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akaroa Waterfront Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Akaroa Waterfront Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akaroa Waterfront Hotel Akaroa
Driftwood Hotel Akaroa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Akaroa Waterfront Motels staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Akaroa Waterfront Motels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Downstairs at the waterfront edge!”
 of 5 bubbles Hakataramea, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We chose upstairs for the views”
 of 5 bubbles kitandgail, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs room No 90 great view”
 of 5 bubbles michaelhA6897NQ, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check before booking, is construction still going on”
 of 5 bubbles 164angelae, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a larger, upper room, overlooking the water”
 of 5 bubbles Jojeba, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5