We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Krisjanis & Gertrude

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Krisjanis & Gertrude
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 18: English reviews
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Reviewed 11 January 2016

I stayed there in September 2015 during my business trip to Riga. I was lucky as everything went well. I had a quiet room, the conditions were ok and the breakfast was good. I could also use the internet in the hall and the location is close to the centre. You cannot compare it to a hotel but I think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophia S
Roma
Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpul (except for the lady that greeted us on arrival, who barely spoke English). The room was ok, equipped with all amenities you should expect from a B&B, like TV set, boiler, etc (We could watch the Djokovic Murray semifinal @ Roland Garros). I just have to say that the room was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joeit72
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2014

I like this nice bed & breakfast hotel very much. It is centrally located in Riga and easy to get to by public transport. The room is nicely decorated with en-suite bathroom. There is free wifi and there is also a computer with a printer in the lounge. The staff of the hotel is very helpful and makes my stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PakTimFung
Santpoort, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 October 2014

I will NEVER book this B&B again! All rooms are on the street side. Tram (street car) passes by about every 5 minutes. Sounds like it's running straight through your room!!! And then I don't even want to mention the cobble road, where you can hear the cars and trucks roll over... We booked for 2 nights, but after the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mario1972_13
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 28 July 2013

It's confusing for me to see the positive reviews of K&G here and in Lonely Planet. The price was indeed good, but we stayed in an extremely small and noticeably dirty room with unbelievable traffic noise. I live in a downtown area anyway (and always travel with earplugs), but this really extreme. Keeping the windows closed did help a bit,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mochimo
Moscow
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Friendly woman greeted me on the third floor, after I had a very hard time dragging my suitcase up the steep wooden stairs. Once I was able to catch my breath, I entered the wonderful spacious bright room, where we were to spend for 4 nights. The room was very comfortable, I liked the big window viewing the silent street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inga S
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have found K&G hotel through tripadvisor and were not disappointed at all. In short - We spent three night at K&G. The place is an old manor house in the center of Riga, some 15 minutes walk from the old city. The building is well preserved, the room was spacious and comfortable, quiet despite facing two busy streets. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank David_Kirmayer
Helsinki
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I really would like to give this lovely B&B full points: the two ladies who provided the breakfasts and any answers(in English & German(ish for my part)) to the questions I asked were absolutely lovely! The interior and rooms were very clean indeed and charming in their old fashioned way but I must say that the house itself did show...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Surrealname
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The hotel is close to the old city and city center. The staff is really friendly and the young girl who attended me spoke good English. The hotel was clean and the bed was quite good. It is a an old wooden house, refurbished, that shakes every time the tram passes by. The walls are thin so you can clearly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank countrytrotter
kg_info, Owner at Krisjanis & Gertrude, responded to this review

We sincerely apologize that you were disturbed by people in the next room, and we shall certainly look at the possibility of improving the sound insulation when we next refurbish. It is however not a general problem. The shaking sometimes when a tram passes is unfortunate, but is because the house, being an early 19th century construction does not have...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights, and am so glad I chose this place. It really is a home away from home. I was given a 3-person room,which was very comfortable. It was cleaned and serviced daily. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is great-an easy 15-minute stroll from the Old Town (or 2 tram stops). There...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank VVV77
kg_info, Owner at Krisjanis & Gertrude, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. To quote John Dowland "Come again!"

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
1.2 km away
Old City Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Elizabete Hotel
1.5 km away
Neiburgs Hotel
Neiburgs Hotel
#2 of 108 in Riga
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
Rixwell Gertrude Hotel
#23 of 108 in Riga
431 reviews
0.6 km away
Radisson Blu Latvija Conference & Spa Hotel
0.7 km away
Art Hotel Laine
Art Hotel Laine
#1 of 63 in Riga
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on Krisjanis Barons street where is crosses Gertrude street, in Riga centre, this B&B is named after both streets. Each of the 6 rooms has an individual style. The design attempts to capture the charm and comfort of the best small hotels in UK provincial cities. Many of the guests are artists or musicians. A large common room can be used for meetings and has a PC with Internet connection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Krisjanis & Gertrude

Address: Krishjana Barona iela 39, Riga 1011, Latvia
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Hotel Class:3 star — Krisjanis & Gertrude 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Krisjanis & Gertrude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Krisjanis & Gertrude staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Krisjanis & Gertrude staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room which is not facing the street.”
 of 5 bubbles PakTimFung, 24 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Far away from the breakfast area (is also a little further away from the street with the trams, but I doubt it will help). There are NO rooms on the 'backside', only on the street side...”
 of 5 bubbles Mario1972_13, 1 Oct 2014 | Read review
“All the rooms overlook the street which can be a bit noisy but the double glazing helps enormously if the windows are shut.”
 of 5 bubbles jennifermsNorwich, 11 Mar 2012 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay