We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Doma laukums 1 Entrance From Muku Street, Riga 1050 Latvia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$75
View deal
Expedia.com
US$81
View deal
Vio.com
US$58
View deal
Hotels.com
TravelocityUS$81
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (630)
Room & Suite (177)
Dining (127)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#10 of 126 hotels in Riga
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Hotel Gutenbergs is an excellent choice for travelers visiting Riga, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay. Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Jauniela (0.1 mi) and House of Blackheads (0.2 mi), guests of Hotel Gutenbergs can easily experience some of Riga's most well known attractions. Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and Hotel Gutenbergs makes getting online easy as free WiFi is available. You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including a 24 hour front desk. Enjoy your stay in Riga!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Foot massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Rooftop bar
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Car hire
Taxi service
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, German, Latvian
1011Reviews9Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 559
  • 322
  • 98
  • 20
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
carol b wrote a review 18 Jan
Glasgow, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
Excellent location , really quaint hotel, rooms were very clean and bed very comfortable. Stay was very good value for money. But by far and a way the best thing about this hotel was the wonderful staff...so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much bother. I thing the consierge was called Vers and he brightened up our day
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: ask for a room in the old part of the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Gutenbergs, Owner at Hotel Gutenbergs
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Madam Carol, Greetings and Thank you so much for staying at the Gutenbergs Hotel. It was absolutely a delight to meet you and to be of service to you during your stay, Madam. Not only it brightened our day and gave reason, a soul, to our work, but made our Hotel even more charming, elegant and cozy so that it was our duty to make your stay a better one. It is truly sad that you have checked-out as every guest that bring happiness and joy has gotten into our hearts. It will be a pleasure and honour to see you and to serve you once more and more, Madam. With your kind permission, We would like to correct one small thing within your review as the name of the Receptionist that was and remains in service is Levs, not Vers ) Always at your service and till We meet again, Madam! Sincerely and good health willing, Gutenbergs Hotel's Reception.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
_na.na_22.06 wrote a review 5 Jan
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The most beautiful and authentic hotel I’ve ever been. Breakfast was excellent, with various choices. Staff was amazing!!! Room numbers with old decorations, comfortable beds. Hotel have warm and cozy atmosphere.I’ll happily hear back next time visiting Latvia. Suggestion this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Trish wrote a review 4 Jan
Perth, Australia1 contribution
An old world with a great location in the old time. Front desk staff multilingual and always willing to help. Excellent restaurant upstairs. On the not so great side the rooms although large are very tired and in need of a makeover, the bathroom in our room was very basic. but the water was hot and plentiful. The beds, pillows and towels all on the tired side.The heating system is old and difficult to find a comfortable temperature. Breakfast rated poor.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Gutenbergs, Owner at Hotel Gutenbergs
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Madam Patricia, Greetings and Thank you so much for staying at the Gutenbergs Hotel. We also would like to Thank you for posting your review both - and at the Booking.com and at the Tripadvisor as it means a lot to us. It breaks our heart to know that you had some discomfort during breakfast and with the room, nonetheless, it makes us wonder why you have not asked for our help, even when We have asked you couple of times if everything is going well during your stay as most of the problems that occurred during your stay could have been dealt with within a short time in order to provide much more comfortable stay for you. For example - when something is wrong within the room - it is not possible, but necessary to inform us, so that it could fixed in no time at all. As an alternative to that - free of charge change of the room was possible as We have modern Junior Suites as well. Speaking about breakfast, with all due respect, but as the breakfast starts not at 7:30, when you were coming to have breakfast, but from 8:00, what is also written within the guests cards and Booking.com, it is not a wonder that the buffet was poor in selection before it is even opened. We sincerely recommend to all our guests to not be afraid to ask help from us as it is always a pleasure We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, Madam. Nonetheless, as you have not asked for help and as you have given false information to the Reception workers that your stay is going well - there was little We could have done to help you. We sincerely recommend to all our guests to not be afraid to ask help from us as it is always a pleasure to help as well as the cooperation and trust between the guests and Staff of the Hotel is a key for a much better and comfortable stay. Sincerely and good health willing, Levs Gutenbergs Hotel's Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dominic S wrote a review 1 Jan
Tel Aviv, Israel53 contributions14 helpful votes
Lovely hotel, full of character. The location is great - right in the old, very picturesque part of town and a two minute walk to the Christmas Market. Our room was large and comfortable and we had an excellent night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent too - a great variety of cold and cooked options. The front desk staff were really helpful and knowledgeable. 10 out of 10 would recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
flickettysplits wrote a review Dec 2022
Segny, France21 contributions8 helpful votes
This was a great hotel, with wonderful staff and in a very central location. I was given a very friendly and welcoming experience. The included breakfast had a good range of cold and hot choices, and I liked that it was open until 11am. I would definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PB wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Fantastic overall. Great place in every way. Special mention to the receptionist Levs who is the finest welcomer I have ever seen, genuine and warm and caring. Made sure that I got the best possible room. Outstanding location, outstanding breakfast. Here special mention must me for young Anastasia who was the perfect breakfast hostess and the others who worked there with her. Lovely, lovely place. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Tim Raynor wrote a review Dec 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Leeves the concierge was incredible. A pleasant hotel, situated in the middle of old Riga. The rooms are decorated in a manner befitting the hotel Did I mention Leeves the concierge. He was so attentive to us. He helped us book a restaurant last minute and found us superb place. We would definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
alatbish2 wrote a review Dec 2022
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom112 contributions101 helpful votes
Unbeatable location on a quiet street just off Dome Square. Huge suite room in need of modernisation. Reception very helpful. Breakfast was average, limited choice and not well managed regularly running out out of things like bread, coffee beans, water, butter, jam. Also hotel doesn’t have a bar or residents lounge area
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Gutenbergs, Owner at Hotel Gutenbergs
Responded 14 Dec 2022
Dear Sir Frederick, Greetings and Thank you so much for staying at the Gutenbergs Hotel. We also would like to Thank you for posting your review both - and at the Booking.com and at the Tripadvisor as it means a lot to us. It breaks our heart to know that you had some discomfort during breakfast and with the room, nonetheless, it makes us wonder why you have not asked for our help, even when We have asked you couple of times if everything is going well during your stay as most of the problems that occurred during your stay could have been dealt with within a short time in order to provide much more comfortable stay for you. For example - when something is wrong within the room - it is not possible, but necessary to inform us, so that it could fixed in no time at all. As an alternative to that - free of charge change of the room was possible as We have modern Junior Suites as well. Speaking about a bar - even though Hotel does not have a separate bar - it still possible to enjoy drinks at our Rooftop Restaurant. Do not be afraid to go there for a drink as the doors of our Restaurant are open for all our guests from 13:00 till 22:00. As We are not a big Hotel, it is very true that the lounge area is not that big as well, but nonetheless and with your kind permission, to tell that there is no lounge is not correct. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, Sir. Nonetheless, as you have not asked for help and as you have given false information to the Reception workers that your stay is going well - there was little We could have done to help you. We sincerely recommend to all our guests to not be afraid to ask help from us as it is always a pleasure to help as well as the cooperation and trust between the guests and Staff of the Hotel is a key for a much better and comfortable stay. Sincerely and good health willing, Levs Gutenbergs Hotel's Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
falmouthfoodie wrote a review Dec 2022
Falmouth, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
Absolutely fantastic in every way. Warm, comfortable and staff go far and beyond to make sure your stay is the best We visited in December and the Christmas Market was just a few yards away through the snow. Thank you for having us....
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
snappergirl wrote a review Dec 2022
UK55 contributions47 helpful votes
Hotel Guternbergs is a traditional family hotel in the centre of the Old Town. It offers all you'd expect by way of mod cons, but with character, and you can step out directly into Dome Square. For the room price, you couldn't get better value. The staff are super helpful and friendly, so we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Some of the rooms are in the old warehouse and have beams.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gutenbergs hotel riga
LOCATION
LatviaRiga RegionRiga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL GUTENBERGS - Now €63 (Was €̶1̶1̶2̶) - UPDATED 2023 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Gutenbergs
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Gutenbergs?
Nearby attractions include OldTown Archery Riga (0.3 km), Old City Riga (Vecriga) (0.3 km), and Jauniela (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Gutenbergs?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Gutenbergs?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Gutenbergs?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Gutenbergs?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Gutenbergs?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ms&Mr Beer, Two More Beers, and Parunasim kafe'teeka.
Does Hotel Gutenbergs have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Gutenbergs offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Gutenbergs located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Riga.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Gutenbergs?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Gutenbergs?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Russian, and Latvian.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Gutenbergs?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vermanes Garden (1.0 km), Livu Square (0.4 km), and Latvian National Theater (0.5 km).