We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Show Prices
#29 of 108 Hotels in Riga
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

946 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 440: English reviews
Ispra, Italy
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed there for a July weekend: the hotel is quite central and quite close to the airport bus stops. Nevertheless it was not noisy at all. All major sights are in walking distance. They even have free umbrellas to borrow in case it is raining. The room was a bit too small. Breakfast buffet was OK.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dogadoga
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor concerning your recent stay at Wellton Elefant Hotel. We are very pleased that you found so many positive aspects that you enjoyed during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel. Best Regards Matiss Cesnieks Wellton Hotel...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and loved it. This hotel is a 5 min walk from the Old town square and surrounded by attractions and restaurants. The hotel staff is super friendly and when they could not find the room type that I booked available, they immediately upgraded me to the nicest rooms in the hotel. Room was spacious, comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharadmhta
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are pleased to read that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything of a high standart, especially our rooms. We would also like to thank you for positive comments about our team members who provided you excellent service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Wellton Elefant Hotel....

Ishoej, Denmark
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I booked 2 rooms for 3 nights and we were greeted and shown to our rooms - no problem so far. Unfortunately the aircondition in one of the rooms was not working, and even though we told them every day, they did not manage to get it fixed, and we were offered absolutely no compensation! They simply did not care....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ClausO70
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your stay with us.We are disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been. We would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay. We like to explain that guests who like more comfort ,we always suggest to...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We booked this hotel three months in advance but yet when we tried to check in we were advises they had double booked and sent us miles outside the city centre to a bloody hostel that smelt like urine and I had to sleep in the floor despite paying for a four star hotel with spa treatments we couldn't even...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 781Wally
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest. Thank you for taking the time to review our Old Riga Palace hotel. We truly value the opinions of our custumers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We already forwarded your comments to corresponding hotel and we already fix these...

Uttoxeter, Staffordshire
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I spent 4 nights in this Hotel recently and was initially worried about the surroundings- not a particularly salubrious area of Riga with derelict buildings next door and up the road but I need not have worried. This Hotel is extremely well positioned with the river front seconds away and the central part of Old Riga less than 5 mins...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave F
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us.Your kind comments are greatly appreciated.Custumer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. Once again thank you very much for your kind support and we look forward to welcoming back to any of the Wellton Hotels in...

Reviewed 31 July 2013

.We had booked this particular hotel as we know Old Riga quite well and wanted to stay in that particular area as the bars and restaurants are quite good there and we wanted to indulge in the Spa of this hotel also. we arrived late in the evening having flown into Riga and getting delayed at passport control. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Loumogou
Lahti, Finland
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If you like to have a glass of sparkling wine at breakfast, this is your choice. Very near to old city and attractions. You can walk to shopping centre nearby. Public traffic connections are great. Not many tv channels, but who needs them anyway... If you are oversized, don't take economy room cause you don't fit into the shower cabinet....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cikkis66
Turenki
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent three night here with few friends and I have really nothing to complain. Nice and clean place and you can find everything needed near. Taxi to airport costs ten lats and bus 0,70. Very good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rondiye
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear , Rondiye Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are certainly happy to hear that generally you were satisfied whit your stay with us and we appreciated your positive feedback on our location. Even you would like to try another hotels in Riga , We truly hope that you will choose...

Wezembeek-Oppem, Belgium
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel photos show a spacious room, but we had a tiny room. Suitcase must sit in passage to bathroom. Two people could not pass at the foot of the bed. Hard wooden bedside goes right to the floor - stubbed my toe trying to walk past the bed. Bottom sheet too small for double bed so it kept coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George B
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for being our guest and taking time to share your comments with a Tripadvisor. Concerning Your comments about room spacing, if you you was choosing Standart type room we always suggest for our guests to choose Superior or Bussines type rooms - as these rooms are spacious and offer more comfortable stay. However we...

Norway
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel lies on a quiet street on the outskirts of the city centre with easy walking to most sites. I had a single room which was just fine. The mini bar was packed full at reasonable prices. The breakfast was very good, never have I had choices like meatballs and rice or cheese filled pancakes or pickles for breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigMNorway
Matiss_Cesnieks, Manager at Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, BigM Norway Thank you for your visit to our hotel and even more for candid comments you shared whit Tripadvisor readers. We are glad to hear that generally you were satisfied with your stay with us and we are appreciated your positive feedback on our breakfast and location. Thanks for detailed comments,our guest thoughts are important for us,that`s how...

617 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (275)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
0:32
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (120)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (313)
Viewed
Amenities (37)
Viewed
Economy Double Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Single Room (31)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Backyard View (28)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Bath (25)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with Shower (33)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Riga hotels
0.2 km away
Rixwell Centra Hotel
Rixwell Centra Hotel
#30 of 108 in Riga
594 reviews
0.3 km away
Wellton Centrum Hotel & SPA
0.4 km away
Old City Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Radi un Draugi
Radi un Draugi
#8 of 108 in Riga
557 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Monte Kristo
Hotel Monte Kristo
#45 of 108 in Riga
419 reviews
0.3 km away
Wellton Riga Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is hidden from City Center hustle and bustle in the quiet Old Riga street. Hotel’s 6-storу Art Deco building offers 100 elegantly decorated and comfortable rooms that are perfect for romantic leisure as well as business. All hotel’s room decorated with classical furniture and antique items. The hotel has a capacity of hosting 200 guests. Due to its location, the hotel is a good choice for ones, who want to combine the relaxing stay and sightseeing of Old Town. Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel is located in the very heart of Old Riga town and offers different services – lobby restaurant, wellness and SPA centre (solarium and gym not available till september), Nuga Best massage bed, sauna with whirlpool tub, conference room and banqueting facilities, car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel

Address: 8/10 Minsterejas Street, Riga 1050, Latvia (Formerly Wellton Old Riga Palace Hotel)
Region: Latvia > Riga Region > Riga
Price Range: €32 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Riga Palace Hotel Riga
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Riga
#23 Family Hotel in Riga
#29 Luxury Hotel in Riga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the new building room, located on a quiet small street.”
 of 5 bubbles SCR1964, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“stopped on floor 3 - room 309 comfortable, quiet, views very poor, bit cramped as room for 3, 3 single beds,”
 of 5 bubbles Hallamju, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back away from the building work.”
 of 5 bubbles petrolhead1, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Double room with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Welshperson1, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms overlook a construction site with work starting at about 8.00 am. ask for a quiet room if you want a later start to your day.”
 of 5 bubbles MsRiley, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5