We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Uelikooli 14, Tartu 51003 Estonia
Lowest prices for your stay
US$110
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/10/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (232)
Room & Suite (87)
Dining (17)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 04/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Lydia Hotel
Updated 04/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 26 hotels in Tartu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Combining the historical atmosphere of the Old Town with contemporary architecture, hotel Lydia is the perfect pick for business or leisure travelers. The four-star superior hotel has 70 rooms, including four suites. All the rooms are air-conditioned and with views to the Toomemägi Hill, Pirogov Park, the Town hall or Ülikooli Street. Hotel Lydia has a spa lounge, offering a variety of saunas and other relaxation options, a fitness club, a fine dining restaurant Hõlm and an event-centre, boasting with world-class lighting, sound and video solutions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Charming
847Reviews0Q+A37Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 746
  • 84
  • 11
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
philippedauwe wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
This hotel offers very good value for very acceptable price. The staff is very client-oriented, always looking to support the guests. The location of the hotel is really good to discover TARTU. The beds are of top-quality and the rooms are very quiet for a good night's sleep. Rooms are also spacious and well equipped. The shower and the toilet are saparated rooms, which is just great! The access to the parking is however very narrow, so you need good driving skills to get your car in the parking. Personnally I don't like carpet in hotel rooms, but I have to admit that the carpet appeared to be clean.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jeremyeshleman wrote a review 24 Sep
San Antonio, Texas1 contribution
Hotel Lydia is a very nice hotel in a perfect location. Steps away from things to do, eat, and see. Surrounded by historical features and structures, this hotel was perfect for the week inwas in town. The restaurant was outstanding and the bed was the most comfortable. I would love to come back here again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi R, Marketing at Lydia Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Jeremy, Thank you for choosing to stay at Lydia Hotel and taking your time to write us a review. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back any time soon! Best wishes, Hotel Lydia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mel2701 wrote a review 23 Sep
Estonia4 contributions2 helpful votes
Its amazing how the Lydia Hotel is keeping highest level in accommodation, services and restaurant already years! Breakfast food variety and quality is really WoW! Dinner with fine dining menu with wines choices...well, I'm glad that I have possibility to stay in such of great Hotel! Lydia hotel is always first pick in Tartu, sincere recommendation, without any doubts!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi R, Marketing at Lydia Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Hello! Thank you for choosing to stay at Lydia Hotel and taking your time to write us a review. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back any time soon! Best wishes, Hotel Lydia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
evepaas wrote a review 23 Sep
1 contribution
the quality is the same as from the day of opening, breakfast is a great pleasure. in the middle of the city center and restaurant is very good as well. everything is very close, walking distance, many other good restaurants and bars are also close.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi R, Marketing at Lydia Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Eve, Thank you for choosing to stay at Lydia Hotel and taking your time to write us a review. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back any time soon! Best wishes, Hotel Lydia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laurietriefeldt wrote a review 20 Sep
1 contribution
Hotel and room was modern, clean and in ideal location. We were disappointed that the hotel had no bar, the spa was never open when convenient for us. Sadly unable to use restaurant as we failed to make reservations for Saturday and it is closed Sunday…it just felt like every time I asked for something, the answer was no.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diana Timberg, General Manager at Lydia Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello, Laurie! Thank you very much for the feedback, we appreciate it a lot and its important to us. We are sad to hear that your stay was not you expected. For the bar replacement we have Self service lounge at the lobby where you can enjoy several savory and sweet snacks, sandwiches, soft drinks, coffee, tea and a selection of wine and champagne. If you wish, you can mix yourself a nice cocktail. The Spa opening hours are at the morning until 11:00 and then from 15:00 -23:00 on weekends, we are very sorry that the times wasn´t suitable for you. Hopefully you can visit us again so you can enjoy better accommodation experience. Thank you once more and best regards, Lydia hotel team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathrin_8923 wrote a review 16 Sep
1 contribution
From check-in to check out, food, room and all, really nice and comfortable. I enjoyed the sauna and wellness area. People travelling from Germany and Austria should know that you must wear your bathing clothes in the sauna.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi R, Marketing at Lydia Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kathrin, Thank you for choosing to stay at Lydia Hotel and taking your time to write us a review. Yes, in Estonia we mostly wear the bathing suits if it's a common sauna, for both males and females :) We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back any time soon! Best wishes, Hotel Lydia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
silverfromtallinn wrote a review 14 Sep
Tallinn, Estonia1 contribution
This hotel is situated right in the heart of Tartu, so every business trip is a comfortable. The value for money is very good! The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is always very tasty and the pancakes are a delight.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi R, Marketing at Lydia Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Silver, Thank you for choosing to stay at Lydia Hotel and taking your time to write us a review. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back any time soon! Best wishes, Hotel Lydia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
perforberg wrote a review 13 Sep
1 contribution
Excellent hotel, fantastic staff and service and great breakfast and dinner! From booking to departure everything works. Staff is very helpful if you need help with anything and the location is perfect!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi R, Marketing at Lydia Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello! Thank you for choosing to stay at Lydia Hotel and taking your time to write us a review. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back any time soon! Best wishes, Hotel Lydia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
suviml2022 wrote a review 11 Sep
Jarvenpaa, Finland1 contribution
Great location close to everything, great restaurant (+ breakfast) and spa, friendly service. Really clean. Driving to the parking garage is a bit tricky. This hotel is an excellent choice when you visit Tartu!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kristi R, Marketing at Lydia Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello! Thank you for choosing to stay at Lydia Hotel and taking your time to write us a review. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back any time soon! Best wishes, Hotel Lydia Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Winstone7 wrote a review 10 Sep
Dubai, United Arab Emirates219 contributions159 helpful votes
The room has an odd layout so be aware when booking, I lot of insignificant space that makes little sense. The decor is modern but simple, no luxuries, the AC system clicked persistently all night as we only stayed one night there little to be done, the bathroom was very large with a heated floor, again we would lost as to why this was needed. Beware additional costs. I booked a double room, I then registered my wife only to be charged €20, then I asked to use the parking, another €10, all this on top of a relative high room rate. Finally ask for a room that is not road facing, the receptionist does not tell you that your sleep will be broken by loud shouting or the traffic! It’s a nice hotel nothing exceptional, but on balance you should be aware of all the above.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diana Timberg, General Manager at Lydia Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hello! Thank you very much for your feedback, we appreciate it a lot and this is important to us. We are sad to hear that you did not like our hotel layout. About the costs, we must say that all the extra cost are visible in all our channels, the room price if booking two person and also parking cost, so we are very sorry to hear that you did not find them. No costs are hidden and are visible in all channels. Thank you once more for the feedback and best regards from hotel Lydia team!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$109 - US$150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
EstoniaTartu CountyTartu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lydia Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Lydia Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Tartu Town Hall Square (0.1 km), Tartu Old City (0.09 km), and 'The Kissing Students' sculpture and fountain (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lydia Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Lydia Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Lydia Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Lydia Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Werner Cafe, La Dolce Vita, and Restaurant Hõlm.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lydia Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Lydia Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Tartu.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lydia Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Lydia Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Lydia Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tartu Town Hall Square (0.1 km), Tartu Saksa Kultuuri Instituut (0.8 km), and Luke Manor and Manor Park (0.5 km).
Is Lydia Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.