Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

L'Ermitage Hotel

Toompuiestee 19, Tallinn 10137 Estonia
Traveller (523)
Room & Suite (171)
Dining (45)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

€49
€43
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#23 of 89 hotels in Tallinn
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The modern 4-star Hotel L'Ermitage is located in the centre of Tallinn, just a 5-minute walk from the Town Hall. In total it has 122 rooms, providing a luxurios stay in various rooms, including standard, business, superior rooms and suites. In addition to guest rooms, the hotel also features two restaurants - L'Ermitage and Katze - an all-new contemporary conference hall, and a private sauna with a Jacuzzi. Many attractions, locals favorite bars and restaurants are located nearby the hotel, in walkable distance. The Nordic serenity of Hotel L`Ermitage catches the eye as you approach the building. The interior of the hotel welcomes its guests with a warm and bright atmosphere, encouraging visitors to enjoy our guest rooms, restaurants, conference hall, and sauna, benefitting from Northern, elegant interiors filled with well thought-out detail that always accentuates convenience, comfort, and tranquillity.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Sauna
Free breakfast
Car hire
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Estonian, Finnish
1312Reviews12Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 520
  • 545
  • 174
  • 46
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Monckeynuts wrote a review Feb 2020
West Sussex66 contributions94 helpful votes
We had an excellent four night stay in L'Ermitage. Upon arrival we were greeted by a cheerful receptionist, who very kindly let us have a kettle for our room, at no extra cost as I explained that I am a Teaholic.!
Our room overlooked the main road going past, but this was in no way a problem as it was not really that noisy. Sadly the window did not open at all which was a bit of a shame as we did find the room a trifle warm every now and again.
The king sized bed was Very Comfortable, the lighting in the room was excellent, with bedside lamps, and little reading lights as well.
The bathroom had underfloor heating which was adjustable, a shower in the bath, hairdryer, shaver plug, shower gel and shampoo.
The towels could have been changed everyday if we so wanted, but we kept hanging them up so that the housemaid would leave them for another day.
The buffet breakfast was very good, a range of hot drinks, juices, milk, cold meats, cheeses, pickled fish, pickled vegetables, breads, bread rolls, porridge, cereals, dried fruit, fresh fruit, pancakes, stewed red berries, sour cream. The Cooked buffet of eggs, potatoes, bacon, beans, sausages, and mushrooms.
Management please note......The problem here though was that the potato was presented in the same dish as the bacon, so if you are a Vegetarian or Vegan you cannot have the potato.
Oh don't forget the Croissants and Apple Danish.
The staff were always cheerful and helpful, suggesting the best way to travel to different sights.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MariliisMetsla, Front Office Manager at L'Ermitage Hotel
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear Monckeynuts Thank you for staying at Hotel L'Ermitage, we are extremely thankful for your kind feedback, it means a lot! Thank you for explaning your experiance so detailed and for mentioning positively our service personnel. I will most definately forward your kind words! Also your comment regarding the potatoes and bacon is noted and forwarded to the F&B manager, who will overlook the matter. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel L'Ermitage soon enough! Yours sincerely, Mari-Liis Metsla Front Office Manager Hotel L'Ermitage
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mari G wrote a review Jul 2020
Helsinki, Finland1 contribution
We booked “a romantic superior double room” which was a large room with a nice bathroom and a bathtub. The name of the room was a bit misleading because it was just an ordinary room, and nothing “romantic” there. However, the room was very spacious and clean, the bed was excellent and we had windows to the backyard so no noise from the main road at all.

The location of the hotel is at the outskirts of the old town so it’s easy to reach all the restaurants there. What I most loved about the location was that it’s also close to Telliskivi which brings more options to choose your restaurant for lunch and dinner. Easy walking distance to everywhere.

The breakfast was a great disappointment to me. I love a quality hotel breakfast but this wasn’t it unfortunately. There wasn’t much variety and it would be ok if it was all very high quality but it wasn’t. And with the current COVID-19 situation, I would have expected a bit more from the hotel in regards of trying to make the presentation of food more “hygienic” (for example hard plastic covers on top of cheese and hams would have been made it more hygienic). The breakfast room was very small and it was packed with guests on our first morning. On the second morning we got up really early on purpose to avoid the crowds and managed to do that. But I would recommend to skip the hotel breakfast completely and go to a cafe instead.

Even though the breakfast wasn’t good at all, I will grade the hotel well as the room was great. However, hotel breakfast is so important to me that I wouldn’t stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ursula Väliste, Marketing at L'Ermitage Hotel
Responded 29 Jul 2020
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are glad to hear that you liked our hotel. Sorry to hear that you were not pleased with our breakfast. We will pass your comments on to our F&B manager. We take every reccommendation and comment very seriously and thus, will also discuss this matter with the rest of the management team. We do hope that you will give us another chance to prove to you that we can do better. Kind regards, Hotel L'Ermitage Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allen L wrote a review Feb 2020
Tartu, Estonia2 contributions
We choose this hotel just stay over night on businesss trip. We like a early breakfast on weekend (Sat. 7.30) and location. Later we found out as there is a parking slot either, but we leave our car another place and come with taxi. Room were very nice, modern interior and nice bathroom. Pillows were soft and big enough for good sleep. And there were option to choose of size either. As we travel a lot then all hotles looks similar and we decide to value hotel by food they offer to dinner or breakfast. You can spend a lot money and create very good looking interior, but on the end of day, you still need a eat. And way, how hotel manage a food and how its presented to guests its really important and its actually shows, how they care of guests. Many hotels offer salmon and omletr or mixed egg meal to breakfast and there is the best option to see real skills of chef. We found as the salmon there were right as its supposed to be - not killed or overkilled with spaces or souces. Scramled eggs were fresh, soft and good. Third option to value is a availability porridge and its quality - thick or liquid? This time it were in right condition and tasty. I will come again and can recommend it and I dont recommend often - only when pleased..
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mari-Liis Metsla, Guest Services / Front Office at L'Ermitage Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear All2dance, Thank you for choosing Hotel L'Ermitage! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It really gives us the power to continue with the good work! Thank you for explaning your experiance so detailed and for mentioning positively our cozy room and delicious breakfast! I will most definately forward your kind words! It is a pleasure that you stayed with us and we hope to be able to welcome you again soon! Yours sincerely, Mari-Liis Metsla Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
geoffreygeorgeru2016 wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
I enjoyed my stay at L’Ermitage. My only slight criticism of the hotel was its location at the bottom of the hill leading to the Old Town. It is amazing how tiring this gets after a few trips in to visit the sights. Having said this, the cost of accommodation reflects this – and I have no doubt that visitors pay a premium to stay more in the centre of things.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mari-Liis Metsla, Guest Services / Front Office at L'Ermitage Hotel
Responded 1 Jun 2020
Dear Geoffrey Thank you for choosing Hotel L'Ermitage for your stay in Tallinn, we appreciate your feedback! We are sorry to hear that our location was unpleasant for you and we hope that nevertheless you still enjoyed your stay with us! Yours sincerely, Mari-Liis Metsla Front Office Manager Hotel L'Ermitage
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna_202111 wrote a review Nov 2021
Rigaud, Canada1 contribution
The room did not meet the services promised by you on the Booking.com advert:
Soundproof room - we could hear everything that people were talking about next doors in the hallway, just makes you wonder what private conversations could they hear...
The special feature "View" was actually to garages and in front of them were trees through which you couldn't even enjoy the "garages" anymore.
We requested for sauna but that request was rejected due to an overbooking issue. When my partner complained about the view AND the sauna not being available, the receptionist advised that the private sauna is actually available for our time for 20th Nov, 19:00 but the charge for 1 hour is €30, while the offer from you was for 2 hours and €35.
Also, we received a message from you on Booking.com that the dinner is going to be at 19:00 although we did not request it (therefore it was rejected within Booking.com in a response to that message).
Then, when booking in, the receptionist asked us what time we would like to have the dinner and advised us that the dinner can be that day or any other day after, and it would be "on the house" - we accepted the offer for the next day, 20th September 19:00. For which, when checking out, we ended up being charged anyway.

Nonetheless, the management team who organised breakfast for the hotel visitors were failing to meet expectations, the hall was overcrowded, with nowhere to sit. The food was cold although we turned up as confirmed at 9 am and the juice was diluted.

Shower gel and shampoo also wasn't replaced.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexandra wrote a review Jan 2020
Dundee, United Kingdom32 contributions4 helpful votes
I would definitely highly recommend this hotel. The location is just perfect, next to the old city town about 8-9 minutes walk to the Freedom square or old city town. The room size was enough, about medium size and lovely clean bathroom. Very close bus stations around the hotel, one in front if the hotel and the other ones 3 minutes walk. I will definitely choose the hotel again. Thank you!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MariliisMetsla, Front Office Manager at L'Ermitage Hotel
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear F8999XQalexandraa We are thrilled to read your feedback regarding your stay with us, thank you! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, together with our location and the room. It is really a recognition to hear that our guests stay was that good that they'd consider visiting us again! Hopefully we have a chance to welcome you back soon! Yours sincerely, Mari-Liis Metsla Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nicobor wrote a review Mar 2022
Helsinki, Finland5 contributions
Good service and thick walls. Very nice breakfast. The walls and doors to the rooms seem to be well isolated as we did not hear a thing from the corridor/hallway or othet rooms even if there were other visitors. This made us feel safe and cozy. I can recommend this place:)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: They also offer parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
vujicsanja wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
Everything was great, our room was spacious, comfortable and warm which is definitely important considering the cold Estonian winter. The location is very good, a ten-minute walk from the Town Hall Square and you can get from the airport to the hotel by taking a bus that stops right in front of the hotel and costs only 1 euro. The only little thing I would add would be a couple more options for a sweet breakfast (like a chocolate cream to go with delicious pancakes they make every day), but other than that I wouldn’t change anything!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Allu1967 wrote a review Mar 2020
Lempaala, Finland19 contributions5 helpful votes
We can't fault the room that we were given. It was exactly what we paid for. It was quiet and clean. There was a coffee maker with 2 coffee pods but nothing for those of us who drink tea. It was a higher priced room , so I would have expected a kettle and tea bags. Maybe complimentary water!
Breakfast was adequate but nothing to write home about! The scrambled egg was dry and very limited choices.
Dinner was of poor quality and my wife's reaf fish was having a very strong taste in which we complained, but to no avail, so she had to do without as another main course was not offered. My steak, though ordered med/rare came bloodless and tasteless, not a hint of seasoning lumpy mashed potato, one tiny overcooked baby carrot. Dessert was fine.
The food at this hotel, considering it is supposed to be 4* is really poor, I am sad to report from our experience. The manager should really do something about this asap. It is a shame as the dining areas have so much potential.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Thanks.
The location was good in our mind.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mari-Liis Metsla, Guest Services / Front Office at L'Ermitage Hotel
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Dear Allu1967 Thank you for taking time to leave us a feedback on Tripadvisor, we highly appreciate it! It fills us with sorrow to hear that you had to endure such inconvenience while staying with us. We place a great effort on delivering the best experiences to our guests and we are sorry to hear that we did not succeed this time. Your sentiments are highly valued and I will definately forward them to our F&B manager, who will overlook the quality of the products both in breakfast and in dinner. Nevertheless, we sincerely hope that this inconvenience did not leave a negative impact for your overall stay in Tallin. Yours sincerely, Mari-Liis Metsla Front Office Manager Hotel L'Ermitage
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cbe001 wrote a review Oct 2022
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom144 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
I booked a standard family room, even though it was just for me, as I like somewhere to sit besides the bed. At booking there was no mention of 2 twin beds and all the photos showed a double bed. I also requested a high floor. On checking in I was given room 303, there are 6 floors, 1st floor is the reception, so there was only 1 floor beneath me. I booked through Booking.com and now both them and the hotel seem to have stopped advertising family rooms. On the hotel website it states the standard rooms are located on a higher floor!! I rang reception to ask to change to a room with a double bed, but was told none were available, end of! If I wanted a single bed I would have booked a single room and saved some money. The air conditioning was useless, 4 hours and the temperature dropped by a half a degree. I tried several times to ring reception but nobody answered. I resorted to opening the window, not ideal but at least the room was cooler. The decor was a little tatty, as was the bathroom. Breakfast was only ok, this is definitely not a 4 star hotell. The staff are all very young and don't seem to understand the concept of customer care, they didn't even ask if everything was ok when I checked out. There are a number of discrepancies from the Booking.com website and what you actually get, it states a bidet, ironing facilities, a fan and coffee maker, none of which were in the room. The bathroom certainly didn't match a 4 star hotel, cheap soap dispensers and it was insufferablely hot. I definitely don't recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Per S
Karlstad, Sweden105 contributions39 helpful votes
Hello! Who said anything about a mountain? Its just a bit uphill from the old town thats it. Cheers Per
Show all answers
Answer from HotelLErmitage
Tallinn, Estonia2 contributions
Hello! Thank you for your letter! You can send email to reservations@lermitagehotel.ee, or if this does not work you can send it to info@lermitagehotel.ee Let me know if you need any further assistance. Hopefully see you soon in Tallinn and L'Ermitage Hotel. Kerli Marmor Hotel L'Ermitage +372 6996 400
Answer from HotelLErmitage
Tallinn, Estonia2 contributions
Hello from Tallinn and L'Ermitage hotel! Our superior rooms have: Bathtube/or shower Towels Slippers Hairdryer Bathrobe Sewing set Shower cap Vanity kit Shampoo Conditioner Shower gel Soap See you soon! Team L'Ermitage
Answer from Sanjči
London, United Kingdom274 contributions53 helpful votes
We did not have an iron in the room, but had called the reception and they brought ironing board and iron within 2 minuets. It is not top class iron but does the job. Hope it helps!
Show all answers
Answer from Susie M
West Yorkshire2,064 contributions225 helpful votes
We went in the height of summer and the room was very hot but there was a fan in the room and we kept it on all through the night and the window open. It is a very good hotel and as Rodrigo says, the management are helpful
Show all answers
Alexandra B wrote a tip Jul 2023
London, United Kingdom5 contributions6 helpful votes
"If have children or not do not stay. Look elsewhere. Very bad customer service! no tables to eat food/eating whilst standing/very rude staff"
Read full review
Elena B wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
"Bad location, bad service, no room for breakfast "
Read full review
Fiona and John B wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
"Bring snacks if arriving late. Book a breakfast box/takeaway if taking the train south as hotel timings are out of step with train timetable"
Read full review
JakeAHope wrote a tip Mar 2023
London, United Kingdom3 contributions
"Easy access to buses and old town and further afield. "
Read full review
Thekingsolomon wrote a tip Oct 2022
Berlin, Germany387 contributions82 helpful votes
"If breakfast is not included in your room rate, cross the street and go to ‚‘Cafe kiosk No. 1‘ , for good coffee, pastries and energy."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tallinn area.
PRICE RANGE
€42 - €50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
l ermitage hotel tallinn
LOCATION
EstoniaHarju CountyTallinn
NUMBER OF ROOMS
122
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

L'ERMITAGE HOTEL - Now €43 (Was €̶5̶4̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Tallinn, Estonia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about L'Ermitage Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to L'Ermitage Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Toompea Hill (0.3 km), Aleksander Nevski Katedraali (0.4 km), and Kiek in de Kok and Bastion Passages Museum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at L'Ermitage Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at L'Ermitage Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at L'Ermitage Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at L'Ermitage Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to L'Ermitage Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kalambuur, Ginger, and Poobel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at L'Ermitage Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at L'Ermitage Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does L'Ermitage Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at L'Ermitage Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, Finnish, and Estonian.