We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Grand Zilina

Save
Share
Sladkovicova 1, Zilina 010 01 Slovakia
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (8)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 7 hotels in Zilina
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Grand is situated in a car-free zone right in the historic centre of Zilina. It offers a modern spa area and free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel. All rooms have an en-suite bathroom and a cable TV. Some rooms are air-conditioned and feature a spa bathtub. Apart from comfortable rooms, luxury Wellness Center guests can enjoy, international cuisine and Slovak specialities served in the Brasserie style restaurant. The cafe on the ground floor offers a wide range of drinks. A variety of small shops and restaurants, cafés and bars with terraces can be found near the Hotel Grand. Hotel Grand in Zilina has a tradition dating from 1910. In this year the hotel opened its doors for the first time for guests. In 2004 the hotel undergone major renovation works such as reconstruction and the repair of the exterior of the building to meet the needs of demanding guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
70Reviews1Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 29
  • 21
  • 8
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
A. Husby wrote a review Aug 2019
3 contributions
The receptionist was rude and disinterested. When I asked for directions to the parking area, she snidely responded "I don't know where your car is.", then proceeded to speak to my wife, who is Czech as if I weren't there. I wanted to avoid writing a review at all, but chose to after checking out. I tried to let the receptionist on duty when we checked out that their service during our check in was less than expected, but the receptionist didn't seem to understand what I was trying to say. As for our room, it was ok, the furniture is dated and in general the room smelled old, not unpleasant, just old.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Janko3278 wrote a review Aug 2019
Columbus, Ohio58 contributions14 helpful votes
Great historic hotel right on the square....parking conveniently located behind hotel...decent breakfast,,, clean quiet room with good AC,,,walking to restaurants, shopping, farmers market... friendly knowledgeable staff
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Sandy3939 wrote a review Jan 2017
Dublin, Ireland121 contributions83 helpful votes
The name is a bit of a misnomer but then I have stayed in much worse with even more grandiose titles. The room was a bit down at heel, with stained carpet, rickety furniture and an entrance light that didn’t work. The bed was comfortable enough but I continue my quest for a good pillow. Why have an oversized bolster that seems to be filled with air offering no head support? A big plus was the heating, with -16 outside. The shower was an odd affair, whereby you sit on a ledge and hold the nozzle for showering but the water was hot. On the ground floor there are two restaurants, one smoking and one non-smoking. The first morning I went to the wrong one, where I paid for my breakfast, not knowing that at the other side of the reception a free breakfast was waiting for hotel guests. All a bit confusing. On the positive side, the staff were very helpful and eager to please. In short, a basic, perfectly OK three star hotel in a good location that is in need of some upgrading.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Make sure you get the right breakfast
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from DusanLukac, Manažér at Hotel Grand Zilina
Responded 6 Feb 2017
Hello, Dear guest Firstable we would like to thank you that you stayed with us ! We would like to thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. You review is very helpful for us, so we know what we can do better and what to improve. We would like to apologize for inconveniences. We would like to inform you that we are trying to do our best in renovating the hotel. For example, we will have new carpets in hotel halls in February. We hope that you will come back again so you can compare difference. Hope to see you soon :) Best Regards Dusan
Read more
Uncapedcrusader wrote a review Dec 2016
Spain36 contributions9 helpful votes
Don't be fooled by the title, it's not very 'grand' at all I'm afraid. The room was pokey and furnished by someone who is visually challenged. The 'bed' doesn't really suit the normal definition of the word, and the bath was just weird....with tepid water. The breakfast was very poor (the coffee was awful) and the whole place needs a make-over. There are better places in town this one.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from DusanLukac, Manažér at Hotel Grand Zilina
Responded 30 Dec 2016
Hello, Dear Guest Firstable, we would like to thank you that you stayed with us ! It was a pleasure for us to meet you here. Thank you for your review, which is really important to us. We really try to renovate a lot of things. In year 2016 we bought new televisions, we have new hotel cosmetics, which is very good and so on. In year 2017 we are going to change the carpets in halls of the hotel. Once again thank you for your stay and for your review. I think things get better and better and we hope you will come again to see it :) Best Regards Dusan, manager Hotel Grand
Read more
Anders W wrote a review Aug 2016
London, United Kingdom33 contributions36 helpful votes
Let’s start with the positives about Hotel Grand. First, its location in the corner of the Marianske Namestie (i.e. Žilina’s historical square), with access to the street called Dolný Val running alongside the square. The train station is approximately a 10 minute walk in almost a straight line. Another good thing about the hotel is that it is clean and yes…it is comfortable, including a comfortable mattress and free Wifi. The Brasserie style restaurant is also a big bonus. Its ambience is pleasant, with decent prices. Its selection of surprisingly tasty international foods (including burgers, pasty etc.) provides a nice break from the Slovakian cousine. And the bar staff knew how to make tasty international drinks, like a proper Brazilian Caipirinha and an Irish Coffee. Moreover, a large nice Slovakian lager beer costs a mere €1.50, which is terrific value. There is a choice of restaurants around the square, but its convenience, menu selection and prices made it more than worthwhile to eat at the Hotel. Stayed in one of the so-called ‘Apartment’ rooms on the third floor at a cost of €100 per night at the end of August 2016, including breakfast. The room had a large double bed with a sofa bed in the ‘lounge’ area. The bathroom was large with a hydromassage bath, but lacking a shower screen and wall mounting for showering so the floor got wet quickly. The bathroom tiling and room fittings and furniture were outdated. The Hotel claims it had undergone major renovation works in 2004, but it felt like it was stuck in the 1980s somehow. But everything was clean and…comfortable! The Wifi was unstable but, once connected the Wifi for rooms on all floors using the universal password, the problem disappeared. The Hotel promotes itself as a 3-star hotel (although its façade includes a 4th star!). It’s unclear which (if any) organisation actually awarded this classification, but it is possible that it satisfies HOTREC’s criteria for a comfort rating. But some visitors might expect more from a 3-star. Apart from the somewhat dated feel about the Hotel (see above), the breakfast was a bit of a disappointment – small selection of bread, warm food (scramble eggs and sausages), yoghurts and fruit. The Hotel staff’s English comprehension was also very basic. Overall, had a pleasant stay at Hotel Grand and it is recommended for a stay in Žilina if your expectations are managed! Its location is, however, great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Staying on 3rd floor offers great views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from DusanLukac, Manažér at Hotel Grand Zilina
Responded 2 Sep 2016
Hello, Dear Anders Firstable, we would like to thank you that you stayed with us ! It was very nice to meet you. We wanna thank you for this long and objective review. We are glad that you write us what you like and what you did not like. It is opportunity for us to get better in some ways. But in general, we are glad that you liked our hotel and our hotel services. We hope to see you soon sometimes :) Best Regards Dusan, manager Hotel Grand
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$77 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SlovakiaZilina RegionZilina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Grand Zilina
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Grand Zilina?
Nearby attractions include Marianske Square (0.08 km), Holy Trinity Cathedral (0.5 km), and Aupark (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Grand Zilina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Grand Zilina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Grand Zilina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe & Restaurant La Famille, Beervana, and Restaurant NAROHU.
Is Hotel Grand Zilina located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Zilina.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Grand Zilina?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Grand Zilina offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Grand Zilina?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Zilina Catacomb (0.07 km).