We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Sladkovicova 1, Zilina 010 01 Slovakia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$94
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$93
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
eDreams
US$94
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.comUS$93
Agoda.comUS$93
EtripUS$93
View all 8 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (42)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (8)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#4 of 8 hotels in Zilina
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Grand is situated in a car-free zone right in the historic centre of Zilina. It offers a modern spa area and free Wi-Fi in the entire hotel. All rooms have an en-suite bathroom and a cable TV. Some rooms are air-conditioned and feature a spa bathtub. Apart from comfortable rooms, luxury Wellness Center guests can enjoy, international cuisine and Slovak specialities served in the Brasserie style restaurant. The cafe on the ground floor offers a wide range of drinks. A variety of small shops and restaurants, cafés and bars with terraces can be found near the Hotel Grand. Hotel Grand in Zilina has a tradition dating from 1910. In this year the hotel opened its doors for the first time for guests. In 2004 the hotel undergone major renovation works such as reconstruction and the repair of the exterior of the building to meet the needs of demanding guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
71Reviews1Q+A7Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 30
  • 21
  • 8
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Joseph G wrote a review Mar 2022
Lille, France461 contributions324 helpful votes
+1
In the center of žilina (10 min from the train station), this hotel has a great location, great restaurant (try the Balkan spread or the fish with aspergus 🤤). The staff was very helpful since my arrival to the end of my stay. The rooms are relatively small and a bit old (furniture wise), but everything else was great.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
A. Husby wrote a review Aug 2019
3 contributions
The receptionist was rude and disinterested. When I asked for directions to the parking area, she snidely responded "I don't know where your car is.", then proceeded to speak to my wife, who is Czech as if I weren't there. I wanted to avoid writing a review at all, but chose to after checking out. I tried to let the receptionist on duty when we checked out that their service during our check in was less than expected, but the receptionist didn't seem to understand what I was trying to say. As for our room, it was ok, the furniture is dated and in general the room smelled old, not unpleasant, just old.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Janko3278 wrote a review Aug 2019
Columbus, Ohio58 contributions14 helpful votes
Great historic hotel right on the square....parking conveniently located behind hotel...decent breakfast,,, clean quiet room with good AC,,,walking to restaurants, shopping, farmers market... friendly knowledgeable staff
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sandy3939 wrote a review Jan 2017
Dublin, Ireland121 contributions83 helpful votes
The name is a bit of a misnomer but then I have stayed in much worse with even more grandiose titles. The room was a bit down at heel, with stained carpet, rickety furniture and an entrance light that didn’t work. The bed was comfortable enough but I continue my quest for a good pillow. Why have an oversized bolster that seems to be filled with air offering no head support? A big plus was the heating, with -16 outside. The shower was an odd affair, whereby you sit on a ledge and hold the nozzle for showering but the water was hot. On the ground floor there are two restaurants, one smoking and one non-smoking. The first morning I went to the wrong one, where I paid for my breakfast, not knowing that at the other side of the reception a free breakfast was waiting for hotel guests. All a bit confusing. On the positive side, the staff were very helpful and eager to please. In short, a basic, perfectly OK three star hotel in a good location that is in need of some upgrading.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Make sure you get the right breakfast
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DusanLukac, Manažér at Hotel Grand Zilina
Responded 6 Feb 2017
Hello, Dear guest Firstable we would like to thank you that you stayed with us ! We would like to thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. You review is very helpful for us, so we know what we can do better and what to improve. We would like to apologize for inconveniences. We would like to inform you that we are trying to do our best in renovating the hotel. For example, we will have new carpets in hotel halls in February. We hope that you will come back again so you can compare difference. Hope to see you soon :) Best Regards Dusan
Read more
Philip B wrote a review Dec 2016
Spain39 contributions11 helpful votes
Don't be fooled by the title, it's not very 'grand' at all I'm afraid. The room was pokey and furnished by someone who is visually challenged. The 'bed' doesn't really suit the normal definition of the word, and the bath was just weird....with tepid water. The breakfast was very poor (the coffee was awful) and the whole place needs a make-over. There are better places in town this one.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DusanLukac, Manažér at Hotel Grand Zilina
Responded 30 Dec 2016
Hello, Dear Guest Firstable, we would like to thank you that you stayed with us ! It was a pleasure for us to meet you here. Thank you for your review, which is really important to us. We really try to renovate a lot of things. In year 2016 we bought new televisions, we have new hotel cosmetics, which is very good and so on. In year 2017 we are going to change the carpets in halls of the hotel. Once again thank you for your stay and for your review. I think things get better and better and we hope you will come again to see it :) Best Regards Dusan, manager Hotel Grand
Read more
Anders W wrote a review Aug 2016
London, United Kingdom33 contributions36 helpful votes
Let’s start with the positives about Hotel Grand. First, its location in the corner of the Marianske Namestie (i.e. Žilina’s historical square), with access to the street called Dolný Val running alongside the square. The train station is approximately a 10 minute walk in almost a straight line. Another good thing about the hotel is that it is clean and yes…it is comfortable, including a comfortable mattress and free Wifi. The Brasserie style restaurant is also a big bonus. Its ambience is pleasant, with decent prices. Its selection of surprisingly tasty international foods (including burgers, pasty etc.) provides a nice break from the Slovakian cousine. And the bar staff knew how to make tasty international drinks, like a proper Brazilian Caipirinha and an Irish Coffee. Moreover, a large nice Slovakian lager beer costs a mere €1.50, which is terrific value. There is a choice of restaurants around the square, but its convenience, menu selection and prices made it more than worthwhile to eat at the Hotel. Stayed in one of the so-called ‘Apartment’ rooms on the third floor at a cost of €100 per night at the end of August 2016, including breakfast. The room had a large double bed with a sofa bed in the ‘lounge’ area. The bathroom was large with a hydromassage bath, but lacking a shower screen and wall mounting for showering so the floor got wet quickly. The bathroom tiling and room fittings and furniture were outdated. The Hotel claims it had undergone major renovation works in 2004, but it felt like it was stuck in the 1980s somehow. But everything was clean and…comfortable! The Wifi was unstable but, once connected the Wifi for rooms on all floors using the universal password, the problem disappeared. The Hotel promotes itself as a 3-star hotel (although its façade includes a 4th star!). It’s unclear which (if any) organisation actually awarded this classification, but it is possible that it satisfies HOTREC’s criteria for a comfort rating. But some visitors might expect more from a 3-star. Apart from the somewhat dated feel about the Hotel (see above), the breakfast was a bit of a disappointment – small selection of bread, warm food (scramble eggs and sausages), yoghurts and fruit. The Hotel staff’s English comprehension was also very basic. Overall, had a pleasant stay at Hotel Grand and it is recommended for a stay in Žilina if your expectations are managed! Its location is, however, great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Staying on 3rd floor offers great views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DusanLukac, Manažér at Hotel Grand Zilina
Responded 2 Sep 2016
Hello, Dear Anders Firstable, we would like to thank you that you stayed with us ! It was very nice to meet you. We wanna thank you for this long and objective review. We are glad that you write us what you like and what you did not like. It is opportunity for us to get better in some ways. But in general, we are glad that you liked our hotel and our hotel services. We hope to see you soon sometimes :) Best Regards Dusan, manager Hotel Grand
Read more
Chris H wrote a review Aug 2016
19 contributions12 helpful votes
Have stayed in this hotel several times and have no complaints. Perfectly adequate rooms (we were upgraded free of charge on one occasion to a lovely room with a full view of the square and a Jacuzzi in the bathroom. It's not the Ritz, but doesn't pretend to be. Have stayed elsewhere in Žilina, but if a decent, reasonably priced hotel is what you need, then Grand should be your first choice!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DusanLukac, Manažér at Hotel Grand Zilina
Responded 2 Sep 2016
Hello, Dear Chris We would like to thank you that you often stay in Hotel Grand in Žilina. We really apprecciate your feedback and review. We are glad, that you like it here. We are looking forward for your next visit. See you soon :) Best Regards Dusan
Read more
Robert H wrote a review Jul 2016
Washington DC, District of Columbia68 contributions19 helpful votes
Hotel Grand is located in the heart of Zilina and on the main city square where many restaurants, cafes and shopping are located. The hotel has a spa area, good breakfast and a nice bar area. On-site parking and free hotel internet make it convenient. Zilina is an older city that has a lot of history and many castles within a short drive. Many outdoor activities can be enjoyed in the surrounding mountains. Zilina also has a great nightlife and many Euro disco/clubs to enjoy. Plenty of good food, beer and many shopping locations. Take the airport in Zilina or the train to Vienna or Prague or a three hour drive to the Vienna airport.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Get the apartment or suite on the third floor for the largest room size and views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DusanLukac, Manažér at Hotel Grand Zilina
Responded 14 Jul 2016
Hello, dear Robert We would like to thank you for your another visit in our hotel ! We are glad that you always stays with us ! Your feedback is really important for us, we apprecciate it. We are glad that you like our hotel services and also the whole area. Once again thak you and see you soon ! It is always very nice to meet you :) Best Regards Dusan
Read more
czechchickfb wrote a review Jul 2016
Redwood City, California37 contributions4 helpful votes
We have stayed there several times. The reception staff is helpful and nice. The room we stayed in last September was not good. The refrigerator was on the floor. The television did not work properly. The ambiance of the hotel seemed quite "tired"... The included breakfast was downstairs in the hotel next door. We were disappointed and probably will find another hotel the next time we go. Sad about this because the location is perfect for getting around.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DusanLukac, Manažér at Hotel Grand Zilina
Responded 13 Jul 2016
Hello, dear guest, We would like to thank you that you stayed with us again ! It was very nice to meet you again. Thank you for your review, it is really important for us so we can know what we can do better. We just changed some TVs right now, so this issue gets better. We served breakfast in totally new place from January. If you come again next time, we hope you will be more satisfied in some issues as we are always trying to improve our hotel services. Once again thak you for you visit, and we hope to see you again sometimes :) Best Regards Dusan
Read more
Antonio C wrote a review Jun 2016
61 contributions14 helpful votes
Very good location, the main square is just around the corner. The room are fine, the reception is a bit too small and there are too many stairs. Not exactly the best place for those who cannot move around easily. Clean, quiet, good breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from DusanLukac, Manažér at Hotel Grand Zilina
Responded 13 Jul 2016
Hello, Dear Antonio, We would like to thank you that you stayed in our hotel. We hope you like our town and also our hotel. We would like to also thank you for your feedback, really apprecciate it. We hope to see you again sometimes :) Best Regards Dusan
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$60 - US$95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SlovakiaZilina RegionZilina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Grand Zilina
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Grand Zilina?
Nearby attractions include Marianske Square (0.08 km), Holy Trinity Cathedral (0.5 km), and Centauri - Music, Lounge, Bar (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Grand Zilina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Grand Zilina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Grand Zilina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe & Restaurant La Famille, Beervana, and Restaurant NAROHU.
Is Hotel Grand Zilina located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Zilina.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Grand Zilina?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Grand Zilina offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Grand Zilina?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Zilina Catacomb (0.07 km), Studňa pri Pánskom dome (0.08 km), and Studňa Milencov (0.08 km).