Hotel Turiec
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Turiec

Traveller (35)
standard room
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 6 hotels in Martin
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in the centre of Martin, Hotel Turiec overlooks the Velka Fatra Mountains. It has a spa with a sauna, provides free on-site parking, and offers spacious rooms with LCD TV. Rooms at the Turiec have elegant furnishings, and come equipped with a minibar and safety deposit box. Each private bathroom has a hairdryer. The hotel restaurant serves international cuisine. Guests can enjoy a cup of coffee at our Café which features an open-air terrace during the summer months. Turcianska Gallery is 250 m from the hotel. Slovak National Literary Museum is less than a 10-minute walk away. Nearby leisure activities include skiing, hiking, and mountain biking. Our bowling and entertainment cnetre ARENA Martin is located 10-minute walk from our hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Hiking
Skiing
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Massage
Massage chair
Salon
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Czech, Slovak

Location

A. Sokolika 2, Martin 036 01 Slovakia
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 68 out of 100
68
Ivanka Airport
160.3 km
See all flights
87Reviews0Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 39
  • 2
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Stuart Tullah wrote a review Jan 2023
Lichfield, United Kingdom59 contributions44 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Hotel Turiec in Martin, Slovakia in January 2023 for four nights. My first impression was the pleasant reception and the smart bar and restaurant area. My second impression was the very pleasant and efficient reception staff. My third impression was the spacious and spotlessly clean bedroom. Thereafter my stay was very pleasant and this was aided by the reception staff who are keen to help with local guidance and to deal with guests' requests.
The hotel is in an excellent location being just a few minutes' walk from the town centre.
In particular I would like to praise Tatiana (Front Office Manager) who is incredibly helpful and seems genuinely interested in guests' needs. To say her English is perfect is not an exaggeration. If a hotel can be judged on a member of staff, then Hotel Turiec is fully worth a five star rating.
The cost of rooms is very fair, especially bearing in mind the quality of accommodation and staff. The breakfast, included in my booking, was good, including the obliging staff.
Overall this is an excellent and well-run hotel, representing very good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raduz D wrote a review Jul 2021
Bratislava, Slovakia331 contributions132 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Business hotel in the center of city of Martin. Parking is in the back yard of the hotel. The hotel has a nie wellness center with jacuzzi and saunas. We also used massage, which was very nice and relaxing for a very reasonable price of under 30euros per 50 minutes. The room is large with a large bathroom, AC and big TV. There is a new bar with snacks and wines too.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lee wrote a review Jan 2020
Singapore22 contributions47 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for a night and I like it. It was a modern looking hotel. Rather high-tech, touch panels for hotel lifts. Clean rooms and the TV has the quite a number of English channels! That was a pro for me after staying in a few hotels in europe and only having CNN to watch. Bed was comfortable. Generally a pleasant stay. Staff there were pleasant too, at least those we encounter in the dining area. Food was not bad.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
terezaj wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the hotel for two nights and we were very satisfied with our stay. The rooms were equipped with everything you need. The staff was nice and very helpful. Food was delicious. The location of the hotel is great, everything is within walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ilya K wrote a review Mar 2015
Moscow, Russia44 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Large rooms, nice bathroom, great view from the windows. Large parking lot, great service and very comfortable beds. Nice breakfast with a huge selection of foods for just about everyone. Wi-fi was ok.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Zuzana H, Manažér recepcie at Hotel Turiec
Responded 7 Aug 2015
Dear guest, we are very pleased with your positive feedback and thank you for that. The effort and attention that is given by our staff to each of our guests is worth every minute of their stay :) Thank you again and hopefully see you next time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tearz wrote a review Sept 2010
Trondheim, Norway4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thinking of Slovakia you may not think that you can get good quality hotel and sevices, this hotel proved me wrong. Located in the town of Martin, this is a hotel I can recommend to everyone visiting this part of the world.

Newly reconstrucred this hotel is everything you need, great breakfast, not much to chose from, but what they have is great. A good resturant with quality food and vine.

The staff working here is also great, no question is to difficult and they will help in every way possible. Only drawback is their skills in english, but this is a problem that goes for all of Slovakia. But the reception and resturant allways have someone who can talk a little english and you allways get what you want.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2010
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Zuzana H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Turiec
Responded 8 Jan 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your trip advisor review. We are very delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences on your visit in our hotel. It was a great pleasure to read your valuable and encouraging feedback as we certainly value your comments, and it is imperative for us to improve. It is a great pleasure for us to share your comment with all our team members which gives them a great motivation to deliver a high quality of services with a personal touch to all of our guests. Hotel Turiec Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rob H wrote a review Nov 2019
Wroclaw, Poland165 contributions119 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice hotel. Everything works the way it should; check-in was fast and easy, the room spotless and comfortable. Shower is great, bed is excellent. Service in the nice bar was quick and efficient. No traffic or other noise at night. Breakfast was included and a very nice spread. In short, one if the best hotel stays in a while.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Christina F wrote a review Sept 2018
Martin, Slovakia39 contributions76 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Some family members stayed here for 4 nights because of location and the fact that they apparently have "air conditioning". When we arrived, we asked the reception how the air conditioning worked, and they told us it was down for maintenance and would be installed in 2 weeks... So naturally, when we checked out, we requested a discount or at least some sort of compensation..
Then they suddenly told us that the air conditioning is some sort of "extra service" that you have to pay additionally for?

Im a little confused, upset and annoyed. Im quite sure the air conditioning was in fact down for maintenance and it seems to me that this excuse with "paying extra for air conditioning" is something they just made up in the spur of the moment to avoid having to give us any discount. I've stayed at this hotel myself some years ago and the air conditioning worked fine without any special request or extra fees...

I also want to add that the breakfast selection seemed quite random. One day there was no eggs, then suddenly they had eggs again, and suddenly they didn't. And no one clears the used tables until they absolutely have to, nor offers refills on coffee or whatever when they have free time - it was apparently more important to play on their phones in the dining area and chit-chatting than attending to their customers.

Unfortunately they're the only hotel with a central location, which is why they're getting 2 stars instead of 1. In the future I'd rather stay at a hotel with a more "off" location in exchange for better customer treatment.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ZuzanaFOmanager, Manažér at Hotel Turiec
Responded 20 Feb 2019
Dear Christina, thank you very much for your review. Please, allow me to comment on your allegations, which, unfortunately, are not true. I can assure you that the Standard rooms, you booked have not been equipped with air conditioning until the day you arrive. A couple of days before your arrival air - condition was installed to some of the rooms, but technically it was not functional. The front desk informed you about this fact, so there was probably some misunderstanding. You have also been informed that in the future, the use of air conditioning in the rooms will be charged for an additional cost, but this did not apply to you because the air conditioning was still only at the installation stage. Although you have booked a room without air conditioning, you have insisted on the compensation for its malfunction and you have been given a special price. I am sorry, in spite of all this, that we can not do anything for your satisfaction despite our maximum effort. We wish you all the best.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelfreak-ie wrote a review Feb 2014
Dublin, Ireland81 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Being a Martin-born who lives abroad for over a decade, I was very pleasantly surprised with this hotel which was nothing but iconic in the communist era.

We have made a booking for a stay over Xmas and forgot that Slovakia celebrates Xmas rather differently - i.e. everything is closed. The hotel was no exception but we were not made aware of this via Booking.com at the point of booking - a standard stay includes B&B and visitors are given 1 hour access to the hotel's spa facilities (you pay 4Eur in addition per hour if you decide to stay longer). Well unfortunately, not on the 25th of December, it does not as it is only the hotel's Reception that stays open, the restaurant, bar and spa are closed. We had booked because we flew in quite late and it was convenient for us to stay in a hotel where we could be dined and wined. Once we found out we could not, we wanted to cancel, but Booking.com would not let us and the Receptionist advised he could not cancel the stay as it was booked via Booking.

We arrived at the hotel and I was ready to bargain and even threaten with my Senior Contributor badge ;). Much to my own surprise, I did not have to. The Receptionist took his own initiative and contacted the manager right after my initial phone call and we were offered a number of options on our arrival such as: late check out (at 9pm!!!!) the following day or re-booking for the following day when all the facilities will be available. We had opted for the 1st option with late check out and the use of spa the following day. In fact, we enjoyed our stay so much, we stayed an additional day. The staff were nothing but accommodating, polite and professional which is nice to see in sometimes still post-communist Slovakia. This hotel had truly embraced the change from communism to capitalism and puts its customers first and goes out of its way to make the client happy. Even though we had to pay for the second hour of our spa treatment (we really shouldnt as we stayed 2 nights so 2 hours entitlement), I was happy to treat that as a tip for the staff for their services and did not even bother bringing it up.

The food was good - continental style breakfast with a few hot bits that pleased the palate of an Irishman (my better half) such as sausages, eggs, rashers etc. the sleep quality is to die for and the location is as central as it gets - you get around to everywhere by foot.

The spa is out of this world, the only flaw was there was a very noisy couple talking about their own personal problems and the staff did not remind them they were in a 'quiet zone'. If I had stayed longer, I would have requested they told them to shut up! so it might be worth considering renting the spa privately to avoid this kind of disturbance.

Well done Hotel Turiec, we will definitely return!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park or the city, the view is much more pleasant then.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Zuzana H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Turiec
Responded 24 Mar 2014
Dear guest, we are more than happy to read your kind review. Our restaurant and wellness centre is closed during the Christmas holidays and each of the guests who have made reservation via Booking.com was warned about it. We are very sorry, that you did not receive this information. We are trying to do everything possible to make the guests always satisfied, this is our primary task. One of the possibilities is, for example, a late checkout and we are pleased that you appreciated this option. Regarding your opinion of the wellness centre, we apologize about the situation you witnessed and we will try to make your every next stay as pleasant as possible. Thank you again for your valuable opinion, we look forward to your next visit and wish you many pleasant travel experiances. Hotel Turiec Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tomas B wrote a review Dec 2013
Bratislava, Slovakia1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I am verny satisfied Customer in this hotel. I can recommed you the wellness and reataurant as well verry delicious dinner and lunch!!!
Staff si the best Ever ( Frantischek, Kristína, Zuzana, Janka, breakfast-Lucka and Every other staff is best!!!!!!!!!!!!
No more holyday inn!!!!!! In Žilina

I am more than happy and satisfied!!!!!!!!!!!!
If you would like to stay n this hotel plese stay here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Zuzana H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Turiec
Responded 14 Jan 2014
Dear guest, we are more than happy to read your review and we would like to kindly thank you for your nice response. We appreciate that we are your choice Nr.1 and we will do the best to fulfill your future requests. Wish you all good. Hotel Turiec team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Martin area.
PRICE RANGE
€75 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SlovakiaZilina RegionMartin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
63
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL TURIEC - Reviews & Price Comparison (Martin, Slovakia)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Turiec
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Turiec?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Turiec?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Turiec?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Turiec?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Turiec?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Turiec offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Turiec?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Czech, and Slovak.
Is Hotel Turiec accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Martin HotelsMartin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MartinHotels near Hotel Turiec
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire