We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Vorosmarty utca 5., Gyor 9022 Hungary
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Booking.com
eDreams
StayForLong
FindHotel
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (20)
Dining (1)
Room & Suite (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Duna Pension
Updated 30/05/20

About

#6 of 42 in Gyor
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Duna Panzio is located in central Gyor, 100 meters from the Danube River banks. It is set in a renovated building with traditional architecture and offers free Wi-Fi in communal areas. The bright guestrooms of the hotel Duna include private bathrooms and are equipped with cable TV channels and a refrigerator. A hearty breakfast with Hungarian specialties and continental classics is served in the bistro of the hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast buffet
Indoor play area for children
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Paid public parking nearby
Car park
Wifi
Vending machine
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Safe
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, German, Hungarian
35Reviews0Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 12
  • 5
  • 1
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Bianca Somtelecan wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Disappointing ... The receptionist was from the beginning extremely rigid and did not know English, so we started wrong. Even if the rooms are clean, It seems that the prices do not coincide with what you book on the reservation and the rooms are not the same !!! The room in which the breakfast is dressed is very small (it is in fact a room, not a dining room), in the conditions in which the pension has 14 rooms and there are only 6 tables and those tables are crowded ... And let's go back price: I booked the room for 3 adults, we were 2 adults and 2 children, and in the reservation conditions it was clearly stated "children between 3 and 16 years pay 12 euros / night if they use an extra bed". We did not use (not even received !!!) extra bed, but we had to pay another 12 euros. So, disappointing ...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Dunapanzio, Vezető at Duna Pension
Responded 9 Aug 2019
Dear Ganea B.. First of all we are truly sorry about the bad experiences You had during your stay with us, although I have to point out that Your comments do not precisely describe the circumstances. 1. You had reserved our rooms for 15 persons, but arrived in a group of 19 people. Furthermore, You had paid the price for 15 persons even despite it is clearly stated in our regulations that the price for children is 17 Euros/night between the ages of 3 and 16 years. There were 2 double beds in Your room that You reserved for three people, but four arrived instead, without You paying for the extra person. 2. You arrived late at night, and the children made quite a noise disturbing the rest of our guests, that is why the receptionist warned You (not the sheer fact that the children were playing). Please note that one of them even opened the door of another guest's room. 3. You had reserved a room in our urban hotel, thus I assume You had seen the images attached to the description beforehand. I am certain You had had all the required information on what to expect when You arrive. 4. We explained the situation to You in both English and German and we showed You our site and regulations on booking.com without You willing to accept them. I hope You will have a better experience the next time You enter a hotel with a group of 19 people instead of the previously arranged 15. Best regards: Gábor - Duna panzio
Read more
DCChalupa wrote a review Aug 2019
Washington DC, District of Columbia143 contributions36 helpful votes
In July my wife and I stayed for two nights at the Duna Pension. Their location at the edge of the old town was excellent. A public parking garage was located one block away. The staff was friendly and professional. The room and bathroom were clean, quiet, and the air conditioning was wonderful. The breakfast is as good as described by the many other reviewers...Most Highly Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ganea Florin wrote a review Aug 2019
Cluj-Napoca, Romania5 contributions1 helpful vote
1. On my reservation was confirmed that one of the rooms got 3 double beds, but there were only one double bed and a single bed... So, we had to pay more then we booked, not less!!!! Also: on the terms and conditions was clearely wrote that the kids between 3 and 16 years old will pay 14 euros/night only if they use extra-bed, but we didnt use any extra-bed!!!!....So, we were almost forced to pay 12 euros/night/kid even if we didnt use extra-beds and we didnt have extra-beds...!!!!!!! In negotiations with the owner he put us pay 12 euros/night/kid, excepting 3 years old kids... 2. On the check-in we can not comunicated with the reception woman because she didnt speak english......... 3. The motel got a playing area for the children at the first floor, but it is almost not usefull... Why? We arrived at 20:15 hour, the kids wants to play in that area and the reception woman didnt let them because there must be silence, at 20:30 hour.... She "sh,sh,shhhh" our kids !!!! So, why did they aranged this playing area?????/ 4. There's no balcony, no court yard, no restaurant.... Only the street!!! 5. In the motel are more then 11 rooms (our grup was made of 10 adults and 9 kids), but in the breakfast area are only 5 or 6 tables!!!!!!!!!! Very small place.... And also the reception woman almost forced us to finish our breakfast faster, even if in the breakfast room was other 2 familyes who arrived much earlier then us, but she didnt tell them anything!!!!...ok, on the evening before the breakfast mornig she should tell us (because we were a big group!!!) to came at the breakfast on an specifical interval of time, because there is not enough space !!!!! So, we just had the worst experience ever!!!!....And we didnt expected that, because we like hungaryan motels and restaurants too!!!...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dunapanzio, Vezető at Duna Pension
Responded 9 Aug 2019
Dear Florin G. First of all we are truly sorry about the bad experiences You had during your stay with us, although I have to point out that Your comments do not precisely describe the circumstances. 1. You had reserved our rooms for 15 persons, but arrived in a group of 19 people. Furthermore, You had paid the price for 15 persons even despite it is clearly stated in our regulations that the price for children is 17 Euros/night between the ages of 3 and 16 years. There were 2 double beds in Your room that You reserved for three people, but four arrived instead, without You paying for the extra person. 2. You arrived late at night, and the children made quite a noise disturbing the rest of our guests, that is why the receptionist warned You (not the sheer fact that the children were playing). Please note that one of them even opened the door of another guest's room. 3. You had reserved a room in our urban hotel, thus I assume You had seen the images attached to the description beforehand. I am certain You had had all the required information on what to expect when You arrive. 4. We explained the situation to You in both English and German and we showed You our site and regulations on booking.com without You willing to accept them. I hope You will have a better experience the next time You enter a hotel with a group of 19 people instead of the previously arranged 15. Best regards: Gábor - Duna panzio
Read more
Piotr Ł wrote a review May 2019
Warsaw, Poland49 contributions8 helpful votes
Pros: + Location near the old square, + Price, + Public, underground garage (not expensive) nearby, + Comfortable beds, Cons: - Not suitable for physically disabled (narrow stairs) - Our room had windows facing the street, so get used to screaming people and noisy car engines all the night, - rooms that have doors made from tightest paper (apparently), so not soundproof at all, - a children corner just by the rooms entrances (childeren playing and screaming since 7 am), - very poor breakfast, - 10 EUR for cleaning after staying with dog. Per every dog. Per night. (what they have to clean in such small room, if dogs were sleeping in the kennel?? And nobody tells you about the additional cost during the reservation) I wouldn't reccomend if you like to have a good rest during the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
szemeti wrote a review Apr 2019
Harwich, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
Visiting Gyor as a family of five we stayed at Duna Pension in one of the family suites. It’s a very friendly clean and comfortable guesthouse. The staff are attentive and helpful. Very reasonable price includes a great selection at breakfast. Less than 200m is a underground multi story car park which is 800 forint for 24hrs (£2.84) !! Perfectly situated in old Gyor just off from the Danube near to lots of restaurants and bars.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
andres16 wrote a review Jul 2018
Moscow, Russia1258 contributions74 helpful votes
Nice mini-hotel with pretty large and comfortable rooms, decorated in retro style. Perfect breakfast. Friendly staff. Perfect location - 2 minutes walk from Gyor's main square. The main drawback - audibility in the rooms. If in the next room live a noisy company, you have the feeling that they are having fun in your room.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Steven G wrote a review May 2018
Rome, Italy95 contributions90 helpful votes
A good, quiet location close to the main square. Bedrooms and common areas are spotlessly clean. Friendly welcome and, if one of the hosts doesn't speak fluent English, we managed to communicate successfully. It is the Hungarian provinces after all where German is more common as a second language. Very reasonable price. There's no lift but our host was quick to help my friend with her bag. I'd be happy to stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Amantie D wrote a review Jan 2018
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We slept for 1 night, but we definetely should have looked elsewhere for sleeping. In Vienna,Austria (at Novum Hotel Kavalier) we got immensely more advantages ,served at a higher quality, for the same money (65-70 Euros for 3 persons ) as here in Gyor,Hungary. We arrived at 10 PM and the host,which is old, seemed incredibly bored,sleepy and a bit rude , like she obviously had a depressing New Year's Eve. Unfortunately the host DOESN'T SPEAK a decent level of English,neither German or French, as expected for her job,we understood each other thru isolated words and by intuition. I'm sorry for her and hope she will be fine,since she seemed to be and feel lonely and sad in that little hotel. The room was small but clean, with a vintage kind of look. In the bathroom we only found 1 small shampoo bottle, which seemed inadequate since there were 3 beds in our room for 3 persons... The Breakfast is made in a "Hungarian communist style" : little and bad (the hungarian sausages looked and tasted morbid).The rest of it ( 2 kinds of cheese, salami, scrambled eggs,milk , jams,coffee etc) was OK, I mean it made your stomach full but weren't that tasty.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Weltbummlerin wrote a review Sep 2017
Zwickau, Germany73 contributions2 helpful votes
Second time there.Lovely place,big rooms for big family, very close to City ,close to parking ,center,charming house, friendly staff, good breakfast.Thank u ladies, See u next time. See u soon.Good for transit too
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Axel D wrote a review Jun 2017
Shanghai, China45 contributions11 helpful votes
The Duna Panzio is situated in walking distance to the old city center of Györ or Raab in German. Parking on the street is a little problem but there is a very new public garage very close by (50m to walk), which is even cheep (only 4€/full day. The building is old by renovated, the interior is a little small but cosy. My room (single, third floor was a little small but clean, the interior is old style and doesnt look too attractive but is ok for the price given. The bathroom is tiny but modern. The room is airconditioned on demand Breakfast is not huge but fair, people are very friendly
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: The corner rooms seemed to be nice
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
HungaryCentral TransdanubiaGyor-Moson-Sopron CountyGyor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Duna Pension
Which popular attractions are close to Duna Pension?
Nearby attractions include Gyor Old Town Area (0.2 km), Benedictine Church (0.2 km), and Boatman Sculpture (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Duna Pension?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Duna Pension?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
Is parking available at Duna Pension?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Duna Pension?
Conveniently located restaurants include Szegedi Halaszcsarda, La Mareda Restaurant & Bistro, and Szalai Vendéglő.
Are pets allowed at Duna Pension?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Duna Pension?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Hungarian.
Does Duna Pension have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.