We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Astoria City Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Astoria City Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 119: English reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

For such price it is a pretty good hostel. Wasn't as difficult to find as other people claimed, just look up the instructions and directions on the site. The service was nice and helpful. Very good location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea E
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

The laundry service is absolutely terrible. The token machine for washing and drying was broken and had no information notice saying anything about it. The staff member was never at her desk. When I told her why it was broken, she was rude. I made a silly mistake and put my token into the section for the dryer, not the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ha2472016
Oliver H, Owner at Astoria City Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, We have no token machine at our hostel. The name we do have laundry service, but we do it ourselves and not the guests. Can you please confirm that you stayed at Astoria City Hostel, address: 1072. Budapest, Rákóczi út 4. Because according to your review I am pretty sure we are not the place. Awaiting your response. Oliver

Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Despite appearances from outside the apartment building (for twin and double rooms) was lovely, very spacious, high ceilings, large bathrooms and large kitchen fully equipped. Everything was kept very clean and the hostel was not too far from the river. Also right above both spar and Tesco so it was very easy to cook our own meals. Only thing is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FarmhouseManager
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Location - Very good. We had no problem getting to the main touristy areas, and there are many money changers and convenience stores nearby. Amenities - Very good. The shower area could be brighter and larger, but there was sufficient warm water and water pressure. The beds were comfortable, we loved not having to sleep on bunk beds for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xiao Yi Y
Novi Sad, Serbia
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Hostel is very beautiful and clean, and it is also cheap. The reception works 24/7 and the stuff is not only polite and friendly, but also willing to help and recommend what to do or where to go etc. I really felt like I was at home. I'm going back for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara-Petrichor
Slovakia
Reviewed 21 March 2016

I`ve stayed just over night, but the place is very nice and beautiful, cozy place in old town house and great and helpful receptionist :) Clean, simple rooms equiped with everything what you really need. Hostel is close to the city centre and the jewish quarter is just around the corner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristina_Rampackova
Novi Sad, null, Serbia
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

It was great place to stay... Clean, comfortable, I felt like at home... Kitchen is fully-equipped, towels and sheets are included in a price which is also great. Bathroom is really clean. Stuffs are kind and helpfull. Location is perfect close to most of tourists attractions, close to the bars and pubs as well. For sure we will come back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabrijeladr
Åre
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

We hade a good time at this hostel as our final destination while interrailing. The rooms are clean enough, the breakfast was alright, it's walking distance to the centre of the city and they have decent wifi. The staff helped us a lot planning our stay and we felt pretty at home. The only negative I can think of is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Momarortotinona
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2015

We stayed in a private room which was in a separate building just down the road from the main reception. The reception isn't the easiest place to find but fortunately we'd google'd the hostel prior to going so knew what we were looking for. Overall, it wasn't the nicest of places. It was clean but everything was really tired and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pf0x
Algiers, Algeria
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Oh astoria hostel, i really felt like i am at home, the hostel is like an appartement , bathroom inside rooms, clean rooms, kitchen and good breakfast, the location is so good ( near metro station Astoria) , personel was friendly , i liked the atmosphere inside this hostel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sohaib h

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#78 of 340 in Budapest
424 reviews
District V / Inner City
Gaia Hostel
Gaia Hostel
#56 of 646 in Budapest
61 reviews
Njoy Budapest Hostel
#138 of 646 in Budapest
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Hostel
#24 of 646 in Budapest
186 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amazing Hostel
Amazing Hostel
#73 of 646 in Budapest
50 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#7 of 646 in Budapest
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District VII / Jewish Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
District VII / Jewish Quarter
District VII is the very heart of Budapest and houses the city’s Jewish Quarter. Its streets are lively and colorful, its buildings narrate different histories in an assortment of architectural styles, and its cafes and bars are frequented and loved by the enthusiastic crowds. Grand and magnificent, the striking star of the district is the Great Synagogue, the largest in Europe and one of the biggest in the world. Distinctly Moorish in style, crowned by the twin onion shaped domes, the Synagogue is the very emblem of District VII and one of the main attractions in the capital.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Astoria City Hostel

Address: 7th District Rakoczi ut 27, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Price Range: €7 - €19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Astoria City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Astoria City Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get a room at the front of the building (if you're in the private room block)”
 of 5 bubbles pf0x, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Go to the famous Spa Bath Party!!”
 of 5 bubbles 1988liam, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“So nice having a balcony over-looking the hustle and bustle of the city, great atmosphere.”
 of 5 bubbles Emm822, 18 Jun 2015 | Read review
“book direct with the hostel. All rooms excellant”
 of 5 bubbles Lynnieh123, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
“All the rooms are good trust me. The walls were so thick that noone woke up from the ruckus I caused with the Hungarian babes. wow so good 10/10.”
 of 5 bubbles patr932, 23 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay