We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Danubius Hotel Gellert

Booking.comUS$152*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$552*
US$152*
US$157*
US$552*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Danubius Hotel Gellert
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,059: English reviews
Southwick
Reviewed 25 September 2016

While the hotel is very old world and very impressive from the outside, it is a bit tired on the inside, no changes since being there 8 years ago. The plumbing for the room next door was very noisy in our room during the night

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank martinwU2972KS
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear martinwU2972KS, Let us thank you very much for taking the time and the effort to write down your thoughts about our hotel it means really a lot to our group. We are more than happy that this was your second visit in our lovely hotel, we sincerely hope that you didn’t regret choosing this place as your accommodation. Furthermore,...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The Gellert oozes old fashioned charm and the elegance of a by gone era while offering all modern facilities. The staff are friendly and efficient and the location is very convenient for all that Budapest has to offer.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Feocktraveller
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear Feocktraveller, Let us to express our gratitude to you for being so generous to share your thoughts and impressions about your stay in Danubius Hotel Gellért. We are really happy that you had such a great time in our wonderful hotel, we sincerely hope that the vacation you spent here was absolutely flawless. Furthermore, it feels great that you...

Raanana
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I stayed in an old single room with no airconditioner, but they give a standing fan. The shower is very small, the sink is cracked. The furniture is old but OK. The location is excellent, service is good as well the breakfasts. By Anna 25.9.2016

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annasH880VZ
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear annasH880VZ, We would like to thank you for being so kind to share your impressions about your recent stay in our hotel. Firstly, thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation during your stay in Budapest! It fills us with happiness that you were totally satisfied with our excellent location. On the other hand, we regret to hear...

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I stayed 4 nights at this grand old hotel and was overall very satisfied. The location is really good. You can enjoy a lovely walk to Buda's attractions and Pest with its lively corners is only a short bridge crossing away. The metro station and tram stop right in front of the hotel. The room on the 6th floor was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlobeHope
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear GlobeHope, Let us thank you for taking your precious time to share your impressions about your stay in our hotel. It fills us with happiness that you were totally satisfied with everything during your stay in Danubius Hotel Gellért, we genuinely hope that you left our hotel with nice memories and that you will return to us in the...

Porto Alegre
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Fantastic Spa and location. The room was quite small, but the staff were friendlly. Great stay. Wonderfull view from the terrace (breakfast). The breakfast is fantastic for different testes. We love to stay there and when we return to Budapest will be there again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B186ZUmariem
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear B186ZUmariem, We would like to thank you for being so kind to write a review about your recent stay in our hotel. We absolutely appreciate your kind words and high rating! We are really happy that you had such a great time in our wonderful hotel, we sincerely hope that the vacation you spent here was absolutely flawless. Furthermore,...

Doncaster East Vic
Reviewed 24 September 2016

the first standard room we were shown did not appeal to us so we upgraded and that was the best decision we ever made. The room was large and comfortable, we had a terrace and river view. It was air conditioned which early August was what we needed. Our breakfast was perfect in every way. All the staff were very...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice T
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear Alice T, Allow us to express our honest gratitude towards you for taking the time to share your splendid opinion with us on Tripadvisor, it absolutely made our day. We are absolutely delighted that we managed to meet all your expectations in Danubius Hotel Gellért, we genuinely hope that you had a really flawless and relaxing stay in Hungary....

Breda
Reviewed 24 September 2016

Excellent location. Had a room at the front side which has a breathtaking view at the river and the bridge. The hotel has a nice jugentstill architecture worth-wile to take a closer look at Genuine beautiful hotel which I can recommend ! Excellent service.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 902robv
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear 902robv, We would like to thank you very much for your honesty, the opinion of our visitors is always the most important to our group so we will consider everything you said. It made us extremely happy that you highly appreciated the work of the staff, just like you said they always provide a very accurate and efficient service....

Ballycastle
Reviewed 24 September 2016

I enjoyed my time at the Gellert very much. The staff were friendly and the food was good.I will certainly return for another visit. However, next time I hope I will be allocated a refurbished room. My room was clean but needed to be updated.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank victordobbin
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear victordobbin, First of all, allow us to express our gratitude to you for being so generous to share your thoughts and impressions about your stay in our hotel. We are really happy that you had such a great time in our wonderful hotel, we sincerely hope that the vacation you spent here was absolutely flawless. On top of that,...

Cairns
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We had a marvellous stay, loved every minute. Direct access to spa through hotel is a treat. Location with public access very helpful. Wonderful breakfast buffet, excellent staff, very professional. Hood to be back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorikas
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear lorikas, Allow us to express our honest gratitude towards you for taking the time to share your splendid opinion with us on Tripadvisor, it absolutely made our day. We are absolutely delighted that we managed to meet all your expectations in Danubius Hotel Gellért, we genuinely hope that you had a really flawless and relaxing stay in Hungary. We...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We booked a river view room , but unfortunately , we are not contented in this room. First of all we got no slipper so we go barefooted in the room. when we go inside the bathroom, the door knob was broken and the shower holder was loose always falling down so we must hold it instead. We want to...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valter R
DH_Quality_Manager, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Danubius Hotel Gellert, responded to this review

Dear Valter R, Allow us to express how grateful we are to you for sharing your experiences about our hotel in detail, we will consider everything you said in your beneficial comment. You can’t imagine how much we regret that we didn’t entirely managed to meet all your expectations, but we honestly hope that you didn’t regret choosing this place...

1,682 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1459)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (326)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (85)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (223)
Viewed
View from Room (94)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (595)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (186)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Standard Single Room (27)
Viewed
Suite (35)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (24)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
4,593 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
6,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 342 in Budapest
4,165 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 342 in Budapest
2,340 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Gellert Hill

Neighbourhood Profile
Gellert Hill
If you want to treat your camera to some amazing scenery, Gellért Hill is a must on your itinerary. A funicular journey from the Chain Bridge along the hillsides provides a fast connection between Buda and Pest, hoisting visitors to panoramic vistas. Once on top of the hill, you’ll find the Citadel dominate the landscape with its imposing 19th century construction, a site that’s hard to keep your eyes on without being distracted by the phenomenal view over the Danube and the eight bridges crossing. Once on Gellért Hill however, one mustn’t miss the famous Gellért Baths. Budapest is renown for its thermal waters and its baths, and the Gellért Baths are housed in an impressive art nouveau structure. Its interior design, with its many mosaics, recalls the preceding relationships the city has had with healing springs and saunas, traditionally used within this neighborhood since the Ottoman Empire.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Art Nouveau style Danubius Hotel Gellert first opened its doors in 1918, and has long been an iconic Budapest landmark that has even featured in Hollywood films. Its stately building, at the foot of the Gellert hill, also houses the world-famous Gellert Baths, which include an outdoor pool with the original wave-generating device installed in 1927. Over the years, some famous names have stayed at the Gellert – including American presidents and European royalty – and the hotel retains the elegant atmosphere of a bygone age. Guests can enjoy superb cuisine at the Panorama Restaurant or Gellert Brasserie, and take advantage of wellness treatments and medical programmes at the adjacent Gellert Baths. Furthermore, the hotel is the perfect base for exploring, located next to one of Budapest’s most beautiful bridges and a short walk from Pest’s Great Market Hall and shopping streets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Danubius Hotel Gellert

Address: Szent Gellert ter 2., Budapest 1114, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Price Range: €86 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Danubius Hotel Gellert 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Danubius Hotel Gellert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danubius Hotel Budapest
Hotel Gellert Budapest
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#65 Family Hotel in Budapest
#70 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#83 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Danubius Hotel Gellert staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Danubius Hotel Gellert staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“at front of the hotel”
784stephens, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is a terrace for the restaurant on the north side so rooms might be noisier in good weather”
rbgs, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A room with a view is worth the price!”
  • A perfect view from the small balcony!
TomE283, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't use the Courtyard view ...choose a river view”
gillsnips, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Wait till the hotel has been renovated”
492bill, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$152* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$157
Official SiteUS$552
TripAdvisorUS$152
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates