We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Budapest City Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Budapest City Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Budapest City Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,180: English reviews
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Theoretically ok, well located, nice staff but I still don't feel like 4*. Having in mind variety of hotels to choose in Budapest I would reconsider my stay, or at least wait for some good price reduction promotion. No swiming pool nor sauna.

Review collected in partnership with Deutsche Telekom
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaqbM
LiviaNagyidai, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear JaqbM , Thank you for your kind feedback which is higly appreciate by us. We are happy that you were satisfied with our staff and the location of the hotel. We hope that you will find our offers attractive enough and we can welcome you back in our hotel. Best regards,

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights which thanks to the hotel was great. We booked a Privilege room which gave us amongst other things a larger room and check out at 4 pm instead of 11 am which was very important for us. All the staff from housekeeping to reception were extremely pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah M
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear Sarah M, Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We are more than happy that you were satisfied with our hotel and services and especially with our staff. It is our pleasure that we succeeded to exceed your expectations in terms of services. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future. Kind regards,

Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed for two nights at this hotel on a business trip. Room are standard nothing special, building and elevator is dated but its located in perfect area. Vaci Utca is forbidden for car so its somekind of pedestrian area with lots of store and restaurant. Its only hundred meters away from Danube river where you can enjoy sightseeing.. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikhael M
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear Mikhael M, Thank you for your comment. We are sure it is valuable for other client when checking accomodation possibilities in Budapest. We are happy that you enjoyed the center location of our hotel and you could benefit from it. Cafés, restaurant and many entertainment possibilities and of course the main attractions are in an easy reach on foot...

Scunthorpe
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Hotel typical four star. Clean and right on the Main Street. Quiet as it's a traffic free zone but straight out of the door and Budapest is right there. Also close to Danube and all tourist attractions. Reception staff aren't brilliant but found that unless you pay service is not the best here. If you want luxury this is not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Forget_itelaine
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear Forget_itelaine, Many thanks for your positive opinion you have shared about our hotel. We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit and you have found our staff friendly and professional. It is lovely to hear that our guests could take advantage of our optimal location in the heart of Budapest located in the famous Váci street. We really...

Uppsala, Sweden
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was there for business and got one of the privilege rooms (no extra charge), which seemed to be recently redecorated. The room was on the small side, but had all you need and was kept super clean. There's an abundance of staff, all very nice and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BLA60
LiviaNagyidai, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear BLA60, Thank you very much for sharing your comment. It is always a pleasure to know that our Guests are satisfied with our services.We are proud of our colleagues, so thank you for your very positive comments regarding the staff helpfulness. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. With best regards,

Krakow, Poland
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I spent 4 nights in the hotel. I was surprised becuase the price did not meet with Mercure quality. Room was ok. Breakfast was ok. And nothing special. Londiner guy was rude after arrival because elevator did not work and he did not offer any help. I am Hungarian but on the first morning greeting were in English by enterred...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zsuzsi G
LiviaNagyidai, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear gyulaizsuzsanna, Thank you very much for your detailed comment. We regret that your experience did not meet your full expectations. We were surprised by the negative impression about our staff; our strength is beyond the perfect location the staff kindness and helpfulness. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future...

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in May 2014. We enjoyed our stay mainly because of the location, reached easily. On the down side the room was tiny but bed adequate, carpet old shabby with stains, on suite adequate, no facilities for tea or coffee making, ironing, that is standard in most UK hotels. Mini bar in the room -minimal, and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sirimewan
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear Sirimewan, Thank you very much for your comment. It is our pleasure that beside this small uncomfortable feature you enjoyed your stay wih us. We can only agree with you that our hotel provides the best location for discovering Budapest. We do hope, you will return in the near future. With best regards,

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Was there on a business trip and impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of staff: every special wish from calling a taxi to printing boarding passes and recommending gluten-free restaurants was handled politely, smoothly and quickly. The hotel itself is clean and nice, prices are okay, but its special feature really were the great people at the front desk. Recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A P
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear A P, Thank you for your compliment, we will forward it to the Colleagues working at the Reception. It is our pleasure that we succeeded to exceed your expectations in terms of services. We hope you will choose again our hotel as your destination during your next business trip to Budapest. Kind regards,

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Spent 3 nights at the hotel, in the Bio-Privilège rooms which also have access to the executive lounge. The rooms are ok but a little worn out. The wooden floors are quite a bad quite a bit of shoe marks on them, which does not give a very good impression when we first entered the rooms. The lounge is really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ABMS
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear ABMS, Many thanks for writing a review on your recent stay at Mercure Budapest City Center. It is lovely to hear that our guests could take advantage of our optimal location in the center of Budapest. It's a special pleasure for us taht you enjoyed the services provided in the Privilege Lounge as an additional service to your Privilege...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for a second time and you really can't find a better spot for a weekend break, although the rooms are only small they are spotlessley clean, comfy beds and adequate bathroom - if you were staying for more than a couple of nights then i'd advise finding a hotel with bigger rooms - but for a weekend break...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAVID H
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review

Dear DAVID H, Thank you very much for sharing your comments. We can only agree with you that our hotel provides the best location for discovering Budapest – the city of senses. We hope you will choose again our hotel during your next trip to Hungary. With best regards,

721 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (467)
Viewed
Room/Suite (122)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (178)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (117)
Viewed
Other (41)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (137)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#52 of 342 in Budapest
1,347 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#76 of 342 in Budapest
776 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#78 of 342 in Budapest
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District V / Inner City

Neighbourhood Profile
District V / Inner City
Discover the Inner City along the banks of the Danube, with its fashionable shops and iconic buildings. The Inner-City Parish Church and St. Stephen’s Basilica stand out as two of the finest examples of architecture in the area. If you are still hunting for more historical treats, then the ruins of the medieval city walls on Kecskeméti Utca are a must-visit while the Soviet War Memorial is also worthy of attention and relevant to Hungary’s more recent history. If shopping is on your itinerary, then be prepared: the market squares in this area are an absolute delight, particularly during the Christmas period, but even throughout the year you’ll find the latest trends in the shops on Vaci Utca.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Budapest City Center hotel is located in an exclusive area, in the historical, shopping and business center, in Váci street. It is the only 4* hotel in Budapest which is surrounded by a pedestrian precinct. The main sightseeing attractions of the capital are within walking distance or can be easily reached by underground or other public transport. Discover Budapest - the city of senses - and enjoy every minutes of a special and unforgettable stay in our hotel. Business guests will appreciate the use of free WiFi Internet access and the indoor parking facility. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Address: Vaci utca 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Price Range: €66 - €145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Budapest
#74 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#75 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#80 Family Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Budapest City Center staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Budapest City Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a newly refirbed room if you can get one - it's worth it”
 of 5 bubbles 702SteveG, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles BurnleyLinda, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“None-Run away for your life”
 of 5 bubbles businesstraveler036, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to ask for one of the refurbished ones (7th floor)”
 of 5 bubbles DirectProReviews, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Excellent location”
 of 5 bubbles dacanovisad, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5