We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Budapest

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
InterContinental Budapest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,387: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at Intercontinental, I can highly recommend the upgrade to river view - amazing! We had a room on the 7th floor and the views were just fantastic. Our floor was non-smoking which was great for us, if you don't smoke be sure to ask for non smoking. The bed was super comfy, just what was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 10,661,981
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear 10661981, Thank you very much for staying three nights in InterContinental Budapest and writing about your experience. I am very happy that you enjoyed your the amazing view from your high floor river facing non-smoking room. Thank you for briefing your interaction with the staff and for recommending the hotel to other visitors, too. I am looking forward to...

Beckley, West Virginia
Reviewed 23 November 2014

I was fortunate to have a ninth floor room on the river side of the hotel, which provided the most perfect view of the Danube and Castle among other beautiful landmarks. I was impressed with Budapest overall, but very happy to have stayed in this particular hotel. The service was spectacular (to include someone handing me a bottle of water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DML17
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear DML17, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion which is delighting to read. I am most glad that you were happy to stay at the InterContinental Budapest and were impressed with our services. We like to take care of our guests needs at any detail let it be even a bottle of water offered after jogging in the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2014 via mobile

I can't understand why this hotel isn't higher up in ranking. The value for money is excellent! This hotel is right by the river. Tip: email reservations and ask for a room with a view of the Chain Bridge to get rooms angled as such, rather than just facing the river. Book early and pay prices similar to those for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuzyKyu
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear SuzyKyu, Thank you very much for sharing your hotel experience. I am happy that you mention you found the value for money excellent and nevertheless enjoyed the comfort of our Danube facing deluxe room. I am delighted to read as you recognize InterContinental hotels are situated at carefully selected locations surrounded by a favourable environment. I am glad you...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2014

This hotel is right on the river, a stone's throw from the chain bridge and lookin up on the castle. For tourism, you're not going to get a much better location! Views from my room were stunning, and from the bar pretty great too. The number 2 tram stops outside, to get you to parliament (otherwise a 5 minute walk),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gagravarr
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Gagravarr, Thank you very much for your compliments. I am very glad that you found InterContinental Budapest well located, right in the centre of panoramic views, convenient transportation services of the city and close to points of attraction. Thank you for mentioning your hotel experiences and highlighting quality services. You are always most welcomed here. With best regards, Claus...

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewed 18 November 2014

This was my first visit of the hotel. It is comparable with other five stars hotels in Budapest. Great hotel, with excellent location and a few minor things to improve: very poor lightning in the room (if I visited for business this could be an issue), swimming pool water temperature was definitely not 28 degrees as stated, taxi driver the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MarkoK1984
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear MarkoK1984, Thank you very much for sharing your opinion. I am glad that you had chosen InterContinental Budapest for your visit in Hungary and that you were satisfied with our services. I regret that you were facing minor inconvenience on the other hand I am happy that you recognize great value of services provided. I am looking forward to...

Reviewed 18 November 2014

We stayed at the lovely InterContinental in Budapest and had the good fortune to be right across from the Castle. Only the Danube separated us and when it grew dark, all I can say is that it was spectacular. The hotel was wonderful, comfortable, a fantastic king bed and the counter service was superb. We had a problem with our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth L, Thank you very much for taking your time sharing your opinion about your recent hotel experience. I am glad that you found the Danube view spectacular and the service superb. I would be delighted to welcome you again on your next return to Budapest. With kind regards, Claus Geisselmann

Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2014

The river view of the hotel was the best takeaway as the city is just beautiful when the lights are lit. We stayed on the 4th floor providing a very good view of the Chain bridge, Castle Hill. As part of the booking, we had club access. The swimming pool and sauna were very clean, it was relaxing to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank budwine888
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear budwine888, Thank you very much for taking your time sharing your travel experiences. I am glad that you were satisfied with the accommodation in one of our river facing rooms and enjoyed breakfast, spa facilities and a good-day-starting breakfast. May I kindly draw your attention that our pillow-menu is supporting good-night sleep with nine different types of pillows for...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 16 November 2014

I stayed at the InterCon for a week. I was attending a conference for four days at a nearby hotel, but chose the InterCon for it's riverside location instead of the conference hotel. We stayed on the 4th floor with a room overlooking the river and a fabulous view of the Castle area. We had club room access and found...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OtherJFK
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear OtherJFK, Thank you very much for writing your compliments. I am most glad that you highlight how much you have enjoyed the Club Lounge exclusive services within the hotel and that you found the rate-value ratio very positive. I am happy that you felt welcomed and all arrangements met your expectations. I would be delighted to welcome you again...

Anthem, Arizona
Reviewed 15 November 2014

Did not have a River view but hotel was good. The hotel staff was great in all aspects. Couldn"t ask for a better location. Right on the Danube river and walking distance to bus lines and shopping plus resturants.Stayed three days before doing a river cruise to Amsterdam.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Use2fly
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Use2fly, Thank you very much for writing your compliments on hotel staff attitude and convenient downtown location of the hotel close to many city attractions. I hope you enjoy your European tour. With best regards, Claus Geisselmann

Reviewed 14 November 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. The staff are friendly and the view from the rooms to the river are absolutely stunning at night. I enjoyed the spa and exercise facility. The only downside was when I originally checked in my room was musty smelling and seemed like someone had recently smoked in the room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank T O
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review

Dear T O, Thank you very much for sharing your travel experiences. I am glad that you had chosen our hotel on your return to Budapest and enjoyed the view, the spa facilities and found the staff friendly. I regret that you were facing inconvenience on the other hand I read with delight that you found the correcting action up...

2,229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1627)
Viewed
Room/Suite (308)
Viewed
View from Room (275)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (184)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Dining (80)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
4:38
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (701)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (485)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Deluxe Family Room (38)
Viewed
Junior Suite (39)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Presidental Suite (71)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Standard Room (43)
Viewed
Suite (52)
Viewed
Superior Rooom (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)
Viewed
Upper Level Standard Room (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (117)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 340 in Budapest
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 340 in Budapest
3,851 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 340 in Budapest
6,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District V / Inner City

Neighbourhood Profile
District V / Inner City
Discover the Inner City along the banks of the Danube, with its fashionable shops and iconic buildings. The Inner-City Parish Church and St. Stephen’s Basilica stand out as two of the finest examples of architecture in the area. If you are still hunting for more historical treats, then the ruins of the medieval city walls on Kecskeméti Utca are a must-visit while the Soviet War Memorial is also worthy of attention and relevant to Hungary’s more recent history. If shopping is on your itinerary, then be prepared: the market squares in this area are an absolute delight, particularly during the Christmas period, but even throughout the year you’ll find the latest trends in the shops on Vaci Utca.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Price Range: €117 - €304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#7 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Budapest staff and other travellers.
57 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (57)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Budapest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River Danube view is spectacular.”
 of 5 bubbles dodgydobbo561, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to book Club Intercontinental with a river view!”
 of 5 bubbles IntrepidExp, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay or upgrade to river view: it is worthwhile!!”
 of 5 bubbles Axel8807, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure to ask for a room overlooking the river!”
 of 5 bubbles laithy2014, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room overlooking the Danube”
 of 5 bubbles HungryJaks, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5