We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Romai

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Hotel Romai
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 11: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Romai
 Click to rate
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We stayed a night there for pratical reasons but I would not suggest to anyone on holiday. The building, the furniture and the staff are worn out. The staff are helpful but a bit incompetent. The breakfast was OK. The only positive side is the location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nagykrisz
Györgyi B, Értékesítési igazgató at Hotel Romai, responded to this review
Google Translation

Ezen a napon előtte és utána sem volt 3 napig egyéni és csoportos vendégünk,jó lenne tudni,ki írta.

Reviewed 25 October 2016

Location is only nice thing, hotel is located by the river Danube so you can take a walk by the river. Rooms are awful! They are not clean and they are so dark because of the curtions so you can't really feel confortable.There's a lot of mosquitoes! I didn't like the food that we had for two days, except french...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ohwellwhatevern... n
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Rooms are old but that wouldn't be a problem if they were clean. The rooms are everything expect ''clean''.The thing i like about this hotel is that is really peacful and it's perfect place for relaxing and sleeping.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristina k
Reviewed 16 June 2016

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and it was so much fun. I liked the fact that we were on the river and it was so quiet and pretty and a whole new experience for me. At night, we used to sit in the restaurant downstairs with some fish and chips and cold beer and it was so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacky W
Györgyi B, Értékesítési igazgató at Hotel Romai, responded to this review
Google Translation

KA szobákat folyamatosan felújítjuk,festjük. kérésre küldök szobaképeket.

Reviewed 2 July 2015

Awful experience. The room was disgusting. Door was kicked in, bathroom had a moldy ceiling, the tile was disgusting and broken, the shower curtain was filthy. We had towels with HOLES in them. Stains (red and orange...blood?) all over the mattresses. The pillows had other people's hair all over them. Worst hotel I've ever stayed in! The owners should be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jason C
Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 10 October 2014

My experience of this hotel is really bad. I will keep as much as possible to the facts. The reason we stayed there for two nights was because we invited to a wedding which was held at the hotel. Ok let’s begin: + The only plus here is that it is a good location - near the Danube river, it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vdexoto
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Cheap and nice hotel in the outskirts of Budapest. It has a small bar that works until there are people outside. It's on the bank of the Danube, the rooms are nice, quiet. The portions were too big and you really can't eat all..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Borna T
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We attended at a wedding and though it was ideal as the venue (easy parking, by the Danube), the hotel needs some attention.... The only positive thing we had is the room cleanliness. Clean wardrobes, shelves, bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Orsolya-2012
Italy
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Location is good (if you like mosquitos). Rooms are old, dirty. Restaurant is a joke. Live (bad) music will keep you awake. Breakfast is disgusting. It's like a piece of communist era, a broken hotel, like a museum of horrors. Ok it's cheap but not even worth its low price at all. Avoid.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jiji1000
Bedford
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Although the hotel is old and in need of some TLC, I spent a fantastic weekend here for a wedding. The hotel is ideally suited for a wedding of around 60-100 people. The garden was beautiful for the ceremony, the restaurant was beautifully laid out for the evening meal, food was excellent, and staff were fantastic. We had room 205...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian D

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Alfa Art Hotel
Alfa Art Hotel
#159 of 333 in Budapest
33 reviews
Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Aquamarina Hotel
Aquamarina Hotel
#190 of 333 in Budapest
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#96 of 333 in Budapest
5,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Hotel Romai

Address: Szent Janos utca 16, Budapest 1039, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Óbuda-Békásmegyer
Price Range: €35 - €45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Romai 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Romai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Romai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get a room here.”
  • Holes in Towels
  • Bathroom Ceiling Gross
  • Tile Bathroom
  • Stained Mattresses
  • Another stained mattress
  • Stained Mattress
  • Room
  • Filthy Toilets
jasoncF7491BU, 2 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Try another hotel.”
vdexoto, 10 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Rooms on the front of the hotel will have a partial view of the River Danube, but there are several trees blocking a full panaromic view.”
AdrianDr, 20 Aug 2013 | Read review
“my help is that take another hotell”
SamiH206, 29 Jul 2013 | Read review
4 of 4
No availability for your dates from these sites
Orbitz.com
* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
CheapTickets
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates