We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Continental Hotel Budapest

Show Prices
#37 of 340 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Continental Hotel Budapest
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,887 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Continental Hotel Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,618: English reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2015 via mobile

I stayed for two nights and I have to say it was utterly wonderful. Staff were helpful and polite. Hotel was immaculate and close to everywhere. The rooftop pool was an added bonus. I would highly recommend this hotel and I am already planning my next visit. Also recommend the restaurant Lados a few doors up the road, food excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lou C
Reviewed 6 May 2015 via mobile

A well maintained 4 stars hotel. Not luxurious but with a very decent room, plenty of storage space and a comfortable bathroom. Hotel is clean and staff is friendly. Nice roof top pool. Good breakfast with very quick service (even when the hotel is full) and lunch buffet fresh and tasty with good variety. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna151281
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Anna151281, Thank you very much for your feedback. I was happy to read that your were satisfied with the Hotel. Also thank you for your recommendation, and I hope – although you gave us „only” four points you will choose us again if you return to Budapest. Best regards,

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2015

could not fault the hotel, has everything you need. Lovely rooftop terrace, good breakfast buffet, great service. About 15 minute walk down to the river, close to the ruin bars but in a backstreet so very quiet. For the price we paid this was a very good value hotel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lakeslad808
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear lakeslad808, Thank you so much for your overall very praising feedback regarding your stay with us, and I was extremely happy to read that you felt so well in our Hotel and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It was good to read your praising words about the rooftop terrace. I am happy that you found the...

Sonning
Reviewed 5 May 2015

We stayed here with two friends for 3 nights and were booked into rooms 428 and 430. The rooms were very clean, pleasant and quiet as they did not front onto the road. The showers were a little on the small side but the bathroom was well presented. The staff were particularly professional and helpful from reception to restaurant and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JACDSonning
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear JACDSonning, Thank you for your all-in feedback regarding your recent stay at Continental Hotel Budapest. I really appreciate you taking your valuable time to share your experience with all the readers of Trip Advisor. It was good to read that you have been so much satisfied with the service provided by our concierge. On the other side thank you...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 5 May 2015

The best part of this hotel is the top floor pool and spa. However the gym doesn't open til 9am, which we have never encountered before--so much for working out before breakfast. The downsides are: the location--the immediate area is a little seedy and it's a bit of a walk to most of the main attractions in Budapest. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mitch W
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Mitch W, I am very sorry to read that your expections and our service didn’t met at all. As you can read in several previous reviews of our former guests, they are very mostly satisfied with the location and with the surroundings of the Hotel. But no mercy for the wifi connection and for the rudeness of the staff,...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 5 May 2015

It's an excellent hotel in a convenient location. The staff is friendly and professional, and the rooms comfortable and nicely appointed. I enjoyed the modern decor of the Zara. The hotel is on a quiet street with an excellent restaurant nearby. It was a very nice introduction to Budapest! I would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Troy B
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Troy B, We are very happy and very proud to be your first impression of Budapest,it is always good to read such reviews like yours. I think we made our mission. I hope at your possible future visit you will give us an other chance to serve you if your travel will bring you back to Budapest from the...

Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2015

While staying at Boutique Hotel Zara we visited the Continental Hotel Zara for dinner.we enjoyed an excellent meal in the restaurant with well prepared and presented dishes by efficient staff. Based on this experience we planned to return and stay at the hotel later in the year. However, we had an issue when visiting the lounge bar in that we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul S
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Paul S, Thank you very much for your feedback, we have to know about our weaknesses if we have. I do apologise for the unmindful bar tender and also for his attitude. I have also spoken with Peter Pavletits. He remembers you and your complaint very well. He he has asked your apologies for the slow service and the...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Location: Hotel itself was pretty close to the airport and also around a 15minute walk from the main tourist area; however along Dohany street there were alot of nice restaurants and bars. The street where Szimpla Kert is located had alot of trendy and relaxed bars/restaurants so overall I think the location was good. Concierge were very efficient at organising...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adamsk1
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Adamsk1, Firstly thank you for long and all-in review. Also thank you for your comment about your room. You are right, if you need much more space for a slight surcharge you can upgrade your room even during your stay. I hope you will keep your promise and you will chose us again if you return once to Budapest....

Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 3 May 2015

We were here on my 50th birthday, and we could not make a better choice. Everything was excellent. My husband contacted the reception in advance and they were very helpful and friendly to organize restaurant reservation and room services. They even upgraded our room and gave special compliments. Our room was very nice and spacious, beautifully decorated. The extra bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jansku2013
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Jansku2013, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Continental Hotel Budapest. I really appreciate you taking your valuable time to share your experience with all the readers of Trip Advisor. It was good to read that you have been so much satisfied with your room upgrade, with the extra bed and also with the service of...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2015

I had read other reviews and was looking forward to my stay. However, our experience was mixed. The entrance area is spectacular, but this is still a locale which bears the scars of 1945 with abandoned buildings,graffiti and strip clubs. It is also some way back from the more attractive tourist areas. Room was nice if small, and quiet. Food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevie203
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review

Dear Stevie203, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Continental Hotel Budapest. Also thank your for your comments, both positive and negative. Regarding the sorrounding buildings of the hotel you are right, but you should note, we are very close to the world famous ruinpubs area, the Simpla Kert ruinspub wich was the best bar...

2,009 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1216)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (264)
Viewed
Room/Suite (221)
Viewed
Bathroom (64)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (47)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (516)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (753)
Viewed
Amenities (98)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (84)
Viewed
Presidental Suite (119)
Viewed
Dining (89)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (102)
Viewed
Standard Room (69)
Viewed
Suite (99)
Viewed
The Hotel (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#3 of 340 in Budapest
4,373 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 340 in Budapest
6,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Queen's Court Hotel & Residence
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 340 in Budapest
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in District VII / Jewish Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
District VII / Jewish Quarter
District VII is the very heart of Budapest and houses the city’s Jewish Quarter. Its streets are lively and colorful, its buildings narrate different histories in an assortment of architectural styles, and its cafes and bars are frequented and loved by the enthusiastic crowds. Grand and magnificent, the striking star of the district is the Great Synagogue, the largest in Europe and one of the biggest in the world. Distinctly Moorish in style, crowned by the twin onion shaped domes, the Synagogue is the very emblem of District VII and one of the main attractions in the capital.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Price Range: €65 - €243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Budapest
#29 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#29 Business Hotel in Budapest
#29 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Continental Hotel Budapest staff and other travellers.
89 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (89)

Questions? Get answers from Continental Hotel Budapest staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No tips sorry”
 of 5 bubbles Pollyf1, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Junior and full suites are worth it for the extra room.”
 of 5 bubbles MnMB2014, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for courtyard view room, lovely mural view - if you need to open a window at night you will not have road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles cjh1604, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are better”
 of 5 bubbles LiDan2, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Run as far as possible, if room 142 is offered”
 of 5 bubbles DragulanescuGeorge, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay