We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Continental Hotel Budapest

Save
Share
Dohany utca 42-44, Budapest 1074 Hungary
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
7 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$119
View deal
Expedia.com
US$120
View deal
Agoda.com
US$111
View deal
Hotels.comUS$120
CheapTicketsUS$120
Lol.travelUS$198
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (2059)
Room & Suite (906)
Dining (233)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 06/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Continental Hotel Budapest
Updated 06/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#64 of 394 hotels in Budapest
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Laptop safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, Hungarian
5396Reviews167Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,966
  • 1,880
  • 404
  • 91
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bertha S wrote a review 18 Sep
Miami, Florida16 contributions20 helpful votes
this hotel is not by any means 4 stars is like a maybe like a 2.5 , maybe if the staff where a little bit more nice , they would get a better rating , the area where the hotel is located is super busy mostly with young crowds drinking and puking right outside of the hotel , there is a lot of bars and nightlife around the area , so if you are into that i guess its your right hotel , not my cup of tea , i was deceived by the pictures of the rooms it was extremely small i almost felt claustrophobic , super tiny bathroom , the room was clean , the beds hard as a rock and the pillows super stinky , the AC super noisy , the room in general quiet , but you could hear the maid talking in the morning or pushing the car around , right outside the bedroom , i booked thru expedia and they always upgrade me to a larger room , but the hotel staff was extremely unhelpful , they look annoyed all the time , i came just for 2 days to visit my best friend , next time i ll be staying away from that area and definitely wont be staying at this overpriced hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoltan Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest
Responded yesterday
Dear Bertha S, First of all, thank you very much for choosing to stay at our Continental Hotel Budapest and for taking your precious time to share your honest experiences. All types of criticism are important for us, we are rating them as a chance to improve and to perform better in the future. I was disappointed to learn that our hotel itself has not really met your expectations and that you did not like neither our popular location nor the usually beloved rooms. It is regrettable that you did not mention your complaints on the spot, as we would have been pleased to upgrade your room and would have been instantly solved many of the issues have been arisen (we have a pillow menu, softer mattress available upon request and our Maintenance is always on disposal to check the air-conditioning). Needless to say, that our daily and most important effort is to provide our guests with a high standard service. I am truly sorry that you feel our staff could have been friendlier. It is very regrettable that you did not experience that loving hospitality they always strive to deliver. Please, accept my sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you may have encountered and let me assure you that I take the appropriate steps in order to avoid similar cases in the future. We would be honoured to get a second chance to regain your trust in our great hotel and show you how excellent choice we are indeed! Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager
Read more
Gin wrote a review 4 Sep
1 contribution
Two rude young guys of the desk just ruined my vacation at this hotel. I arrived at 11 am and I had to wait until 9pm to get my room due to a misunderstanding. Once l got the room, l noticed it wasn’t ready, infact there wasn’t the water for free (my collegue’s room had it),it didn’t have the beauty kit and l found used cotton ear stick in the bathroom. I’ll never come back and l won’t suggest it to any of my friends.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Just don’t go there
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoltan Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Gin, First of all thank you for your stay at our Continental Hotel Budapest and for taking your valuable time to share your sincere experiences. Needless to say that both positive reviews and constructive criticims are appreciated, as these help us to improve and perform even better in the future. After investigation and identification of your reservation, we are a bit confused as our system shows that you were checked in about half an hour later than the official, guaranteed check-in time (14:00 o’clock). I do not question your words and I am truly sorry that you did not indicate your complaints on the spot, as our personell is always on guests’ disposal to handle issues to their very best and to make up any shortcomings if needed. Anyway, please accept not only mine but also the sincere apology of our colleagues for the inconveniences encountered and let me assure you that I take the appropriate steps in order to avoid similar cases in the future. Again, let me tell you that I take your comments seriously and I remain respectfully on your disposal in case if you wish to talk further your issue in private (geher.zoltan@zeinahotels.com). I truly hope that you overall spent a nice time in Budapest and that my words can a bit ease your unpleasant impressions. It would be an honor to have the opportunity to restore your faith in our Continental Hotel Budapest and to show you how great service we are capable to provide indeed! All my best, Zoltán Géher General Manager
Read more
Franciska C wrote a review Aug 2021
6 contributions
Very nice hotel with the perfect location to explore Budapest. The room was clean, the stuff super friendly, the gym is well equipped and they even have a sauna. My favorite was the rooftop pool with the chilling area. Special thank you for Kinga who made our stay even more unforgettable. We will come back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoltan Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest
Responded 11 Aug 2021
Dear Franciska C, Thanks a million for such a nice feedback shared about your Continental Hotel Budapest experience. I am proud of my whole staff and especially of Kinga, who did her best to contribute to your memorable hotel experience. Surely, our rooftop terrace, opened for summer season, add a lot to the most enjoyable wellness experience as a bonus besides the basic services expected from a downtown city hotel. It is a pleasure that you managed to take its benefits and found our property to be a perfect base to discover Budapest. Thank you for supporting us here, on TripAdvisor. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future! Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager
Read more
Dragos C wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The hotel was very inpressive, clean rooms, very nice personal, spa and the pools are great. We had our honeymoon in Budaprst and Kinga the concierge was very thoughtful, she sent to our room a bottle of champagne and congratulaions. Breakfast is delicious, and we were very pleased by this (we're foodies). Overall a great experience !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoltan Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest
Responded 11 Aug 2021
Dear Dragos C, I would like to say thank you for choosing to stay at our Continental Hotel Budapest and for dedicating your precious time to write a feedback about us. I am grateful for you for your kind recognition and appreciation of our friendly staff, who will be surely motivated by your praising words. It was a pleasure to help make your celebration memorable. Further on, many thanks for highlighting our beautifully renovated historical hotel building, the quality and tasty breakfast selection, as well as the great wellness facilities provided. I am truly happy that you spent a lovely honeymoon in our hotel in Budapest and that you recommend us without hesitation. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager
Read more
Zoé wrote a review Aug 2021
5 contributions
Beautiful hotel, ideally located. Staff is very friendly. Hotel gym is well equiped, not just some basic "fitness equipment". I was pleasantly surprised to find dumbbells. Very rare to find such a good hotel gym. Rooftop terrasse and pool are amazing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Zoltan Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest
Responded 11 Aug 2021
Dear Zoé, Thank you very much for the lovely words and for the high ratings that you gave our Continental Hotel Budapest here, on the most popular traveler’s site. I am truly delighted that we managed not only to meet but even exceed your expectations. Thank you for appreciating our impressive and centrally located hotel building itself, as well as the friendly service experienced. It is wonderful to read that you were very satisfied with our well-equipped gym and much enjoyed the unique rooftop terrace and pool. I guess it could be hard to find a better way to relax after a pleasantly tiring sightseeing, than to enjoy the panoramic view to the city from our cooling rooftop pool. Thank you for your definite recommendation. On behalf of our entire team we are looking forward to your next visit. Best regards, Zoltán Géher General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
HungaryCentral HungaryBudapestDistrict VII / Jewish Quarter / Erzsébetváros
NUMBER OF ROOMS
272
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Continental Hotel Budapest
Which popular attractions are close to Continental Hotel Budapest?
Nearby attractions include E-Exit Escape Game (0.2 km), Amazing Metal Art Gallery (0.2 km), and Budapest Boat Party (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Continental Hotel Budapest?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Continental Hotel Budapest?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Continental Hotel Budapest?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Continental Hotel Budapest?
Yes, paid private parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Continental Hotel Budapest?
Conveniently located restaurants include Early Bird Coffee, Laurel Budapest, and Bors GasztroBar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Continental Hotel Budapest?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Continental Hotel Budapest have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Continental Hotel Budapest offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Continental Hotel Budapest?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Continental Hotel Budapest offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.