We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mescanka

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Mescanka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 115: English reviews
Start your review of Mescanka
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed in the Luiza studio with a river view. We had lots of problems trying to use wifi in this room. We stayed two nights and the wifi rarely connected during our stay and when it did it was either incredibly slow or timed itself out. When I asked about availability problems in this room I was told that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAK3429
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in a comfy room by the river. The price is very low considering location, cleanliness and amenities. It is seconds from cafes, restaurants and shops. The only drawback is the smell caused by humidity in the hall as well as in the room. Air-con cal solve the problem though!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Mescanka is centrally located, a minute from the river, restaurants, bars and shops. These are serviced apartments - not a hotel. Checking in and out was easy. The rooms were clean, large and well appointed with facilities to make hot drinks but not food. There are dozens of restaurants nearby so that's not a problem. I was very happy with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dot G
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights during our trip. The location of these apartments could not be better, our room looked out over the river and we were close to a great selection of restaurants. You could here some music from the bar below early evening time but we had no issues with noise when it came to bedtime. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank My_wonderland30
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We booked Luiza but got Lili - not a problem, as the studio was excellent in every way: clean, spacious, well equipped, comfortable bed, great views of the river. Staff were friendly and helpful. Complimentary Slovenian/Turkish coffee and coffee-making gear is a great idea (but perhaps a bit purist not to have a cafetiere as well?). Excellent experience all round...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rory M
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed in top floor 1-BR apartment with extra sleeping loft, perfect for families. Staff were very friendly and accommodation, helping us arrange a day trip to Lake Bled and transport to Trieste. Fantastic location in centre of old town. Good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for one night in October and it was lovely, perfectly located in the middle of the old town overlooking the river. Room was spacious, clean and warm. Staff very friendly, spoke fluent English and happily advised us on places to visit. I'd stay here again. Carl

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarldotYoung
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Our holiday in this fabulous old town was marred somewhat, by a distinct lack of accommodation to my partners mobility issues (arthritic knee ). She was frightened to use room booked, due to an unexpected complete lack of any handrails on the stairs leading directly to it. It didn't help that these stairs are contemporaneous with the age of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David P
Mescanka, Manager at Mescanka, responded to this review

Dear Mr We are really sorry to read your review that followed just a couple of days after we tried to clarify everything to your partner. You have chosen the non-refundable reservation option which means free cancellation or modification is not possible. We have tried everything in our power to assist you and make you feel good during your stay....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

The Superior Apartment we booked was magnificent - but there were no banisters or stairs from the 1st floor to the 2nd, where our Apartment was located! As I have mobility problems and had recently had a fall - the lack of support when climbing up or down was not possible without serious consequences to my health. We asked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catlover9cleo
Mescanka, Manager at Mescanka, responded to this review

Dear Ms We were really sorry to read your review, especially because we have tried everything in our power to assist you and make you feel good during your stay. We have received a non-refundable reservation from you (we do have an option for a normal reservation with a free cancellation option for you to choose) and we were not...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Great apartment with easy check in and check out. Clean and extremely spacious. We also liked how central the apartment was, but also quiet with the windows shut. Keep in mind that it's right in the heart of the city so there will be a bit more noise. Loved it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keels O

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
997 reviews
0.0 km away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
296 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#14 of 31 in Ljubljana
810 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.5 km away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located by the river, beneath the castle and between the two central bridges of the city, Meščanka apartments (pronounced 'Meshchanka', meaning City Lady) offer you the perfect place to stay to discover Ljubljana. You can choose between rooms, studios or fully equipped flats, all with private bathroom. The clean and cosy premises were completely renovated in 2011 to blend a great mix of old refurbished furniture and modern interior design. Come and stay in Meščanka and you will feel why people fall in love with Ljubljana. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mescanka

Address: Kljuchavnicharska ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Price Range: €64 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mescanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mescanka staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mescanka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room was on the 3rd floor and was very quiet.”
dotg843, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“the highest floor has less effective sound proofing.”
davidpS6428HG, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A good place for those under 40 or 50 - or particularly agile and disco-loving people - also for those who don't mind NOISE..”
  • Unsafe stairs  at Mescanka, esp at corner...
  • Beautiful Pink Church in Town Square
Catlover9cleo, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a river view if you can.”
sophiel252, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a river view if you can”
rickandpat, 28 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates