We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

H2ostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
H2ostel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
Olympia, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had yet another great time at this hostel! I rented a private room that had a nice view of the adjacent river. The hostel is located about a four minute walk to the heart of Ljubljana. The staff was amazing yet again. They went out of their way to provide information about Ljubljana and Slovenia. Because of them, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
gobecsimona, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Tony, you know you are special to us :). Thank you once again for everything and we can hardly wait for your next visit and swing dancing. All the best!

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 25 November 2016

What a neat, clean and friendly hostel, right in the center of old Ljubljana. A model of how more hostels should be like. Would go back there any day! My only suggestion would be for them to try and proved more place to put stuff, especially in the bathroom and for the bunker bed user.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonupfsa
gobecsimona, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Leonupfsa, that's nice to hear - thank you a lot! We really appreciate your opinion and we will try to improve our services as soon as possible. All the best and welcome back anytime.

Northumberland
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights in the city and the room was just about acceptable. Nowhere to store things in the bathroom, useless Wifi (kept dropping out on multiple devices) and plumbing amiss somewhere as the bathroom didn't smell good at all, not a good thing to greet you in a hotel room. They were trying to mask this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DigitalPlumber1
gobecsimona, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, first of all thank you for staying with us. Second, we truly apologise about the smell. We are sorry you didn't tell us that during your stay, maybe we could change the rooms for you if there was some room available. We are also sorry fabout the cleaning ladies; we have a policy that they must knock before...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Location was great. A short and easy walk from the train/bus station, and right on the river, with the castle, market and main square all nearby. Room was basic but comfortable. Good wifi. Staff were friendly and helpful. Shared bathroom was kept clean. Nothing horrible about my stay. No garbage can in the room. Laundry was pretty expensive (8€).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnna R
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Johnna R, glad to hear such nice things. Thank you for everything and come back someday, ok? All the best from H2O Hostel staff

Reviewed 22 September 2016

My boyfriend and i rented a private room, with private bathroom, with nicely modern furniture and very tidy place. A great hostel, with kind staff and a great location. Unfortunately there were a few unpleasant surprises. In the shower there was only cold water. The window was looking at the street where it was very noisy at night. And the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tina v
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear tina v, thank you a lot for staying with us and for your review. We cherish your opinion and we truly apologise for the unpleasant stuff you mentioned. If we had a deal for the late check out, we should follow that, but unfortunately some mistake happened with the cleaning. Some of our rooms are looking on the street...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in an apartment with a kitchen and a bathroom which was worth it. The room was cleaned every day and done properly. Wasn't too noisy at night as well. Wasn't too expensive and staff were really helpful! People were nice in the room and lockers were good! Would recommend this for anyone staying in Ljubljana

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry R
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Henry R, thank you so much for the nice review! We really appreciate it and we are very happy that your stay with us was perfect. We hope you come back someday, ok? Best regards!

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

It was great for one night and clean enough.. and the location even better! The only thing that bothered me was that the other people in the dorm kept it loud after hours and I had to get up early to catch my flight.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Isaboo F
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Isaboo, thank you a lot for staying with us and for your review. We are sorry the other guests were loud. Wish you all the best!

Reviewed 17 August 2016

I stayed here for four nights on part of a solo trip throughout the Balkans. Pros: This place is quite clean and conveniently located (less than a five minute walk from the city center). It's located near a on the other side of a really nice stretch of restaurants and cafes. Staff was very friendly and helpful with just about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Phil P, thank you a lot for staying with us and for your awesome review. Yep, the blueberry liquor is really good stuff :) so the coffee is obligatory after a night of that small shots ;). We totally agree with you about the lockers, and we already fixed that until now. So next time you come, your stuff...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

This hostel had an excellent location- centrally located. I was in a 4 bed room just off the courtyard and it had cooking facilities which was a plus. However, a fan was not voluntarily provided so the heat in the room was unbearable. In addition, opening the windows allowed the noise and cigarette smoke to come in from the courtyard....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elia_Loew
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Elia_Loew, thank you for staying with us and we apologise about not having an AC in your room. We understand it is sometimes hard to sleep in such conditions, so we hope you got a good night sleep anyway. Best regards, Simona

Castle Donington
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Brought back to Ljubljana following a weekend in the southeast of Slovenia, at an international event. H2Ostel beckoned on the banks of the Ljubljanica river and all seemed well. Super staff in Recepcija and the room on offer was pleasant, if unspectacular. Well placed, with the city centre all within a kilometre radius. No food on offer, but...the best coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 km away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#12 of 29 in Ljubljana
1,201 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 29 in Ljubljana
1,409 reviews
0.8 km away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 29 in Ljubljana
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 29 in Ljubljana
939 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#16 of 29 in Ljubljana
755 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about H2ostel

Address: Petkovshkovo nabrezhje 47, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Hostel Simbol Castle)
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Price Range: €17 - €42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your H2ostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from H2ostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from H2ostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms sort of face each other, in a villa-style way. They all seemed fine to me, honestly.”
 of 5 bubbles X8408CTphilp, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book early!”
 of 5 bubbles StuartL49, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“looks at back alley all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles B5597TSmonikam, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for canal view.”
 of 5 bubbles manbearpigg2016, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the annex - ground floor, not at the street. It was quiet and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles emengee, 7 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay