We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

H2ostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
H2ostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

122 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 84: English reviews
Start your review of H2ostel
 Click to rate
Aalborg, Denmark
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The hostel is fine for friends traveling, its what you'd expect from a hostel and a bit more. We have a dorm room which is newly renovated, and it fits us perfectly. Very close to the city center and right beside the dragon bridge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nina L
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice, quite private rooms with a beautiful view of the river Ljubljanica, specially romantic in the evening. The restaurant Kralj žara with the best meat I had ever eat is in very close neighborhood. You can also rent a bike at the very appropriate price and explore Ljubljana while doing something good for your health too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonsandra2017
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for such awesome review and for staying with us. We agree with you - Kralj žara has a really good good food :). Enjoy life, travel a lot and welcome back anytime to stay in our place. Kind regards, Simona

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I spent a night in Ljubljana with my friends. This was the cleanest hostel i've ever been. It was a bit cold though...Friendly stuff, good location. Not a party hostel, but there are a lot of fun place nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hidzso
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear hidzso, what an awesome review, thank you a lot! We are happy we are doing a great job and we apologise for the heating. I hope it wasn't too much trouble for you. All the best and welcome back anytime, Simona

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good value for money. Comfortable room, great location. Perfect for exploring Slovenia. Can get a bus 5mins away to visit lake bled (Slovenia's hidden gem). Situated next to the dragon bridge pretty much, shops within walking distance. Fantastic location for everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L0V3T0TRAV3L97
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

L0V3T0TRAV3L97, I would like to thank you for your kind review and for staying with us. It means a lot to us. We wish you a happy life and lots of traveling. Kind regards, Simona

Olympia, Washington
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

I had yet another great time at this hostel! I rented a private room that had a nice view of the adjacent river. The hostel is located about a four minute walk to the heart of Ljubljana. The staff was amazing yet again. They went out of their way to provide information about Ljubljana and Slovenia. Because of them, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
gobecsimona, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Tony, you know you are special to us :). Thank you once again for everything and we can hardly wait for your next visit and swing dancing. All the best!

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 25 November 2016

What a neat, clean and friendly hostel, right in the center of old Ljubljana. A model of how more hostels should be like. Would go back there any day! My only suggestion would be for them to try and proved more place to put stuff, especially in the bathroom and for the bunker bed user.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonupfsa
gobecsimona, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Leonupfsa, that's nice to hear - thank you a lot! We really appreciate your opinion and we will try to improve our services as soon as possible. All the best and welcome back anytime.

Northumberland
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights in the city and the room was just about acceptable. Nowhere to store things in the bathroom, useless Wifi (kept dropping out on multiple devices) and plumbing amiss somewhere as the bathroom didn't smell good at all, not a good thing to greet you in a hotel room. They were trying to mask this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DigitalPlumber1
gobecsimona, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear guest, first of all thank you for staying with us. Second, we truly apologise about the smell. We are sorry you didn't tell us that during your stay, maybe we could change the rooms for you if there was some room available. We are also sorry fabout the cleaning ladies; we have a policy that they must knock before...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Location was great. A short and easy walk from the train/bus station, and right on the river, with the castle, market and main square all nearby. Room was basic but comfortable. Good wifi. Staff were friendly and helpful. Shared bathroom was kept clean. Nothing horrible about my stay. No garbage can in the room. Laundry was pretty expensive (8€).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnna R
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Johnna R, glad to hear such nice things. Thank you for everything and come back someday, ok? All the best from H2O Hostel staff

Reviewed 22 September 2016

My boyfriend and i rented a private room, with private bathroom, with nicely modern furniture and very tidy place. A great hostel, with kind staff and a great location. Unfortunately there were a few unpleasant surprises. In the shower there was only cold water. The window was looking at the street where it was very noisy at night. And the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tina v
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear tina v, thank you a lot for staying with us and for your review. We cherish your opinion and we truly apologise for the unpleasant stuff you mentioned. If we had a deal for the late check out, we should follow that, but unfortunately some mistake happened with the cleaning. Some of our rooms are looking on the street...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in an apartment with a kitchen and a bathroom which was worth it. The room was cleaned every day and done properly. Wasn't too noisy at night as well. Wasn't too expensive and staff were really helpful! People were nice in the room and lockers were good! Would recommend this for anyone staying in Ljubljana

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henry R
simona_ljubljana, Guest Relations Manager at H2ostel, responded to this review

Dear Henry R, thank you so much for the nice review! We really appreciate it and we are very happy that your stay with us was perfect. We hope you come back someday, ok? Best regards!

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 km away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
1,223 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#13 of 30 in Ljubljana
784 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
972 reviews
1.2 km away
Hostel Vrba
Hostel Vrba
#2 of 70 in Ljubljana
93 reviews
0.2 km away
Old Town Rooms and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
H2O Hostel is located in the centre of Ljubljana, capital of Slovenia. We have dormitory rooms and private rooms. In only 5 - 10 min walk, you can reach all the important tourist attractions as well as pubs, restaurants and cafes. Most dormitory rooms have their own kitchen or you can use one in the reception area where is also a small common place. ... more   less 

Additional Information about H2ostel

Address: Petkovskovo nabrezje 47, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Hostel Simbol Castle)
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Price Range: €16 - €51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — H2ostel 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your H2ostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from H2ostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from H2ostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms sort of face each other, in a villa-style way. They all seemed fine to me, honestly.”
 of 5 bubbles X8408CTphilp, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Book early!”
 of 5 bubbles StuartL49, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“looks at back alley all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles B5597TSmonikam, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for canal view.”
 of 5 bubbles manbearpigg2016, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the annex - ground floor, not at the street. It was quiet and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles emengee, 7 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5