We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohinj Lake

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel\/Pension Stare at the Bohinj Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohinj Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 35: English reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our stay in the hotel Stare was extremely nice. The nature and surroundings are beautiful. People working at the hotel are very kind. Food is amazing. Rooms are in the Alpin style and very clean. Good connection by bus. If you like hiking hotel Stare is a very good starting point. The price-quality is very good as well. Our yoga...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yoga R
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2013

When I checked in everything seemed ok. That was the end. Rooms are post-socialistic(especially small). Food is so-so, you can get better food elsewhere around for lower prices. There is no space in dining room, it looks like that management wants to charge as many customers as possible. Also, room wasn't so clean(hair under shower,...). When I came back home,...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Robbie1964
Joze001, Owner at Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohinj Lake, responded to this review

Hi Robbie! Thank you for your feedback. Too bad that you did't specify opinion during your stay. Thus, writing to this portal is a complete deception, you can be Robi or Janez or anyone else. You may have been with us, but also not. Have the courage and tell me your opinion face to face. I suggest that you look...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel could be fantastic, the location is gorgeous! However, it feels like it is stuck in the past. The rooms are in a bad way and the decor is so dated you feel like you are in the 1970s. Dinner was also weird, when we arrived the restaurant was full so we got pit on the same table as...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank TobermoryBoy
Joze001, Manager at Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohinj Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your message. Our hotel is located in the central part of the national park, in a protected area with many restrictions. But we have a lot of other advantages which are appreciated by our guests. Peace, no traffic, lake shore only 150 meters away, untouched nature and, ultimately, price, suitable for 2 star hotel. People have different...

Israel
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The location of Pension Stare can't be beat. However, the proprietors realize that because of this they have little competition and so they have broken up the place into very small rooms that haven't had much renovation for years. All this would be okay given the incredible location. However, there was very little wall space separating the head of our...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SJRoss
Joze001, Manager at Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohinj Lake, responded to this review

Hello, dear anonym, why didn’t you mention the problems you had during our pleasant conversation? We always strive to please our guests and I’m convinced we could also please you. The building is now renovated; all rooms are refurbished and meet the standards. More demanding guest can hire a prestigious apartment, which costs a little more. Joze Stare

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We had a memorable stay at Pension Stare in low season (October 2012). When travelling, location is the most important feature of any accommodation. The Pension is magnificently located at the end of Lake Bohinj, in walking distance of Slovenia’s highest waterfall and a cable car that takes you up to a magnificent view of Mt Triglav and all the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pam_Brunswick
Rhode Island
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I want to thank you for the wonderful stay my companion and i enjoyed with you. You worked really hard to supply all our needs and were extremely helpful with advice over fishing, walking and so on. You not only remembered to put flowers in our room but also changed them mid week. We enjoyed our familiy room with balcony,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allis0n_555
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at the pension for eight days, the position of the hotel is wonderful as you are just a short walk away from the lake and the views from the hotel are lovely. The rooms are extremely small and there is hardly any storage space only a small wardrobe, there was one power point and that was above the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marmite18
Dublin
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Before booking "Hotel" Stare we had read the reviews here, so we were expecting a pretty basic standard. However, we weren't expecting a place that doesn't appear to have been refurbished since before the formation of the Slovenian state. This place is truly like stepping back in time to the communist era. The whole place is dark with a funny...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aaron S
Joze001, Manager at Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohinj Lake, responded to this review

Your anonymous review can not be treated. To deal with introduce yourself with your full name. We are disappointed that you didn't have the decency to communicate with us directly about your thoughts and concerns. Negative reviews happen very rarely, but most reasonable people would, at the very least, and as a courtesy, contact us directly and say something about...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 21 July 2012

You're going to get the long version of my stay at the Hotel Stare in Bohinj Bistrica. After spending five days in Rome and Florence and seeing virtually every church, piazza, painting, statue and eating all of that Italian food (which was all very good), my wife and I departed Florence for Bohinj via the train. The Italian trains between...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank GJNGJNGJN
israel
Reviewed 3 June 2012

On a 7days trip rhis is the place we remember the most. It is a uniq place in magical sroundings. The owner were very nice and helpful, the view from the balcony is great, the room is simple but had all we needed and was clean and inviting. The breakfast was vert rich and delicius. I hope we cauld come...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mayam9

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bohinjsko Jezero
0.3 km away
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
Alpik Apartments at Lake Bohinj
#3 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
78 reviews
4.6 km away
Jezero Hotel
Jezero Hotel
#2 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
269 reviews
5.0 km away
Residence Triglav
Residence Triglav
#7 of 9 in Bohinjsko Jezero
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Bohinj ECO Hotel
Bohinj ECO Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
248 reviews
9.9 km away
Hotel-Pension Tripic
Hotel-Pension Tripic
#2 of 4 in Bohinjska Bistrica
59 reviews
0.2 km away
Vila Park
Vila Park
#2 of 14 in Bohinjsko Jezero
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the charm of the Hotel/Pension STARE in Slovenia. Its comfortable feel combined with some of the world's most spectacular scenery, makes Hotel/Pension STARE a truly unique Slovenian vacation destination The Hotel/Pension STARE is located in the heart of the Triglav National Park, only 150m from Lake Bohinj in the peaceful and lovely village of Ukanc. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohinj Lake

Address: Ukanc 128, Bohinjsko Jezero 4265, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Bohinjsko Jezero
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohinj Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohinj Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel/Pension Stare At The Bohinj Lake Slovenia/Bohinjsko Jezero
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel/Pension Stare at the Bohinj Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think the top floor is for singles. I had my own bathroom and a skylight for a window.”
 of 5 bubbles Shannonbsf, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the separate chalet house which has 3-4 BR's. Completely perfect for small groups or families traveling together.”
 of 5 bubbles YoHT3, 18 Dec 2015 | Read review
“There is one single room, what I believe it can be 4 or 5 sq.m. all together with bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles dalbach1, 17 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Our room didn't get wifi which was annoying. Can't remember the number but it was on the first floor furthest from the office!!”
  • View from our balcony
 of 5 bubbles paddypatel, 29 Jul 2014 | Read review
“there are single and family rooms”
 of 5 bubbles yogar504, 5 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5