We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Show Prices
#145 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

978 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 588: English reviews
Start your review of Vintage Design Hotel Sax
 Click to rate
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago

Overwhelmingly rich decorated retro style hotel..Friendly reception staff and slightly cranky breakfast employees.. But yeah, if you are listening to Abba's greatest hits every single day it is quite understandble that it takes an effort to release your daily smile.. Room was very spacious but the airco sounded like a real time aquarium..Annoying because for sea sounds I 'd rather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
Haifa, Israel
Reviewed 18 March 2017

.this is a bad hostle more then a 4 star hotel .breakfast is poor and lame amature staff with no customer service awareness we were asked to pay the minute we arrived although its not written and after getting an approval to pay on check out, next morning we were again demanded to pay you can hear from the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Talp971
dasik, Generální ředitel at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review

Dear Talp971, Thank you for taking your time to write us your review. I am glad that you praised the location of our hotel. I regret to hear that you were not satisfied with the breakfast service. I would be grateful if you would specify why you were not satisfied with this service. I know about the case with the...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We've been here on September. The location is amazing. The design is marvellous. The room was so comfortable and I spent the first hour just to take picture because of his particularity. I think the area that needs improvement is the breakfast. It was ok but you could more things to eat. Anyway in total was a beautiful experience spent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank giudi740
dasik, Generální ředitel at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review

Dear Giudi, thank you for your nice feedback. We are glad to hear you were satisfied with our hotel´s location, design and comfort. Thank you for suggestion about breakfast, actually we are currently working on some changes, so we hope you will visit our hotel again and enjoy breakfast more. :) Kind regards, Dagmar & Staff

OXFORD
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel. My daughter booked as a present for my partner and I. What can I say about the hotel its quirky and lovely. The staff are fantastic and furnishings are fantastic. It wont be everyone's cup of tea but I think people who book this are looking for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
dasik, Generální ředitel at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review

Dear Andy, thank you for your beautiful words, we appreciate it. We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel´s staff, location, design and location. We are sorry  about carpet, it was cleaned a day before your arrival, but we are glad to hear that it did not disturb you. We are looking forward to your...

Fleet
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

The hotel was perfect for us, a central location, very clean accommodation and amazing decor. There are things to look at around each corner and it's lovely to just walk around. The breakfast offering is purely continental but there is an additional menu you can pay for, which includes omelet and French toast. Tea is feee but you have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dnman
dasik, Generální ředitel at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your nice feedback. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel´s location, cleanliness and decor. In our breakfast buffet we offer all kinds of things which are already included, like pastery, homemade cakes, ham, cheese, smoked salmon, yoghurt, cereals, fruits, vegetable, so we find our breakfast buffet extensive enough. About coffee,...

Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Reviewed 3 March 2017

I stayed in January 2017. The hotel facilities were excellent and modern. The service was also very good. I advise you to book directly on the hotel website in order to earn some bonuses like, airport pickup and a la Carte menu for breakfast. The hotel is located in a very quiet street away from the hubbub of the Center,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ASChagas
dasik, Generální ředitel at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your beautiful review, we appreciate it. We are so happy that you enjoyed you stay in our hotel especially because of facilities, service, bonuses and location. We will be even happier if we have a chance to see you again in our hotel! Kind regards, Dagmar & Staff

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017

I liked the 60-70s vibe of this hotel! The reception is friendly and the breakfast good, except for the coffee, which could be better! Our room had lovely views of Prague and the bed was very comfortable. The facilities were good and the location is excellent. Just don't order a flower bouquet! It was disappointingly limp and sparse!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaschi
dasik, Generální ředitel at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review

Dear Kaschi, thank you for your nice feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel especially because of design, friendly staff, breakfast buffet, location, view from your room and facilities. We are very sorry for disappointment with flower bouquet and coffee, we will definitely improve it in the future. We hope we will...

Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

The name of hotel clearly reflects ho it is: vintage but, at same time, nice, comfortable and cleaned. The position is perfect to visit the castle (in less than 10') but also the rest of city. You can arrive everywhere walking. Even if the breakfast is not rich, the quality of the food is good including the fresh fruit. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabio C
dasik, Generální ředitel at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review

Dear Fabio, thank you so much for your beautiful review, we appreciate it. We are so happy that your stay here was great experience thanks to our hotel´s design, comfort, cleanliness and location. Next time please specify what you missed about breakfast, because we offer all kinds of pastery, homemade cakes, ham, cheese, smoked salmon, yoghurt, cereals, fruits, vegetable, so...

Munich
Reviewed 29 January 2017

i am very much torn here between the excellent service and friendly staff and the execution of the design or better the quality of the furniture and decoration at the sax. so good things first. service is great, breakfast is fabulous and we very much enjoyed the 70ties over all decor, the collections of lamps, vases, toys, what have you....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucy-Munich
dasik, Generální ředitel at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review

Dear Lucy-Munich, thank you for your nice feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel´s service, staff, design and location. We are very sorry for the condition of carpet, your stay must be just a little while before we staretd to work on changing it. About every room you can find information if it has a window to the...

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I went to Prague for a 3 days weekend break.The receiptianists were very friendly and helpful. I can not praise them more.The hotel room was attractive and exciting, until we had lived in. The safe was not able to be opened, we have to call front desk Kristin to unlock it. Then the air conditioner was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clara Z
dasik, Generální ředitel at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review

Dear Clara, thank you for taking your time to write us this feedback. We are glad that you were satisfied with our staff and location. There was manual in your room about safe usage and also our staff was willing to help you with it. We are very sorry that your TV did not work, but our staff also solved...

1,060 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (731)
Viewed
Room/Suite (160)
Viewed
View from Room (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (140)
Viewed
Dining (106)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (228)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (305)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (37)
Viewed
Design Suite (51)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (12)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Staying in Mala Strana (Little Quarter)

Neighbourhood Profile
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Malá Strana is one of the oldest and the most beautiful neighbourhoods in the city. Nestled underneath Prague Castle it was once a part of the Kings route taken by future kings on their way to coronation - originating in the Old Town, crossing Charles Bridge and leading to Saint Vitus Cathedral. Cobblestone streets are lined with picturesque medieval houses, remarkable palaces, churches, kitsch shops and restaurants. Do not hesitate to turn a corner into any narrow street. You will suddenly find yourself in a calm and charming neighbourhood full of hidden gardens, parks with peacocks, fruit trees and ponds. As the neighbourhood is a home to Czech Parliament and many ministries, you can also run into well-dressed officials. If you are thirsty or hungry, it is the right place to be. Restaurants offer delicious traditional food and of course, the best Czech beers.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Price Range: €90 - €297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
#123 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vintage Design Hotel Sax staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Vintage Design Hotel Sax staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there is no good room. just stay away !!! this is not a 4 star hotel”
Talp971, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe double was very spacious”
andysK9662JS, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on a high floor to enjoy the view.”
ASChagas, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Attic rooms on 4th floor have good views!”
Kaschi, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms have window facing outside.Basic rooms which are a good bargain have window facing toward inside hotel.”
TakeItToHeart, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5