We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

879 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 873: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room although slightly dated was a good size and well appointed. The only criticism was a lack of a toilet brush in the bathroom. The dining room menu was good, although we were not informed when booking the dining room was closed on the Sat. evening for a private function

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffchester29
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geoeff, Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with us at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey, I am glad to learn that your experience was a pleasant one. We all appreciate all feedback from our guests and will use it to ensure the service we provide is of the highest standard. I do aplogise...

Swanley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to a new year's eve masquerade dinner/dance with 8 in-laws, with an overnight stay. Food was superb (fillet steak was to die for), lady singer was excellent, the DJ was great and the midnight fireworks were fantastic. The room was cosy and quiet Oh, and breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice Couldn't fault it!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian C
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a two night stay between Christmas and New Year. Was a bit hesitant reading the previous reviews as there seemed to be a lot of complaints about parking. To be honest, the gym and spa were the selling point so I thought I'd go for it anyway. When I got there, it was abundantly clear that I had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John1234569
travellingphysio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was well situated for us to attend a friend's wedding in Coggeshall. Staff were friendly on checking in, though there weren't enough of them which resulted in a long wait and us missing some of the reception drinks! We didn't spend much time in the room but it was clean and comfortable, which is the most important thing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellingphysio
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and the room clean comfortable. We very much value your feedback with breakfast and reception drinks and will ensure it is passed on to every member of the team. As part of our...

Mersea Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After deciding that the family would go out for Boxing Day lunch this year for the first time ever, my father (who is in his mid 80's) came up to the Marks Tey hotel to collect a menu. He came back a week later to make the booking and paid in full. Two weeks later he received a parking fine...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Eljaywhy1
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding Hotel Parking and Boxing day lunch. The parking meter was installed to ensure Hotel guests and other hotel patrons will always have parking spaces available. Parking is free to Hotel overnight guests and other guests using Hotel facilities, such as the Bar/Lounge, Restaurant and Meeting rooms as...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed for Christmas masquerade party - complete waste of money. The food was terrible - bruschetta was cheese on toast and the turkey dinner was like a bush tucker trial. Booked an executive room - friends stayed in a standard twin which was much better. Dated, dreary and dismal experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JayMazing
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JayMazing, Thank you for taking the time to share your Christmas party experience with us at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey. We always appreciate hearing feedback from our guests as we aim to constantly improve our service and experience. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as you had expected and I would like...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a week rooms need updating but are clean . December meant a very limited menu and the food was very average ( on par with Witherspoons) only a small busy bar and dining room was being used for functions . Most staff were pleasant but reception staff unhelpful. Will not be rushing back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at with us. We always appreciate hearing feedback from our guests as we aim to constantly improve our service and experience. During the festive season our restaurant does get booked up for Christmas parties and we do our best to accommodate non party guests in the lounge...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I work for a company that use the Best Western Hotels for all our sales guys and meetings on a regular basis. I recently used the swimming pool with my daughter. I was not told about the car parking when I paid to go swimming. I am aware now that there is a small sign on entry however I paid...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 777rgb
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding Hotel Parking. The parking meter was installed to ensure Hotel guests and other hotel patrons will always have parking spaces available. Parking is free to Hotel overnight guests and other guests using Hotel facilities, including the Health Club. All you needed to do was ensure your car registration number...

Marks Tey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I parked for just 16 minutes at the Marks Tey hotel three weeks ago, waiting for my wife to come out of her Yogur lesson and I have now received a parking ticket from a private company asking me to pay a £60 fine, increasing to £100 if not paid within the week. And I will be receiving a second...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Mark E
Marks Tey H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding Hotel Parking. The parking meter was installed to ensure Hotel guests and other hotel patrons will always have parking spaces available. Parking is free to Hotel overnight guests and other guests using Hotel facilities, including the Health Club. All you needed to do was ensure your car...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2016

After collecting our young grandchildren from a wedding reception we received a £100 fine for not registering our car at reception. Not only did we not see the signs as it was dark surely as we were only there for 30 minutes this could not be considered parking illegally. The CIVIL ENFORCEMENT LTD company responsible for the parking dismissed our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nimax
Marks Tey H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Please accept our apologies that you received a parking notice whilst using the facilities. It is indeed now required that vehicles are registered at reception as directed on the car park signage. However it is not our intention to penalise any bona fide guest of the hotel so please contact us directly in order that we can assist...

186 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (75)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marks Tey
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
690 reviews
5.7 km away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
498 reviews
13.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
10.3 km away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
7.4 km away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delightful hotel and leisure club situated on the outskirts of Britain's oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Marks Tey provides 110 comfortable bedrooms, a range of meeting and events rooms able to accommodate up to 200 people, The Brasserie Restaurant, Lounge & Bar, and extensive leisure club facilities including indoor pool, hair & beauty salon, tennis courts, steam room, sauna and air conditioned gym. Free wifi and parking are available for guests. Within easy reach of Colchester Zoo, Witham, Tiptree, Coggeshall and the Eastways, and Braintree Business Parks, the BEST WESTERN Marks Tey is the ideal choice for business and leisure travellers looking for a hotel in Colchester near to the A12 and Marks Tey railway station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel

Address: London Road, Marks Tey, Colchester CO6 1DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Marks Tey
Price Range: €60 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Derbyshire, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just avoid this hotel altogether”
 of 5 bubbles jeffcV1512VZ, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“218 was good for us, overlooking the main entrance”
 of 5 bubbles brianc890, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I would avoid the rooms overlooking the front car park as they might be noisy with arrivals or early morning departures.”
 of 5 bubbles Cicero57, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Staff will move you if not full to another room if you wish.”
 of 5 bubbles stephenbP7534ZZ, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We didn't stay in the hotel, just used the tea room.”
 of 5 bubbles 129MarleneC, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay