We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Opal Cove Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Opal Cove Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

785 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 779: English reviews
Melbourne Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

No doubt a once beautiful resort. Now deteriorated through lack of maintenance. Shabby. But still charging prices more appropriate for a 4 star. The experience is a 2 star or less e.g beach a long way away and then very uninviting. Not warned that our room did not have a balcony although we were lead to believe that from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WinstonSpencer
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

A good resort does need some TLC, the photos they use must of been when the resort was newish, shame the swim up bar was closed, the pool edges need replacing. A slide for the kids and a warm spar were nice touches. A good 7km from Coffs Harbour drive down near the wharf where there are a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobhayesbob
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

we stayed in the queen oceanside room, the room was very spacious with a nice balcony but really needs a make over. it just looks tired and old. the pool is great. It was very clean but very run down.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emelia29
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. You will be pleased to hear we are currently in the process of upgrading our rooms in the resort. I do hope you will come back to see the changes we have made. Kind regards,

Sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago

We originally booked a queen room Oceanside however upon check in they were able to offer us a junior suite Oceanside for our family of four. Staff at check in were friendly and welcoming however the whole resort is very tired looking and badly in need of some updating. Junior suite comprised of a living area, two sofa beds and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LiggySydney
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently in the process of major upgrades to our property for all of our guests to enjoy. Unfortunately sofa beds are never as comfortable as real beds so I would suggest booking a 2 bedroom villa on your next...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped over on our way to the GC. Rooms were great. Restaurant was really good and catered for everyone. Lots of beautiful spots to enjoy a glass of wine. Pool was good needed a teeny bit of work.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience some of our great facilities. I look forward in seeing you back again soon. Kind regards,

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for one night as a regular stop over on our way to Qld. Proximity to the beach is great. Pool area is wonderful for kids. Staff were friendly. Overall a good stay but for the price it is quite outdated and needs a new refurbishment. Will stay again once the planned refurb is complete. Until then we will stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. As you are aware we are currently in the process of major upgrades to the property and we look forward in seeing you back to see the changes we have made. Kind regards,

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything in Coffs was booked, we paid for oceanfront room & were horrified with state of room when we opened the door! Room was so old & dated, Air-cond barely worked, & was loud, batteries in remote had also given up, the shower did not drain properly & pooled like a bath! Nothing looked particularly clean except the sheets (which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melanie_OZ1
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We encourage our guests to raise any concerns or issues you may have during your stay so we are able to rectify your issue. We would of happily moved you rooms. I will pass on your feedback regarding the room to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Room was clean but very dated, shower door broken, bad views for a ocean front hotel, the food was bad.. i do not recommend the staff didn't want to be there... not friendly at all... will not revist, i will pay extra to stay in a better place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B J R
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would suggest booking an ocean side room which has a much better view of the ocean than the resort side. Kind regards,

Canberra
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Seriously this hotel needs a complete renovation/makeover. Everywhere you look there is tired decor, threadbare carpets, grimy walls and tiles and the foyer with the dirty water feature is truly stuck in 1992. For $220+ I would expect something a little more modern and much cleaner. The mattress was so uncomfortable and needs replacing. The wifi was hit and miss,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stacey L
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently in the process of upgrading our resort with major changes ahead. Our pool bar has been open daily until 4pm for our guests to enjoy through the summer months. We usually receive great feedback regarding our buffet breakfast...

Birchgrove, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

In fairness, the 4br self contained apartments are ok. But the rest of the place is a dump. Christopher Skase would commend the design elements, none of which have evolved since the 1980's. This place is barely one step up from a caravan park, which at $700/night tightens the sphincter and brings tears to the eyes. "Absolute beachfront" they say....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Boodar
FOM62, Front Office Manager at Opal Cove Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are currently in the process of upgrading our resort with massive upgrades being completed to give our guests a better product. Our pool bar has been open daily closing at 4pm apart from 1 day that was torrential rain. Pool...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korora
0.9 km away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
357 reviews
1.5 km away
Novotel Coffs Harbour Pacific Bay Resort
6.0 km away
Quality Inn City Centre
Quality Inn City Centre
#12 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
213 reviews
4.4 km away
Surf Beach Motel
Surf Beach Motel
#7 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
230 reviews
2.2 km away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#4 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled amongst 36 hectares of native bushland overlooking the magnificent pacific ocean and gardens is Absolute Beachfront Opal Cove Resort. The perfect destination for family holidays, business trips or short breaks. Resort facilities include 9 hole golf course, heated swimming pool, day spa, 4 floodlit tennis courts, gym, sauna, Kids Club, games room, 24hr reception & so much more. Absolute Beachfront Opal Cove Resort, where you can do as much or little as you like. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Opal Cove Resort

Address: Opal Bvd, Korora, Coffs Harbour, New South Wales 2450, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Coffs Harbour > Korora
Price Range: €89 - €350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Opal Cove Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Opal Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opal Cove Hotel Coffs Harbour
Opal Cove Coffs Harbour
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Opal Cove Resort staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Leek, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Opal Cove Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are better hotels”
 of 5 bubbles Emelia29, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Oceanside otherwise you could be overlooking the car park”
 of 5 bubbles LiggySydney, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid this place”
 of 5 bubbles Melanie_OZ1, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Level 1 rooms smelt musty due to being below the natural ground level”
 of 5 bubbles U8814IWsusanw, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book an Ocean view room”
 of 5 bubbles LovesToTravel85, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay