We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sand Bay Leisure Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Sand Bay Leisure Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

498 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 498: English reviews
UK
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I are currently spending a 'Turkey & Tinsel' weekend at Pontins Sand Bay. The dining experience has been a huge disappointment due to the appalling management of the only restaurant, where far too many people converge on the self-service restaurant, which simply cannot cope, both in terms of seating and the ability to serve food. Queues for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Somme-Jim
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for a "Turkey and tinsel" break, and can honestly say l would not repeat this mistake. Shabby accommodation, long queues for everything, compounded by reception staff who exhibit a do not care attitude.Despite e-mailing a complaint to Sandbay and Pontins head office l am still awaiting a reply, however l am not expecting one as the level of service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colin P
Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for turkey and tinsel and celebrated my birthday as well what a amazing week we have had food was great and plenty of choice entertainment was great and staff were very friendly our rooms were very warm and cosy plenty of things to do during the day we caught the bus to Weston super mare from outside pontins

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachael s
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I start, booking in quite easy and quick at reception. We had booked an upgrade and the room on entering looked OK. We then started looking for an electric socket, found one double, looked for more and found two doubles behind the beds, and one behind the wardrobe!! Moved the beds and wardrobe found about six months of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jansel21
Aberdulais
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second visit to Sand bay and was equally as enjoyable as our first visit, I suggested to my 2 sister's and brother-in-laws to join us, and thay did, we all had a fantastic time, thay couldn't get over the excellent quality and variety of food, and the evenings entertainment was great. All our rooms were clean warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth C
Pontins S, General Manager at Sand Bay Leisure Resort, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that you and your family/friends enjoyed your stay with us at Sand Bay and we are pleased to hear that you are coming back to one of our xmas breaks in December. We look forward to welcvoming you back foir another great holiday!!!

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Dance, Dance, Dance mid week break at Pontin's Sand Bay was very busy but very good value for money. We expected it to be busy and the dance floor was full all of the time, we still managed to get plenty of dancing in though. There was excellent dance lessons on the Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. We have stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjl599
Pontins S, General Manager at Sand Bay Leisure Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind wrods, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our dancing break. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

I feel I need to say first I have read through the reviews and am of the opinion that the older generation can be very rude and opinionated. I am under 50 love 60s 70s music but also a mix of other things. I think for the money that is paid you require sliver service for things to be right....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinky1212
Pontins S, General Manager at Sand Bay Leisure Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am glad to hear that you appreciate all of the hard work my team put in to ewnsure every guest hasd a great stay with us. We look forwared to seeing you again in the future.

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

as a coach driver for many years I have visited Sand Bay many times and you get lots of tentertainment,plenty of food and it's only a short bus ride in the main town.Its not the poshest resort but it does have character and friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Len R
Pontins S, General Manager at Sand Bay Leisure Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate all feedbaskc and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

place looks very run down, staff not friendly, chalet was nice , but had to move due to a collapsed bed, that took a day to sort out, other chalet was grubby and smelled strange, but put up with it, as staff were getting fed up of people complaining, if you do book ask for upgrade to club, if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diver1954
Pontins S, General Manager at Sand Bay Leisure Resort, responded to this review

I hopwe I can answer a few of your queries from your holiday. At SAnd Bay we do not change the towels/bedding thoughout your break, this is not down to a shortagfe of staff. Additional towels are available fromn the reception if any guest needs them. We take Health & Safety very seriously at sand bay, unfortuantly during your stay...

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

I have just returned from a midweek break at Pontins Sand Bay. Originally booked because I was visiting the theatre in Weston Super Mare and needed an overnight stay. My friend suggested Pontins as we have both been before but not for over 30 years when we had our children with us. We expected to see changes and read the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ahinton2012
Pontins S, General Manager at Sand Bay Leisure Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for tsking the time to write us a review. I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewstoke
1.1 km away
Commodore Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
305 reviews
4.9 km away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
384 reviews
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#4 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare East (A370) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare Ea...
#7 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
672 reviews
4.1 km away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#5 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
227 reviews
3.1 km away
Dauncey's Hotel
Dauncey's Hotel
#27 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Sand Bay Leisure Resort

Address: 67 Beach Road, Kewstoke, Weston-super-Mare BS22 9UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare > Kewstoke
Number of rooms: 350
Also Known As:
Sand Bay Leisure Hotel Kewstoke
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sand Bay Leisure Resort staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Bath, United Kingdom
5 months ago
Bath, United Kingdom

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Sand Bay Leisure Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for upgrade for club, or ask for a room starting from 300”
 of 5 bubbles diver1954, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upgrade from Classic to Club”
 of 5 bubbles ahinton2012, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is none”
 of 5 bubbles 38margaretr, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only pay more but not a lot better- clean though!”
 of 5 bubbles Howdiuk, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Refurbished rooms are still of a poor standard.”
 of 5 bubbles 88rogers, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5