We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$183*
US$150*
Great Deal
US$180*
US$181*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 176: English reviews
Start your review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
 Click to rate
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited five times one for the April 22, 2017 event, I do not regret my sojourn. Beautiful place, beach, amenities, food and a very friendly staff. Each time I came away was invigorated and ready for the next step. Congrats Nithin and to all your staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JesM1958
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Located on the outskirts of Dar Es salaam a few Kms after you cross the Kigamboni bridge or the ferry ,, the ambience is excellent , the food is amazing and the staff very friendly. Should have a bit more variety on the menu but all in all I loved it would defiantly be back!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aurelia M
Reviewed 27 February 2017

It is a calm and quiet place, wonderful place for relaxation. The ambiance is nice and great hospitality of the staffs. Foods was awesome. You will enjoy the stay for sure. The prices are a bit high but it worth more than what you are getting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sivajith s
Dar Es Salaam Region, Tanzania
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

The only good thing about this place is the size of the rooms and the fact that it has only 10 bungalows. The food is terrible and takes 2 hrs + for it to be served. If you are traveling with family and kids, please carry enough snacks and drinks. The prices are high for the portions being served. For...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C_Arindam_15
DinishAntony, Group General Manager, Protea Hotels by Marriott ( Dsm/Znz) at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this review

Dear C_Arindam_15 Good day, thank you for staying with us recently and sharing your feedback. Sorry to hear that you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us. Apologies for the substandard food you were served, our kitchen brigade are usually exceptional at what they do, I will check with the TEAM on what went wrong and what we can...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

(Disclosure: visited with the General Manager of the hotel, a friend) The property is spread over a large area; with only 10 rooms, this is not at all a crowded place. The rooms are of good size, with all facilities in place. The swimming pool, the beach, the beach bar are all great. Service and food are great. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cajithk
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016

I stayed at the Amani Beach last month before going back to Dar Es Salaam for business. The idea was a few days on a beach somewhere. I'd been staying, as I have many times, at the Protea Courtyard in Dar, also a tremendous place. The Amani Beach is a sister hotel. Staying at the Amani Beach was a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

The Protea Amani hotel is a lovely place for a weekend away when living in Dar. We recently visited and found it to be a very nice escape from the city to a (pretty much) deserted beach. The resort itself only has around 10 rooms so that will never be busy either, which is great. The only thing we felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Britishtraveller2014
DinishAntony, Group General Manager - Protea Hotels (Dar es Salaam/Znz) at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this review

Dear Britishtraveller2014 Good day, thank you for staying with us and taking time to write this detailed review. Sorry to hear you didn't find the hotel and premises not as good as they appeared in the pics. I am glad that despite this and a few other issues which you pointed out you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your...

Prescott Valley, Arizona
Reviewed 14 November 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. There are only 10 "cabins". Each is very large and spacious. Lovely decor, bath and shower. Air conditioning and ceiling fan. The staff were exceptionally attentive. Not sure why but it takes an hour from the time you order food until the time it is served?? It doesn't matter whether its snacks at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cooperlynx
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2016

For us, Protea Amani is perfection. We stayed here for 1 week: 7-14th August 2016. We could not fault this place. The grounds are stunning and natural beauty abounds. The villas are enormous, spotless and the decor is typically African. Beautifully decorated and fitted out without superficial glitz. The placement of the villas are well thought out, being nicely separated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geminidis
DinishAntony, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach, responded to this review

Dear geminidis Good day, greetings from Protea Hotel by Marriott Amani Beach, Dar es Salaam. Thank you for staying with us and writing this absolutely great & motivating review. I could not have done better if someone asked me to give a brief about what to expect at this little slice of paradise! I am really glad that the TEAM...

Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

This a lovely place to spend a weekend. Spacious well appointed chalet rooms overlook a beautiful beach. The swimming pool and the beach bar are almost on the beach, with lots of sun loungers available. Food was tasty with seafood featuring. The opening of the bridge has made this hotel within easy reach of Dar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill K

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (39)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutani
29.1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
31.2 km away
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam
37.6 km away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#14 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
1.2 km away
Changani Beach Cottages
Changani Beach Cottages
#17 of 109 in Dar es Salaam
37 reviews
3.4 km away
SandRocks Lodge
SandRocks Lodge
#19 of 109 in Dar es Salaam
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Amani means “peace” in Kiswahili, and that’s exactly what you’ll find at Protea Hotel Amani Beach. Just 33km south of the bustling city of Dar es Salaam, down a sandy road to the ocean, hides our small African paradise and a total escape from the outside world. Set amongst 80 acres of beautiful tropical gardens, each of our 10 luxury beach bungalows overlooks the turquoise waters of the Indian Ocean. They combine the opulence of Zanzibar sultans with African craftsmanship and charm. Around the bungalows the grounds are alive with wildlife and, on the unspoiled white sands of our secluded beach turtles have chosen to make their home. We have two dining areas - one that serves breakfast and lunch, whilst our main restaurant provides a much more romantic and atmospheric setting for the evening meal. Our food draws its influences from the exotic flavours of East African cooking as well as from the simple fresh flavours of the Mediterranean. The open-sided makuti thatch beach bar provides the ideal outdoor seating area to enjoy the refreshing coastal breeze without the glare of the African sun. Whether you’re looking for total relaxation, a romantic holiday, adventure or simply to experience unspoilt nature, you’ll find it here and more. Welcome to an unforgettable experience, welcome to Amani Beach Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach

Address: Kigamboni, Temeke, Kutani, Tanzania (Formerly Protea Hotel Dar es Salaam Amani Beach)
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Kutani
Price Range: €132 - €186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amani Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They're all great as far as I can tell. I was in 5.”
157andym, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have ocean views, but if you want complete privacy, go for rooms 1 or 2 and you will feel like the only people on the planet.”
geminidis, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I think every room has something special, but if you want to stay very close to swimming pool, you can request room no 8, 9 or 10.”
  • sitting area
  • huge bed
  • typical room
  • Room Terrace
davitiani, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Wi-fi is available by the beach bar and the restaurant, but not in the rooms.”
MamfeMan, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All the chalets face the sea and are far enough apart to maintain privacy.”
lesleybB6315BK, 25 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Protea Hotels
US$150* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$180
TravelocityUS$181
Booking.comUS$183
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates