We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rainbow Lake Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Rainbow Lake Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Really small but cute place nothing fancy stayed over Thanksgiving 2016 for 5 days with family,& Grandchildren 7 yrs and 2 yrs rented a boat, went sledding at Sunrise just had a wonderful time Nice to come back to a warm place.... Need to THANK Carlos for the amazing work he does around there always on top of everything our... More 

Helpful?
Thank patricia s
Cuchillo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an upgraded reminder of what my family got away to summers...a great family, couples, friends or the single person wanting to be away from the main stream. Beautiful view of Rainbow Lake...you're right on it! Nice little cabins. Very clean. No closet in my unit. Friendly staff. Great value for a high level summer resort town.

Helpful?
Thank Develas
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I used to stay here with some buddies of mine when it was under different ownership. I didn't realize how long it had been until I looked back at some photos. In the ten years that had gone by both of my buddies had passed on. I suppose this was kind of a memorial to them. The cabins had always... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dewayne M
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Pics are of our cottage. We were so happy as to home homey it was. It was fully stocked with everything you need. Country decor, very fast internet. The owner was very friendly and accommodating. We spent Saturday on the lake Kayaking. Wish I could post more photos as it was an awesome weekend! We will definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank SheRaeInAZ
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We loved sitting outside the Maple bungalow, watching the sun dapple the lake. This is a nice getaway for couples who like to read books, stroll across the dam into the forest and catch up on sleep. It's also great for families with kids who want to go fishing or rent a kayak. In the area there are lots of... More 

Helpful?
Thank larrybodine2016
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I made arrangements for 4 days and 3 nights to go fishing. The person I contscted, Chuck, told me the unit price for $50.00 per night plus fees was small, which we had no problem with. However upon arrival I didn't realize the lake wax totally over run with grass and unfishable. We went to other lakes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob F
Chuck E, Owner at Rainbow Lake Resort, responded to this review

Hello because of the fire and helicopters pulling water from lake, along with a poor monsoon season the lake is low this year compounding our grass problem. The room has a Serta mattress like new. We hope the guest will return earlier in the season for great fishing. There are multiple lakes in the area and the entire White Mtns.... More 

Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016

I did like the way it looked, but we were not allowed to walk our 2 small dogs in the grass. So could not stay there. Other than that we would have stayed there. My dogs are used to walks in the grass.

Helpful?
2 Thank wrights888
Chuck E, Owner at Rainbow Lake Resort, responded to this review

Hello because of all of the children playing on the grass area, we keep a clean play area for them with no worries of pee and poop. Dog pee also kills the grass. Thanks More 

Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We just returned to Tucson after spending three nights in the Ponderosa. I wasn't sure what to expect because the pictures do not do it justice. The accommodations far exceeded my expectations. The unit was extremely clean and nicely decorated. Our children thought the loft was fabulous. The grounds were well maintained and offered many activities to keep the kids... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hect0r7
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2015

The last time we were in Pinetop we used Chuck's paddle boat and liked the location of his resort because it is right on the lake. So when we took a weekend off, we decided we would try it out and stayed in the small Juniper cabin. While the location is nice, I was unfortunately not impressed with anything else.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kels8690
Chuck E, Owner at Rainbow Lake Resort, responded to this review

Response to review: This was quite possibly the busiest weekend of the summer with so many guests coming in and leaving, live band night, boat rentals that we couldn't even count. Camp fires and people just having a blast. Countless volley ball games and horseshoe pit always in use. So many of the guests saying so many good things about... More 

Cottonwood, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2015

We really enjoyed the clean, quiet and cozy room, and the great views! A lot to do, horse shoe pits, volleyball, fishing, canoeing and more! We stayed in a Newley remodeled cabin.. Great work! The hospitality was wonderful! We will definitely be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy S

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pinetop-Lakeside hotels
9.8 km away
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
PVC at Roundhouse Resort
#6 of 15 in Pinetop-Lakeside
56 reviews
5.1 km away
TimberLodge Inn
TimberLodge Inn
#10 of 15 in Pinetop-Lakeside
57 reviews
7.2 km away
WorldMark Pinetop
WorldMark Pinetop
#5 of 15 in Pinetop-Lakeside
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn of Pinetop
BEST WESTERN Inn of Pinetop
#1 of 15 in Pinetop-Lakeside
364 reviews
4.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 15 in Pinetop-Lakeside
132 reviews
5.1 km away
Antlers Inn
Antlers Inn
#7 of 15 in Pinetop-Lakeside
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rainbow Lake Resort is the ideal escape for those that love the outdoors. Bring your fishing pole, rent a boat, play some sand volleyball or just relax and grill up some great food and enjoy.Rainbow Lake Resort is located in Pinetop-Lakeside in the heart of the beautiful White Mountains of Arizona. We are open for all four beautiful seasons with plenty of things to do and many town events. Some of the most popular things to do in this area are; fishing, hiking, hunting, car shows, boating,kayaking, bird-watching, motorcycle runs, gun shows, casino gaming,biking, skiing, shopping, going out to eat and of course just relaxing and taking in the great scenery and fresh air. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rainbow Lake Resort

Address: 2677 Trout Rd., Pinetop-Lakeside, AZ (Formerly Rainbow's End Resort)
Region: United States > Arizona > Pinetop-Lakeside
Price Range: €75 - €98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pinetop-Lakeside
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rainbow Lake Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rainbow Lake Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“POPLAR Room it overlooks the lake and the court yard small but comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Y7127YTpatricias, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Over the years I've stayed in several rooms and they have all had their selling points.”
 of 5 bubbles DewayneM_12, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Facing the lake”
 of 5 bubbles wrights888, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The Ponderosa is great for children. They will love the loft.”
 of 5 bubbles hect0r7, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“look at the pictures, what you see is what you get. over the years have stayed in almost all of the units.”
 of 5 bubbles linna62, 10 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay